We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply stunning”
other travellers have booked this property
Dundream winner of Scottish Thistle best accommodation provider 2016/17
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dundream winner of Scottish Thistle best accommodation provider 2016/17
Stunning Mull of Kintyre en suite bedroom with spectacular sea views Dundream awaits you!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Dundream winner of Scottish Thistle best accommodation provider 2016/17
Stunning Mull of Kintyre en suite bedroom with spectacular sea views
Dundream awaits you!
Dundream House
Dundream sunset views over Mull of Kintyre
Spacious sunny lounge area out to decking area
View from North Rhins of Galloway coastline near Dundream
Spacious dining area with patio doors out to Japanese garden and decking
Relax in the Mull of Kintyre ensuite bathroom with large bath and Sonos audio
Spacious Category 1 accessible shower room on ground floor next to Glenapp bedroom
Family bathroom upstairs with relaxing bath and shower
Super king size double or twin bedded Glenapp bedroom suitable for Category 1 accessibility
Spacious Ballantrae family bedroom with panoramic sea views
Sunny twin bedded Loch Ryan bedroom with spectacular sea and land views
Spacious open plan kitchen
Irish ferry and Mull of Kintyre sunset from decking
Rugged coastline in winter North Rhins of Galloway near Dundream
Another spectacular Dundream sunset over Arran and Ailsa Craig
Pretty seaside village of Portpatrick nearby with seafood restaurants
Port Logan is a lovely beach with hotel in South Rhins of Gallloway
Mysterious misty morning at Dundream
Corsewall Lighthouse hotel and restaurant near Dundream
View of the majestic Glenapp hills on arrival at Dundream
Views on the runway decking at Dundream
Gaze at the dark sky or sunset in Dundream eco hot tub
Festive fun in the hot tub!
Sunrise over Glenapp hills
Elaine the owner!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkcolm, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EmmaB2001
1 review
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This house is just simply stunning from top to bottom. There is no detail forgotten. It is furnished with high quality furniture, every bedroom is extremely comfortable. It has everything you need. We stopped of to get some things from the supermarket before arriving and ended up not even needing them. Things like coffee, tea, salt, pepper, toilet paper. There are also a number of board games, playing cards, DVDs.

The outside views are just magnificent and it is so peaceful. We did have a bit of wind while we were here but it didn't matter it was still so beautiful and peaceful.

Thank you so much to Elaine for letting us stay. We would certainly come again.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review of Dundream and expressing your appreciation of the attention to detail of furnishings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme_Tr...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Stayed here with the family for a week in early April 2013. The house is fabulous and the location provides 360 degree views of some of the most stunning scenery possible. Every window paints another picture - Corsewell Lighthouse, Ailsa Craig, Ireland to name but few. Best of all is settling down in the evening to witness the most amazing sunsets from the comfort of the lounge. The house itself is spotless and it is clear there has been great attention to detail in all aspects of its design and decor. The space is great and layout excellent. For gadget lovers there is a 3D tv and my personal favourite was downloading an app for my phone that allowed me to control the music in every room. Great sound system. The kids loved scooting around the decking and watching the cows in the adjacent field. Had a few nice jogs down to the lighthouse and back (5 miles exactly for the return trip). The best holiday home we have stayed at and would have no hesitation in recommending this. We'll be back I'm sure.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2013
Delighted that you all enjoyed Dundream and its views so much. Hope you will visit again in the near future....perhaps in the summer months to witness the stunning sunsets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A fantastic house to relax in.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This house is all it appears to be and more. When we went it was very cold and snowy outside.. but lovely and warm inside, how nice to have heated floors in the bath rooms!.

The views are to die for....

We can't think of any negatives about Dundream, other than future holiday rentals won't be as good as this!

The owner is very friendly and helpful.

If this is the part of Scotland you want to visit, then this is THE house to rent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Sonos sound sytem, the wifi, the bathrooms, the bedrooms, the lounge...
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our holiday...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this positive feedback despite the tricky weather conditions. Hope to see you again at Dundream in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A place to exhale”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

If you are waiting to exhale from your busy lifestyle, this is the place to do it!

My partner and I stayed at Dundream in December 2012 and I am still missing it. This lovely house felt like the home I would like to have. Every corner is calming and relaxing, spacious, light and top quality. The complementary hamper of local produce on arrival started our stay off nicely.

Everything is catered for from fresh cooking herbs from the garden, complementary natural toiletries, fluffy towels, magazines, DVDs, music, tourist information.

My memories, amongst others, are of feeling a bit like a celebrity having a bath with music piped into the bathroom through the Sonos system, waking up to beautiful sea views every morning and enjoying the wood burning stove in the evenings.

I really did feel quite refreshed for some time after my stay at Dundream.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views from the house and the peace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2013
Thank you both for posting this fabulous review of your time at Dundream and glad you found it so relaxing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect place to relax and rewind!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Dundream is an amazing place.

Elaine, the owner is really friendly and helpful and you can sense the amount of time and effort she has put in to create this wonderful place. We absolutely loved it and hope to return.

The views are stunning and even though the weather wasn't great for us, we were more than happy to stay in. There's a whole library of DVDs and plenty of good books to entertain and there's so much space. Our kids were in their element!

Everything about the house has been carefully thought out and the attention to detail and high quality interior makes it a dream holiday destination.

Dundream definitely has the wow factor and we are already saving for a return visit!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2013
It was lovely to meet and have Andrew, Rebecca and their family staying at Dundream. Hopefully they will return in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela P
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Place of serenity”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We absolutely loved our stay. Dundream accommodation is of an excellent high standard. The decor carefully picked with the ambiance in mind!! Even though it was raining most of the weekend it never stopped us staying snug & warm kicking back in the beautiful surrounding. Magical place & one we will return too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2012
Thanks for your review. It was lovely having someone stay that was so appreciative. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottishP...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Perfect Holistic Retreat!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in this award winning retreat for a week and wished we could stay longer! We could not have chosen a more perfect place to relax and unwind. Dundream has it all... Stunning scenery including the most beautiful sunsets, exquisite decor, peaceful countryside, high spec finish, fabulous beaches nearby and plentiful local activities.
To greet us was the most wonderful hamper of local produce to feast on and beautifully scented handmade soaps to wash away the stresses of the city life. Every detail of Dundream is like this, you get the feeling of first class throughout. Every detail carefully thought out to make your stay as perfect as can be.
After a rewarding walk down to the local beach where we could see Dundream rock, we could sit out on the decking and watch the sunset with a glass of wine and have dinner. Bliss! When the sun went down over the Irish Sea we would cosy up next to the wood burning stove in the living room and wallow in the shear delight of being in such a wonderful place.
Dundream is the perfect holistic retreat for couples, families or friends!
We will definitely be paying another visit soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2012
Thank you both for the fabulous account of your holiday at Dundream. As you know I am passionate about Dundream and wish guests staying to have the most wonderful holistic experience and return home feeling rejuvenated! Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing