We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Cleave

View from the front gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the front gate
Little Cleave front entrance Little Cleave dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
View from the front gate
Little Cleave front entrance
Little Cleave dining area
Little Cleave sitting room
Little Cleave twin room
Little Cleave stairs
Little Cleave en-suite bedroom
Each cottage has a fully stocked kitchen
All of the cottages have private gardens
The cottage enjoys plenty of light from the stairway skylight
View from pool building
Our games barn has seasonal residents
Welcome to East Underdown
Autumn at the front of the property
Pool with a view!
We have fields for roaming
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Drewsteignton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emma19663...
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

cottage is beautiful,had everything in it that you could possibly need,Barbara friendly and helpful but not in your face! swimming pool complex superb,we will definitely be back! dogs enjoyed themselves more than we did,they came home exhausted!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CannyMel
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE best cottage we have ever stayed at!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have 4 dogs and find it impossible to find holiday lets that will allow this many dogs. I telephoned Barbara to ask if 4 dogs were allowed and was amazed to hear the words "Yes, of course".
The location is idyllic, Barbara and family were excellent hosts and the cottage blew my mind! Everything you expect from a holiday cottage and more were in this beautiful home. We stayed for Christmas week and it was perfect. Didn't even need to stand for hours washing the dishes after the Christmas dinner as the luxury of a dishwasher was provided. The large field was perfect for tiring the dogs (and us) out before going indoors and lighting the log fire. We had the most relaxing time there, and we will be back in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving at the end of the week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcxz8
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic...thank you”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful little cottage in a fantastic location, with all mod cons.

We stayed here with our 12 year old son and spaniel, Lottie, December '13 for 3 nights and I was sorry to leave. The location is near the moors with simply amazing walks on your doorstop and very dog friendly....as is Tilly ( she is anyone's for a belly rub but didn't impress our Lottie when she found all her dinner was gone...LOL!!! )

The accommodation is cosy and the beds are comfy ( loads of duvets), well equipped kitchen and the living room is lovely with a fabulous wood burner....my husband insisted on lighting this even if we were warm enough ( had to be done) though watching him keep it alight was amusing!

There is great swimming pool and sauna (open until 10pm) and a games barn.

Thank you to Barbara for the last minute booking and letting us stay in her lovely cottage. Great owner !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything especially location and wood burner
Liked least: nothing...except the weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJC37
Polegate, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage - all you need and wonderful location!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in March with my husband, 2 friends & 4 dogs. The cottages are VERY dog friendly and you are greeted by the cottage dogs on arrival. The accommodation is cosey and perfectly sized for 4 people. The beds are comfy, bathrooms clean, kitchen well appointed and the living room is lovely with a fabulous big wood burner! The best thing about the cottage is the location - right near the moors with simply amazing walks on your doorstop. A visit to the walk round Drogo Castle is a must - with a stop at the pub on the way round obviously! It was our friends 2nd stay at Little Cleave and we can understand why they re-booked... This is a perfect break location for couples, families and dog lovers. Just one thing... more towels please!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location & wood burner!
Liked least: Lack of towels - supplied for 2 rather than 4
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Very sorry about the towels. We try to limit our carbon footprint, and we had your booking down as just two people. Our error. I wish you had said. We would have been very happy to provide whatever you needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindaa-w1...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

The 'Little Cleave' is a little palace. Everything you need and more. The only downside of our holiday was the British weather but that doesn't matter if your staying here as there are plenty of things to do indoors, swimming, sauna, table tennis, foosball, darts even jigsaws. My son said this is his second home. There is an outdoor sitting/barbeque area. Owner is very nice and helpful and Tilly (owner's dog) is a little sweetie and she likes her tummy tickled. We were sad to leave. Easy to find if you follow the directions given and its at the edge of Dartmoor so there is easy access to the main roads and rural roads. The cottages are dog friendly but can I say its clean and doesn't smell of dogs as can some pet friendly homes. I give this cottage a 5star plus rating. Near by Okehampton Castle is worth a visit and take the little woodland walk also. Fingle Bridge is a lovely place to go for a walk and then a well deserved drink at the Inn. Theres a good size Tesco in Crediton which was our favourite as its a nice drive also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool/sauna
Liked least: The weather, which is no fault of the owner obviously
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 3, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 11, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing