We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in the Bush”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
R on the Downs Rural Retreat
Reviewed 4 July 2017

My wife and I were in need of a break. We weren't keen on a "b n b" where we would have to interact with others. The thought of a secluded, peaceful cottage met the criteria. We spent two nights in the early settler's cottage. It was modern, very clean, well- furnished and had a picturesque outlook across the farmland valley. The view changed throughout the day but was always interesting. The fireplace and air-conditioning kept the winter chills at bay, as did the cosy, comfy bed. The breakfast provisions were more than adequate and the various treats were appreciated. Dennis and Liz were great hosts and their hospitality is more of a passion than a job.

Room Tip: The cottages are great if you are all peopled out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We're very happy that you enjoyed rest & relaxation, and an opportunity to enjoy our views. Hope to see you both again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2017

The minute you arrive Doug and Liz and there to greet you.We stayed in the Serenity Room and it was beautiful with breathtaking scenery. You feel welcomed and at home talking to the hosts Doug and Liz

Room Tip: All rooms had a good view, and all rooms are differently themed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaylene50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for staying with us to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary. The serenity room is popular. Enjoy life and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

R on the Downs is our place of choice for a quiet weekend getaway. We have stayed here on a number of occasions now. The rooms are perfect, with very large comfortable beds and spa with a great view. Sitting on the verandah, looking out over the valley is amazing. Liz and Doug are wonderful hosts, and would do anything to help make the stay perfect. A delicious breakfast is supplied and they often supply a few other little surprises. We already have plans to return again very soon.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Squasheee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Always a pleasure to have guests return. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We stayed in the Egyptian room, which has wonderful views of the valley in two directions. It is a perfect place to relax and unwind. Liz and Doug are very friendly hosts who made us feel very welcome. Fabulous property and cannot wait to return - looking forward to trying one of the cottages next time, as they look amazing.

Room Tip: The Egyptian room has great views in two directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi, thanks for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed the Egyptian room and views to the Lost Pyramid. Hope to see you in the future, the spa and views will await (cottage or rooms).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

What an amazing place, so restful and comfortable. Owners Doug & Liz made us feel really at home. Doug & Liz have added so many luxurious touches - bath gowns, good quality toiletries, comfortable beds, all rooms have an amazing view. The two cabins are perfect for privacy, with a choice of breakfast in the dining room or else in the cabin (with breakfast things left in the frig). Doug & Liz are amazing cooks, and dinner at night is a special time. Starting off from virgin land 10 years ago, their landscaping is awesome, fitting in with the climatic conditions and the aspect of the property. We can hardly wait to get back.

Room Tip: We loved the cabins, the Egyptian room was also lovely. (All rooms are lovely)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisbanelizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for staying with us. We enjoy cooking (with as many local ingredients as possible); thanks for all your comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Top class facilities, friendly helpful hosts, such beautiful scenery, themed rooms with all the touches of luxury in the main house plus separate amazing "cabins". Definitely a great choice for an R&R get-away!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ilona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Rest, relaxation, romance, r......... our aim at R on the Downs. Thanks for staying with us and Liz and I look forward to your next R&R visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Gosh, where to begin. R on the Downs was simply heaven. Doug & Liz you are wonderful hosts. You made our stay so comfortable and relaxed and we loved our chats, it seemed like you were friends from way back. Thank you. Our room, The Serenity Room lived up to its name, totally peaceful with views to the East looking deep into the surrounding mountains. Your little furry friends on the hillside (Wallabies) kept us entertained, especially the little Joeys. Will definitely be back for another wonderful restful visit. PS...Doug & Liz your dinner was sensational and the breakfasts ...wow. Thank you once again.
Jen & Steve Doy - Gold Coast

Room Tip: All rooms have fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doydist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for sharing you time and comments with us. Do remember to keep having some quality R&R. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to R on the Downs Rural Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R on the Downs Rural Retreat

Address: 295 Swanfels Rd, Yangan, Queensland 4371, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Yangan
Price Range: $161 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — R on the Downs Rural Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Eco-friendly R on the Downs Rural Retreat, (BnB, spa Cottages) in picturesque Swanfels Valley, Yangan. Escape the crowds- Ideal base- romance, refresh, nature, waterfalls, history, shopping, events - Warwick, Stanthorpe, Killarney, Allora. 2 hrs Brisbane; 1 hr Toowoomba. Four luxury rooms (2 with two person spas) within the 2 storey sandstone homestead plus 2 self-contained spa cottages, (all with breath-taking views). Perfect to relax, rejuvenate and re-ignite that something special. Scrumptious meals (dietary needs addressed), afternoon teas, award winning facilities - weddings, celebrations -single, couples, groups. Book per phone, web-site, email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your R on the Downs Rural Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing