We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time at Verdanza”
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Grenada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great time at Verdanza”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My stay at the Verdanza more than made up for the rainy days last week in Puerto Rico. The hotel staff and the staff of the Dollar car rental were great - they made me feel right at home from the moment I entered the property. My third floor room had a private balcony, which was just what I wanted, so I could enjoy some fresh air - in between the rain! From the immigration officer to the bank clerk, to the staff at the Museo del Arte, my overall impression of the citizens of PR is their strong pride in their country, and their generous hospitality. I was very pleased with my Puerto Rico stay.

Room Tip: balcony third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artstung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
artstung, many thanks for your kind words! It is truly rewarding to hear about your positive experience from the very moment you arrived in Puerto Rico and during your stay at Verdanza. We look forward to being your home away from next time you visit our island - hopefully without rain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    499
    263
    107
    73
See reviews for
515
485
85
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. I went to report a non working iron at the front desk and by the time I returned to the room it had been changed. The pool was kept clean and the bars were great. You could also walk to a lot of stores and shops in Isla Verde and you were close to the highway and the airport. Hats off to the Verdanza..!!!!

Room Tip: Corner room are very sunny on the northeast side, especially the higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnaldo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Arnaldo C, your kind comments are music to our ears! We work hard to make our guests feel at home at Verdanza and I am happy to learn that not only your overall experience was so positive, but that your service request was handled promptly and to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We decided to stay at this hotel post cruise. Upon arrival the lobby was clean and the staff seemed nice. We registered and got a room over looking the pool, which by the way it took us 20 minutes to find this room and we had to drag our luggage up the stairs because the elevator did not run in the outside rooms over looking pool.

When we got to the room after 20 mins. of looking our keys did not work and a housekeeper opened the door for us, we then went to the front desk and got new keys but it took 10 mins. every time we had returned to the room to open, so I guess it was a lock problem.

The room was terrible, it was so humid in the room that our clothes in our luggage were wet. The tv had about 5 of the same channels that were on 10 stations...(the same channel's), the TV also was not watchable not only for poor channels but it had static lines constantly and the channels changed sometimes on it's own.

We stayed two nights Feb 25th and 26th, 2012. Upon checking out to go to the airport I had prepaid my room with expedia and went to the front desk to give my keys and had to wait 30 minutes because there were people lined up to complain about there keys not working and tv problems. Finally it was my turn and the guy at the front desk gave me a receipt and wanted me to sign it. I looked it over which normally I don't but this had been such a nightmare I guess I felt something was up.

The hotel charged us for a movie, named (IMMORTAL COMBAT), or something like that! I told the guy first off we did not watch tv because it had only about 5 channels 10 times each and the tv had so much static you could not view it, Secondly my husband is 57 and I am 43 we do not even know what that movie is and have never ordered a movie in our life. He told me he was not removing the charge and I told him I was not signing that paper with the charge. I asked for a manager and he went into the back and said I had to pay for it. I then asked for a manager to come up front and he said that I would have to wait because one she was not there yet.

We moved aside and the very next person in line complained that her tv was changing channels itself and had bad static and her key did not work...(same problem's that we had). We waited for two hours and finally after three other customers were upset for us they said that they were not leaving until a manager came. I guess now I had a line of people that had problems and felt sorry that we were being done wrong.

This rude clerk called the manager and spoke in Spanish which I do not speak, but anyways I am not sure what was said but finally they removed this charge. It only took 2 1/2 hours!

We left that day and when we got to Omaha, NE I had a 104 degree temp. and had to be admitted to the hospital with a Viral Respitory Infection. I was told that because that room had been so humid and not very clean that a virus can spread easily in that enviroment. It took me 2 weeks to recover from this.

I can't say for sure I got that virus from the hotel but I am almost 100% sure of it.

I was shocked at how many people were in the lobby complaining the morning we checked out, so my advice to Anyone thinking of saving a few bucks by staying here please be advised it will cost you more in the long haul. There are so many other choices include vrbo condo's that you can stay in or other hotels, which by the way embassy suites was our pre cruise hotel and it was wonderful and not that much more.

If you value your health, and your wallet along with your piece of mind of non complications DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
shirley w, I am sorry to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations. However, please note that problems with the tv's have never been an issue at Verdanza, where guests also enjoy an extensive premium channel lineup with a wide variety of network and cable options. From your note referring to other guests experiencing the same problem, I would venture that it was a temporary situation. Regarding the charge for a movie you had not seen (another sign that there must have been a malfunction of some sort), although I'm happy to learn that it was eventually resolved to your satisfaction, the incident is being addressed to ensure in the future it is handled properly and with the degree of friendly and efficient hospitality that our team is known for. Please accept our sincere apologies for these inconveniences. We do hope to have the change to impress you favorably next time your travels bring you to San Juan. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

this was our 3rd time visiting the verdanza hotel. the owners, and staff are the best. they always make you feel special. We are looking forward to our 4th visit in march 2013. the rest. are all very good. the location is very close to everyting. we would never stay anywere else!

Room Tip: pool side rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
boonan, you are already a member of the Verdanza family! To hear from valued guests who return to Verdanza time after time is incredibly rewarding and I am sharing your kind words with our team. Do let us know when in advance when you have dates for your vacation in Verdanza next March so we can welcome you properly. In the meantime, be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My family and I stayed at the Verdanza Hotel, and our experience with hotel staff was very professional and friendly. They answered our questions in a knowledgeable and patient way. The hotel is pretty and well maintained. We made requests for blankets, extra pillows and housekeeping responded rather quickly. Didn't dine on premises, but had coffee at coffee shop, and it was delicious. The owners of coffee shops are certified Baristas and also very friendly.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nidia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Nidia L, it sounds like your time at Verdanza was enjoyable and we appreciate your taking the time to share the experience. It is particularly rewarding to learn that your requests were handled diligently and to your satisfaction, as service is paramount to our commitment to making guests feel at home at Verdanza. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

we stayed one night post-cruise and were very satisfied with the room and the service. staff was very accomodating and our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
jeff r, I'm happy to learn that your brief stay at Verdanza impressed you favorably. We do hope you have the opportunity to visit us for a longer stay and enjoy everything our hotel and our island have to offer! Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The accommodations were very clean and well maintained. Quick check in and check out! The poolside live music, food, and cocktail service is spectacular. Definitely try the mahi mahi wrap! The food and service at the 8020 restaurant was excellent for a great evening dinner as well. Also a plus is the hotel’s location- it’s very close to the San Juan International airport." The beach is just a block away!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amber s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
amber s, we truly appreciate your enthusiastic comments about your experience at Verdanza. Come back soon for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.3 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.5 km away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
0.6 km away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
6.0 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Property: Verdanza Hotel
Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing