We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away destination”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brier Island Hostel
Reviewed 5 November 2014

Great value at only $20 a night.
Traveled with a group that booked all 13 spaces and had an awesome time. Very clean and included everything needed in the kitchen.
Amazing view and very friendly people every where on this small island.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Book_Worm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2014

The price is right and all the things one needs for overnight or for a few nights away from home. A place to sleep and place to cook and a place to relax. Also, great washroom and shower facilities. I've been going there now for many years and have never been disappointed by my stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are chosen for you when you book and on the basis of availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was my first time staying at a hostel and it was so great! The property was clean and the bedding also very clean and nice tight sheets on the beds. The view is stunning and has a wonderful big deck on the back to sit out and BBQ or just relax. Also lots of reading material in the common area. I highly recommend this hostel just as a get away or to set up for a few days to enjoy the island the price is so cheap!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NSAdventureSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Great place to go to really get away from life for a while. Stayed here for 5 days in July. Had the hostel to myself most of the time. Fantastic views and a very peaceful time. Hostel owners also own the store...a great place to just enjoy the island and enjoy your own thoughts

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules197979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Its a very small hostel, you have to ask at the shop accross the road to be let in. Everzthing was very clean and comfortable. The price was the cheapest we paid for a hostel anywhere in canada by quite a way, and for that there was nothing wrong with it. But the star of the show here is the location, Brier Island is magical and a pleasant respite from the more trodden parts of nova scotia - whilst being just as beautiful!

Room Tip: Its small, so all rooms similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josh_janna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed in the Brier Island Hostel 4 days in June and found it hard to part! Everything very clean and well equipped, lots of space, friendly and very helpful host (thanx again, Wally!) and last not least: The view from the common room is unbelievable! You can just sit there for hours and watch the tide rising and falling, see fog coming in (and going out again if you're lucky), listen to the gulls...and the sunset light on the light house of St. Peter's Island is beautiful.
You have to see it for yourselves. I stayed in the Digby Backpacker's Hostel (also very recomendable) before I went to Brier Island and there the hosts helped me organize my transfer to Brier Island with the mail delivery man :). Another great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilsara55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

By some comments and ads we heard about this nice hostel at the very end of the "world"! It is worth to go there although you have to take a almost 2 hours ride by car and two ferries. At the end you will realize that this hostel seems to be part of a greater business by an nice old couple who started it all. May be you will meet them sitting on a bench in front of the hostel and talking to guests. The hostel it self is upstairs from the Whale Watching Cruise Office where you get a discount for a cruise if you stay in the hostel. It is clean and has a nice kitchen with living room and has two clean bathrooms.

On the other side you find an general store where there is also the reception for the hostel. You better buy your self some food there then to eat in the cafe beside. We eat some fish and chips and scallops which really were awful! Nothing was fresh, the oil tasted old and my wife got a really bad stomach that night! She spent more time in the toilet than in bed letting out all meal again! I don't know if it was because it was evening! But this experience with the Cafe was really bad!

I am not sure if I am rigth, but I think, hostel, Store and Cafe belong together!? And they all together make more tourist impression then we thought from earlier reports. The real quiet time and place you find going out for a walk or ride the west lighthouse or just on the other side of the island.

So the hostel is fine, but absolutely avoid the Cafe!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anjop58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Brier Island Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brier Island Hostel

Address: 225 Water Street, Westport, Nova Scotia B0V 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Brier Island > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range: $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing