We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brier Island Hostel
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Hostel was recommended to me by Kip & Kabbodle Hostel in Mahone Bay.
Exceptionally clean hostel with large fully equipped kitchen/sitting room. Very comfy beds. The absolute highlight of this hostel is the view. It is simply stunning, looking over the water to the lighthouse. Very fast wifi and super helpful owner. The two car Ferries that are required to get to this hostel from Digby are well worth it!
Horrified to hear that this hostel is closing! I've travelled the world over the past 2 years and this hostel has by far been one of, if not the best hostel I have stayed in!

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Irishbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

I was here in the early season so had the whole place to myself. Place is clean, spacious and a great price. Sitting room looks out on to the bay.
Be careful in early season since not many amenities are open.
Very comfortable stay.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

Great value at only $20 a night.
Traveled with a group that booked all 13 spaces and had an awesome time. Very clean and included everything needed in the kitchen.
Amazing view and very friendly people every where on this small island.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Book_Worm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2014

The price is right and all the things one needs for overnight or for a few nights away from home. A place to sleep and place to cook and a place to relax. Also, great washroom and shower facilities. I've been going there now for many years and have never been disappointed by my stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are chosen for you when you book and on the basis of availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was my first time staying at a hostel and it was so great! The property was clean and the bedding also very clean and nice tight sheets on the beds. The view is stunning and has a wonderful big deck on the back to sit out and BBQ or just relax. Also lots of reading material in the common area. I highly recommend this hostel just as a get away or to set up for a few days to enjoy the island the price is so cheap!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NSAdventureSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Great place to go to really get away from life for a while. Stayed here for 5 days in July. Had the hostel to myself most of the time. Fantastic views and a very peaceful time. Hostel owners also own the store...a great place to just enjoy the island and enjoy your own thoughts

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules197979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Its a very small hostel, you have to ask at the shop accross the road to be let in. Everzthing was very clean and comfortable. The price was the cheapest we paid for a hostel anywhere in canada by quite a way, and for that there was nothing wrong with it. But the star of the show here is the location, Brier Island is magical and a pleasant respite from the more trodden parts of nova scotia - whilst being just as beautiful!

Room Tip: Its small, so all rooms similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josh_janna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Brier Island Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brier Island Hostel

Address: 225 Water Street, Westport, Nova Scotia B0V 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Brier Island > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range: $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing