We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
114
47
11
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
47
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool sliding door gallo nero free airport transfer smith house padang matsirat local food experience toilet cubicle tourist tax modern hotel chicken rendang morning flight beach resort hotel huge spread per room per night near airport night market
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 174 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2018

I find it odd that I did not snap any photos of my room after checking in (I always do), thus I could not attach any in this review.

We arrived in a big family group, occupying 4 rooms for 2 nights.

I will summarise my experience here below, the positive and negative aspects.

Positive ++
- Beautiful hotel with such a great location, literally 2-3 minutes from the airport by car
- Check in was a breeze, bags were whisked away and I enjoyed the welcome drink, so refreshing!
- Staff at the front desk were friendly and professional
- Room was very clean, tip top housekeeping!
- Breakfast had quite a spread, moderately adequate for the price point
- Lovely rooftop swimming pool
- Shops conveniently located on the ground floor (7-11, bubble tea shop, minimart, laundromat)
- Library has a decent number of books and you can also use the computer in the same room

Negative - -
- There is a lack of mirror in the room. There is only 1 in the bathroom. It's a challenge to share 1 mirror when you have 2 person in the room
- Bathroom: I couldn't really understand the fuss from other reviews regarding the sliding doors, but oh boy when I was there I totally get it. There is no toilet door, and in such open space you only have a sliding door that either closes the toilet cubicle or the shower area. How did it feel when I was in the same room as a family member? (non-couple). SUPER awkward. I think you should do something about the bathroom in your next renovation plan, as your customer base are not just solo traveler / couples.

I enjoyed staying in this hotel, but I need to re-consider should I be travelling with friends or family due to the bathroom. The missing 1 star in this review is purely due to the bathroom design.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are better
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElvenPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback pertaining your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our team, it was our pleasure to welcome you at our hotel. We are glad that all the facilities and services met your expectations. We appreciate the time you spent to share your experience with us.

We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience that you encountered during your stay. We sincerely apologize on the issue raised as you highlighted on your review.

Delighted to inform, currently we are in progress to install the sliding door with the mirror for the shower room .The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is always our top priority and your feedback will definitely allow us to work on areas that will further enhance guests’ stay experiences.

Once again, we apologize for the shortfall and inconvenience caused. We do hope that there is an opportunity for us to serve you better in order to restore back your confident towards our hotel. We truly appreciate your valuable review as it is very important for our improvement for a better customer experience. Thank you and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.


Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

I had stayed in this hotel for 2 days, it's just 2 minutes drive from Airport. Rooms are of 3 star hotel standard, only problem is that they have a slide door in bathroom and there is no separate door for toilet. They have a smart TV connected with internet, that was a good thing as we could watch what we want unlike previous hotels where we had no choices. Staffs are good and breakfast choices are standard. Right place for the right amount of money charged. Skycab is 12 Kms from this place and Kilim geopark would be 18 Kms on opposite direction.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vijaychockkalingam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

We appreciate your comment about the smart TV, good staff and choices of breakfast.
Meanwhile,we apologize that you feel uncomfortable with the design of the bathroom.The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is always our top priority and your feedback will definitely allow us to work on areas that will further enhance guests’ stay experiences.

Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon to The Smith House Langkawi.


Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

A simple and efficient place to stay in the center of the town. The lobby is at one end of the building and the rooms are on multiple floor spread out over the whole building in a maze-like pathway. The views from the room are not something to rave about. But our need was a simple place to put up while we explore the island and this was a perfect choice for us. The rooftop pool is great and the service in general very pleasant. There was a strange door in the bath, You could either close the WC or the Shower cubicle.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Soham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to learn that you appreciate what we have to offer especially our rooftop swimming pool and services.

We apologize that you feel uncomfortable with the design of the bathroom. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is always our top priority and your feedback will definitely allow us to work on areas that will further enhance guests’ stay experiences.

We sincerely thank you for choosing The Smith House Langkawi during your visit to the island.
Please contact us directly should you plan to return in the future. We look forward to hearing from you again.


Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Firstly, we love the closeness to the local food makan area. Padang Mat Sirat is the place. We have great local dishes and Pasar malam on Sunday.

The hotel is really near to the airport and it’s just wonderful travelling via grab. The people are friendly and Super courteous.

Personally from the pick up at airport which was complimentary when we booked directly with hotel (inclusive of breakfast!!!).

MEE GORENG delicious and Porridge and ikan bilis
Transport we use are all grab. It’s rm4 from airport to hotel. The journey travelling for 3 days was just rm150. That’s after travelling to many places on LANGKAWI

Too many good stuff. Must stay hotel , must go sky bridge, must go waterfall, must go Cenang beach , must go Eagle Square

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Comellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.
I am glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed the local food, mee goreng and porridge with ikan bilis during breakfast.

We appreciate your kind words about the friendly and super courteous service received throughout your stay.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again to our hotel in the near future.

Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

Decided to switch between two hotels during our stay and The Smith House was by far the superior choice! We really liked the spaciousness of the room and especially the toilet, though we were scratching our heads what we could do with all that empty space in the toilet haha! The toilet itself was almost as large as my room back home! The room was well-decorated with the brick wall effect, colourful paintings and carpeted floor. Also loved the TV with movies, which kept us entertained every night. Although it was out of the way of busier streets in Cenang, it was closer to attractions like the Sky Bridge, Machincang and Tanjung Rhu. It also meant we had a quiet and peaceful sleep every night. And it was close to the airport so we did see a few air stewardesses checking in. Our regret was that we did not stay longer to fully take advantage of the rooftop pool and the grassy area beside it. Also, our room had a great view of the mosque opposite and the mountains beyond. The sunsets from our room were spectacular! The service was polite as well compared to what we experienced at the other hotel and the included breakfast had good variety. I am finding it difficult to think of any problems with this hotel, except maybe to include a full length mirror. The next time we are back in Langkawi, we would surely stay here all the way!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lustredelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor and giving us an opportunity to show you the Smith House hospitality.

I am pleased to hear that you had a great overall stay experience but most importantly our service standards and facilities lived up to your expectations that left you in completely relaxed.

We have taken note on the full length mirror and will consider in the future.
We strive to provide the best stays to our guests and your feedback will definitely allow us to work on areas that will further enhance guests’ stay experiences.

We thank you once again for choosing The Smith House Langkawi and we truly appreciate your review. Please contact us directly when you are ready to return. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.


Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews