We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place is nice....rooms not so much” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beach House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Place is nice....rooms not so much”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

If I was to write a review on bar and access to the beach, I would give this place 4 to 5 stars (or circles in this case).
Room has a LOT to be desired. First, the bathroom. How about a counter to put your stuff on? If you carry more than a toothbrush arrangements need to be made. Water pressure is always weak. Water temp (i.e. hot) is not always available. Small water heater must be shared with entire building. Time your showers accordingly.
Speaking of a place to put your stuff....plan on living out of your suitcase. They offer no furniture and thus no drawers.
Atmosphere here is great during the day and night at and around the bar. However, you do not need to be a resident to enjoy the fun here. Find a room where you will be more comfortable. This is not the place

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nav87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    44
    31
    36
    72
See reviews for
27
108
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and another couple stayed in this lovely little hotel for a week. After reading reviews I was some what hesitant but that all disappeared upon checking in. Taxi driver knew exactly where the hotel was, staff were wonderful, friendly and went out our their way to help us. We arrived before our rooms were ready so they kept our bags while we stopped in the bar for a drink, Jennifer the day bartender greeted us with a smile and for the remainder of our stay always said good morning even remembered our names. You couldn't ask for a more perfect spot, right on the beach and beautifully decorated, plenty of chairs, couches and little nooks and crannies to sit and kick back, a little piece of paradise. Rooms were more than adequate, always clean. The no hot water comments are unfounded as the water was so hot you had to be careful when you got in the shower. Breakfast in the mornings was lovely lots of choices and beautifully presented the staff were always attentive making sure they didn't run out of anything. The hotel manager was present everyday and was genuinely concerned that our stay was everything that we hoped it would be. This is a small hotel with a down to earth friendly atmosphere so if your looking for all the bells and whistles a resort would be better, if your looking for a relaxing laid back vacation this is perfect. Nice restaurant always fresh flowers on the tables, good food, and attentive staff. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I went to Puerto Rico as a last minute trip/ vacation with my sister! AWESOME HOTEL!!!!!!!!!! I would def stay there if I ever go to PR again and I will def recommend it to my friends! I love the fact that this hotel located RIGHT ON A BEACH!!!! You step out of your room and you are on a beach.
I don't know who had a problems with the hot water......OUT hot water was just fine......sometimes tooooooo hot!

I can't say anything bad about this hotel.....NOTHING! I love it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foxy8112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel is the most inexpensive on the strip, conveniently located on the beach. If you have little to no expectations then this is the place for you! Just as another reviewer mentioned the hotel has a different name displayed over the building. Our taxi driver spent 15 minutes driving up and down the strip trying to find the hotel, no one in the area knew where the location was either.

The place is very tiny and has potential to be a beautiful hotel however, there is no present management or upkeep of the facility.

The rooms are small, beds are incredibly uncomfortable and pretty run down besides the nice bedding. There was no hot water in our room and our toilet stopped working by the evening. When we complained about the hot water the front desk offered to let us shower in another room, which also had no hot water. When we complained about the toilet and asked to speak to the manager we were informed that there is no manager. The staff wrote down our complaints in a book for the morning supervisor to review. After speaking with other people staying at the hotel we learned they too had no hot water.

With no hot water or running toilet we decided late in the evening to book another hotel for remainder of our trip. But we had no idea what was in store for us that night. After a small beach front wedding finished at 10p.m. or so the hotel began setting up for yet another party. Which ended up being a full fledged RAVE that lasted until 7 a.m.! There were hundreds of people, the music and noise were unbearable. While checking in the staff did not mention at all that they would be hosting a RAVE that night.

The morning supervisor apologized and explained the rave only takes place once a year. We were refunded 50% of our room fee and provided with free lunch as well. The beach front the morning after the rave was ruined, completely covered in trash and drug paraphernalia. This place was absolutely horrible in so many ways. Best of luck!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Honeybunny0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Verde hotels

Kingsland, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My best friend and I wanted a girls trip on a budget,(we just graduated college) so I found Casa de la Playa aka Beach House Hotel. We loved this place.It COULD be a lot better than what it is,but overall it is budget friendly and in a nice area with plenty of restaurants.We did not stay in our room a lot,but when we were in it...it was decent.It is nowhere near an Embassy Suites but it's definitely nice and clean enough to lay your bags and sleep.For example,the room floors are tile but they were sandy and dirty our entire stay (and at check in) but I just kept my flip flops on the entire time otherwise my feet would have been black on the bottom.I felt safe here although if you arrive at night it can look sketchy.It is a very tiny hotel between 2 large condos and we had somewhat a difficult time finding it too.Luckily,our taxicab driver knew exactly where it was.So before you go,just remember it is ALMOST exactly across from the only Howard Johnson Hotel.So if you see Ho Jo,you are almost in front of it.If you stay here,walk down the street and pass Pizza City (roughly 3 blocks) and eat in the plaza where the Burger King is.There is an ABSOLUTELY amazing SMALL and chic Puerto Rican restaurant named Mi Casita.It is soooooo goood.It gets crowded during dinner so get there early.We ate there 3 out of the 5 days in Puerto Rico!I would recommend this place ONLY IF YOU ARE NOT EXTREMELY PICKY!Oh yea,and the night guy is so very very very very rude.Don't even deal with him,he will urk the living daylights out of you.However,Jennifer is AWESOME!

Room Tip: If you don't like noise,this hotel is not for you.Because if they are having an event downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessncase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

One of my favorite hotels in Puerto Rico. It's one of the cheaper hotels in the area. The exterior is really pretty. It's right on the beach and there are nice cabana things for guests to hang out at. There is wifi in the rooms and on the beach area. There's also a bar on the beach. It's conveniently located, close to various hotels, beaches, restaurants, convenience stores, and rental car companies.

The rooms aren't too nice, though, and they don't have fridges in them. The complimentary breakfast isn't worth going to.

Parking is available. The hotel can be identified from Ave. Isla Verde by a sign reading "cafe la plage".

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

A tiny place, maybe the only small place left on a gorgeous beach otherwise filled with hi-rise apartments and megahotels. Very friendly staff, simple but pleasant rooms, very good restaurant in hotel and several more really good places within walking distance. Great beach-front, lovely spot to hang out. Kiteboards, parasail, jetski all available from kiosks on beach. During our stay there was a party for a local family. Lots of music and fun, but by bedtime it was nice and quiet. Had minor problem with room which staff quickly corrected. I am puzzled by some of the negative comments, and can only imagine that others were hoping for a high-glitz experience. This place is a real slice of old-style PR hospitality-- our stay was really wonderful, and we'll look forward to our next visit. The sign is indeed very small, but GPS found the address-- it's directly opposite Ruben Cafe, which is very well lit up! No elevator, but you don't need very much baggage to enjoy this lovely spot.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shrink2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.4 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.1 km away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#2 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
La Playita
La Playita
#10 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.0 km away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 14 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House Hotel

Property: The Beach House Hotel
Address: 4851 Ave Isla Verde, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5454, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is Puerto Rico's beach front sanctuary of relaxation in the middle of the world's most exciting cities. Located in Isla Verde Avenue only five minutes away from the International Airport and fifteen minutes away from the Historic Old San Juan. A small boutique hotel nestled amid the top hotels on the island - it now has a fresh new face and has become the must-be-seen gathering place for San Juan's social set. Fabulous outdoor French cafe restaurant (Cafe la Plage) and personalized Beach Club service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Beach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Carolina
The Beach Hotel
Beach House Hotel Puerto Rico
The Beach House Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing