We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
7
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
6
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2014

The price is right and all the things one needs for overnight or for a few nights away from home. A place to sleep and place to cook and a place to relax. Also, great washroom and shower facilities. I've been going there now for many years and have never been disappointed by my stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are chosen for you when you book and on the basis of availability.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was my first time staying at a hostel and it was so great! The property was clean and the bedding also very clean and nice tight sheets on the beds. The view is stunning and has a wonderful big deck on the back to sit out and BBQ or just relax. Also lots of reading material in the common area. I highly recommend this hostel just as a get away or to set up for a few days to enjoy the island the price is so cheap!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NSAdventureSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Great place to go to really get away from life for a while. Stayed here for 5 days in July. Had the hostel to myself most of the time. Fantastic views and a very peaceful time. Hostel owners also own the store...a great place to just enjoy the island and enjoy your own thoughts

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules197979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Its a very small hostel, you have to ask at the shop accross the road to be let in. Everzthing was very clean and comfortable. The price was the cheapest we paid for a hostel anywhere in canada by quite a way, and for that there was nothing wrong with it. But the star of the show here is the location, Brier Island is magical and a pleasant respite from the more trodden parts of nova scotia - whilst being just as beautiful!

Room Tip: Its small, so all rooms similar
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josh_janna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed in the Brier Island Hostel 4 days in June and found it hard to part! Everything very clean and well equipped, lots of space, friendly and very helpful host (thanx again, Wally!) and last not least: The view from the common room is unbelievable! You can just sit there for hours and watch the tide rising and falling, see fog coming in (and going out again if you're lucky), listen to the gulls...and the sunset light on the light house of St. Peter's Island is beautiful.
You have to see it for yourselves. I stayed in the Digby Backpacker's Hostel (also very recomendable) before I went to Brier Island and there the hosts helped me organize my transfer to Brier Island with the mail delivery man :). Another great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilsara55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews