We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
129
54
13
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
54
13
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool sliding door gallo nero hotel is modern close to the airport luxury car free airport transfer local food experience toilet cubicle cenang beach tourist tax sun all day padang matsirat tom yam chicken rendang night market morning flight
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 198 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2018

We have booked directly with the hotel (4 nights) and this included complimentary pick up and drop off at the airport so a nice little touch. Hotel is located about 5 min drive from the airport, before booking I wondered if this means that it might be noisy but it wasn’t at all and you could chill out near the pool in peace. Hotel is quite new and modern, with all rooms located on the 2nd floor. Trying to find your room sometimes felt like a maze as there are quite few corridors (not an issue for us). Rooms are spacious and very comfortable, people mentioned the bathroom having sliding door. Again not a problem in my opinion and makes this place stand out from the others for being different. Service in this place was brilliant, everyone was very professional and attentive you really felt like you are at home or at least like you have been there before and they know you. Roof top pool is lovely with great views; hotel was quite quiet so often it was just us. Breakfast was very nice with slightly different selection every day (best pancakes in ages), however it maybefelt a little limited. I think we got really spoilt in the hotel in Singapore where we stayed before this one, so that might be the reason why it felt like this. We had few meals and cocktails in the restaurant and they were all very tasty. We also had fantastic meal in the Italian restaurant next to the hotel – its’s a must in my view (and I’m not a missive fan of Italian restaurant).

We knew hotel is 10 min taxi drive from the touristy area Cenang (taxi one way cost about £5) where you have the beach/lots of places to eat/have a drink/spa/shops) so I expected that Smith’s surrounds are more local but it was probably even more undeveloped than I expected. Still interesting to see how local people live etc. You can clearly see, that there is a lot of development happening around Langkawi with new hotels being built etc. We’ve found Langkawi to be very cheap.

We have done island hopping tour which was ok (speed boat ride but very rough) and sunset cruise with dinner which was fantastic and I would definitely recommend (both booked directly through the hotel before we arrived). We also went to see the sky bridge (took a taxi 15 min/ £5 – set price) and that was an experience, views are amazing. Cable car is tricky if you are scared of heights like me but so worth to get to the top. Would definitely stay again at Smiths House if visiting Langkawi again – they have made our experience fantastic. Welcome cake in the room was a lovely touch,

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emii_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your brilliant review.
We are truly delighted to know that you had a great time with us and appreciate what we have to offer especially our services.

We appreciate your kind words about the brilliant service,professional and attentive staff, lovely roof top swimming pool with great views and nice food at The Absolut Restaurant.

We strive to provide the best stays to our guests and your feedback will definitely allow us to work on areas that will further enhance guests’ stay experiences.

Once again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again to our hotel in the near future.

Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

5/10/18
We here for 3D2N with Smith House, this hotel just 1year old, so basically is quite new hotel, room is clean & comfortable, swimming pool at the top of roof level, breakfast are good. Very friendly and kind staffs. Value for money!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Venuslowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.
I am glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed our rooms and facilities as well as friendly staff.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

We thank you once again for choosing The Smith House Langkawi and we truly appreciate your review.
Please contact us directly when you are ready to return and look forward to welcoming you again.


Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

It was a nice feeling seeing familiar face(s) upon check in.

Room assigned was towards the end of the other building, pass the link bridge.

Staff are friendly. Proximity to the airport is a plus especially for early departures.

Appreciate the fact that one has access to Youtube from the SMART tv in room.

Hope to either try their in-house menu or the italian restaurant Gallo Nero next door during this trip.

The airport is also undergoing refurbishment. It has been extended. Give it a few more months, and hopefully with the possible addition of aerobridges, it will quite a breath of fresh air.

Room tip: Room away from the traffic. A mountain view would be nice
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
Thank Bail989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us and giving us an opportunity to show you the Smith House hospitality.

Delighted to hear that this is your second visit to our hotel and thank you for your comment about the friendliness of the staff as well as the good access to youtube from the smart TV.

We sincerely thank you for choosing The Smith House Langkawi during your visit to the island. Please contact us directly should you plan to return in the future. We look forward to hearing from you again.


Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for almost 6 days. Rooms are quite spacious with modern amenities. Basic breakfast facilities are available here. Most important part, the hygiene of the hotel is really appreciated. Staffs are well professional and excellent job knowledge. This hotel is also very nearer to international Airport. Best swimming pool facilities are also available here. I enjoyed a lot during my stay. I came here to attend PATA TRAVEL MART 2018. I will definitely recommend this property to my friends and relatives for their stay during the visit to Langkawi.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank priyanth662323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.
We are glad that the facilities and services met your expectations.
We appreciate your kind words about the professional and knowledgeable staff as well as the cleanliness of the hotel.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.
Thank you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future for another enjoyable stay at The Smith House, Langkawi.


Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel. The room was perfect, the location is a very short ride from the Airport.
I can honestly say this was far better than the Hilton at Heathrow.
The staff and Chef excellent
The food is top draw
Amenities like scooter and car rental at very reasonable prices.
Really cannot fault this hotel, very special

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 149nevillee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsmahHashim, Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at The Smith House, Langkawi.

We appreciate the time you spent to share your experience with us and thank you for your comment about the hotel room, excellent staff and the food.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel in the near future.


Thank you and best regards
Asmah Hashim
House Manager
The Smith House- A Place Called Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews