We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
113
47
11
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
47
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool sliding door gallo nero free airport transfer smith house padang matsirat local food experience toilet cubicle tourist tax modern hotel chicken rendang morning flight beach resort hotel huge spread per room per night near airport night market
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 173 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel. The room was perfect, the location is a very short ride from the Airport.
I can honestly say this was far better than the Hilton at Heathrow.
The staff and Chef excellent
The food is top draw
Amenities like scooter and car rental at very reasonable prices.
Really cannot fault this hotel, very special

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NEVILLE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at The Smith House, Langkawi.

We appreciate the time you spent to share your experience with us and thank you for your comment about the hotel room, excellent staff and the food.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel in the near future.


Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018

This is not a 4-star hotel, but room would stand up to any 4-star hotel's standards. Customer service was very commendable. The location is very strategic, just 4 minutes from the airport. I'd surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josephdavid2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for giving us an oppurtunity to show you the Smith House hospitality and delighted to hear you had a great stay but most importantly our service standards lived up to your expectations.

We truly hope to see you again very soon at The Smith House Langkawi!



Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms and stayed for 2 nights. Close to the airport.. the room was clean , nice and helpful staffs.. very recommended hotel. If i come back to langkawi someday i will stay in this hotel.......

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.
We appreciate your kind words about the cleanliness of the room and helpful staff.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future for another enjoyable stay at The Smith House, Langkawi.


Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2018

Stayed for 3 nights at the hotel as a couple.

The hotel is very close to the airport, via grab its only 5 min. The hotel is set up like a maze and the room was on send floor in the end. It takes good 5 minutes to reach the lobby.
The rooms are compact and they don’t have a wardrobe to keep luggage. The rooms have sliding door for shower and washroom, hence only one person can use either option. The room has a TV which has a lot of entertainment options (movie collection was good). Hotel also has parking facility for the guest both 2 wheeler and 4 wheelers. There is a 7 eleven grocery shop rite at the entrance of the hotel.
The hotel is 15-20 min away from Cenang beach, however travelling within Langkawi is easy and you can easily rent a scooter or car.
The hotel has a nice swimming pool however it is mostly empty and one can enjoy a good early morning swim with the entire pool to themselves.

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the lift.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank riteshchopra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

We appreciate your kind words about the option of movie collection and nice swimming pool at the roof top.
With regard to the sliding door, we are delighted to inform that currently the door installation for the shower room is in progress.

We truly appreciate your valuable review as it is very important for our improvement as we strive to provide the best stays to our guests and your feedback will definitely allow us to work on areas that will further enhance guests’ stay experiences.

Thank you for choosing The Smith House Langkawi and look forward to welcoming you again.


Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

I find it odd that I did not snap any photos of my room after checking in (I always do), thus I could not attach any in this review.

We arrived in a big family group, occupying 4 rooms for 2 nights.

I will summarise my experience here below, the positive and negative aspects.

Positive ++
- Beautiful hotel with such a great location, literally 2-3 minutes from the airport by car
- Check in was a breeze, bags were whisked away and I enjoyed the welcome drink, so refreshing!
- Staff at the front desk were friendly and professional
- Room was very clean, tip top housekeeping!
- Breakfast had quite a spread, moderately adequate for the price point
- Lovely rooftop swimming pool
- Shops conveniently located on the ground floor (7-11, bubble tea shop, minimart, laundromat)
- Library has a decent number of books and you can also use the computer in the same room

Negative - -
- There is a lack of mirror in the room. There is only 1 in the bathroom. It's a challenge to share 1 mirror when you have 2 person in the room
- Bathroom: I couldn't really understand the fuss from other reviews regarding the sliding doors, but oh boy when I was there I totally get it. There is no toilet door, and in such open space you only have a sliding door that either closes the toilet cubicle or the shower area. How did it feel when I was in the same room as a family member? (non-couple). SUPER awkward. I think you should do something about the bathroom in your next renovation plan, as your customer base are not just solo traveler / couples.

I enjoyed staying in this hotel, but I need to re-consider should I be travelling with friends or family due to the bathroom. The missing 1 star in this review is purely due to the bathroom design.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are better
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElvenPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback pertaining your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our team, it was our pleasure to welcome you at our hotel. We are glad that all the facilities and services met your expectations. We appreciate the time you spent to share your experience with us.

We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience that you encountered during your stay. We sincerely apologize on the issue raised as you highlighted on your review.

Delighted to inform, currently we are in progress to install the sliding door with the mirror for the shower room .The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is always our top priority and your feedback will definitely allow us to work on areas that will further enhance guests’ stay experiences.

Once again, we apologize for the shortfall and inconvenience caused. We do hope that there is an opportunity for us to serve you better in order to restore back your confident towards our hotel. We truly appreciate your valuable review as it is very important for our improvement for a better customer experience. Thank you and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.


Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews