We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$96
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-30
Priceline
US$96
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-29
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$95
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$96
Expedia.comUS$96
eDreamsUS$96
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
121
122
60
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
121
122
60
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room whale watching tour brier island seal cove second floor great view enjoyed our stay seafood staff were friendly coffee maker take advantage night's sleep food was amazing fantastic experience seals ferry hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 323 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2020 via mobile

Very rustic, a fellow traveller called this place a great place for a kids camp. It’s high on a hill with a lovely harbour & ferry view. The rooms are clean & large, 2 story buildings (no elevator) private 4pc bath. Very large window to give you great view. 2 Goats & chickens walk freely around the property. No TV or phones in the room. Very friendly staff. The food in the dinning room is 5 star by far. The lamb was amazing! Although they only take cash or e-transfer for payment. No credit cards

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sparkyont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2020

We are repeat customers at Brier Island Lodge, and we stayed there again, this time to take advantage of one of their kitchenette rooms. When we arrived, we were surprised to find only a small refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeepot and teakettle with sink, two coffee cups and a small cream pitcher. We had brought food, with the intention of cooking it there.

But everything was put right very quickly. The front desk employee provided us with a portable induction cooktop, and another employee brought us everything we needed in the way of dishes, cutlery, pots, pans and utensils. The kitchenette space is small, but once you figure out how to organize it, it works well. (If reserving a kitchenette room online, it might be a good idea to include in the "Comments" field any requests for cooking utentils, plates, cutlery and cooktop, just to ensure clear communication about what is needed.)

The room, itself, looked to have been recently updated. The quiet surroundings and wonderfully comfortable bed provided a good night's sleep. We enjoyed our walks to Seal Cove, where we saw lots of seals as the tide was going out. We even had two humpback whale sightings, including a mother and her calf swimming near shore, through Grand Passage and out to the Bay of Fundy! And our whale-watching tour, the sixth we have taken out of Brier Island, was another fantastic experience.

Given all the restrictions imposed by Covid-19, the hotel staff is managing that well with their guests. We thank them for their kindness and consideration, and above all their willingness to go above and beyond to meet our needs, during our stay!

Room tip: Rooms looking out onto Grand Passage offer the best view
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank messengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2020

We really enjoyed our stay at Brier Island Lodge. The lodge is 35 years old. It’s not contemporary or luxurious but it is clean, quiet and comfortable. Several things about the lodge make it a special place. First is the location, set high above Grand Passage. Our room and the dining room boasted spectacular water views. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Virginia checked us in and showed us whale vertebrae and let us feel the lightness of the whale’s disc. The staff at the dining room were also first rate and so was the food. I wondered what our dinner and breakfast would be like since Brier Island is remote, requiring two ferry rides to get there. The food was amazing. It was local, fresh and prepared to a very high standard. We were impressed by everything at the lodge and hope to return before long.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HappyCanadianHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2020

Like most we stayed to go whale watching the next morning, room was clean , staff were friendly and seafood at the restaurant was excellent!

we enjoyed our stay and would certainly will go back in the future on our next whale watching excursion.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nomad04614710689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2020

The experiences we had at this lodge we'll never forget. Getting there, the ferries, the little village and the Lodge's hillside perch. It was our 25th wedding anniversary in September, 2004 when we stayed here. The Nature Conservancy had just purchased a large section of the island and had a good sized group of their supporters there to show it off. Because of the intimacy of the Lodge we were able to sit in on their presentation that evening. The next morning when we went Whale watching, who should show up but the whole group of them. It was just plain fun and we saw many Humpbacks that day. The food and lodging were very good, but the real deal on this place is location, location, location. I highly recommend it if you're considering Brier Island (which is way cool.)

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelAndLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews