We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“this is as close to perfection that it gets.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kirkcolm, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carol L
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“this is as close to perfection that it gets.”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The house is lovely. The people are exceptional. You have isolation, a real chillout. Yet there is so much to see & do, if you want.
We stayed at High Clachan last year, with the whole family ( 6 adults & 2 children) and for the first time ever, we had to go back. Booked Garden Cottage as there were only 2 of us this time. Amazing.
Arrived home on the Saturday evening. Booked High Clachan on the following Monday for next year. We thought our daughter with an under school age would come, as her husband had seemed a bit reclusive. Seems we were wrong. He had fallen quietly in love with the place. It is exceptional. I dare you to find somewhere better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Freedom
Liked least: Don't be silly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for coming back to Corsewall Estate - it was lovely to see you both again and we're delighted you're returning again next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garthmoha...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A House that is in a league of it's own.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A house and estate that was a pleasure to stay in.
The accommodation was first class,tastefully decorated and very comfortable and fitted out with all that you would possibly require for your stay.
There were many small touches from the hosts such as the home made biscuits a large bowl of freshly picked raspberries and pretty vase of flowers which were much appreciated.
You are also able to enjoy watching the wildlife from the windows with red squirrels, woodpeckers and hares to name but a few that we observed.
Angus and Kate were excellent hosts who we would like to thank for the great time that we all had during our stay.
We hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole atmosphere of the house and the peaceful estate.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Algermia
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

3 generations went on this bank holiday adventure & what a find. We all adored Corsewall Estate everything was perfect!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Corsewall Estate Holiday Cottages - I do hope we will welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeC6620...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We can't wait to go back again!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The property and location exceeded our expectations, the grounds of the property were superb and ideal for walking our dogs. Angus and Kate were great hosts and always on hand to help if we needed it. The property was finished to a very high quality with stunning views of the grounds. There were a number of different walks around the grounds, one of which led down to Loch Ryan, which the dogs loved. There was a pub in the village which did take away food so you didn't have to cook if you didn't want to! The surrounding area also has a lot to offer with Stranraer only 5 minutes drive away. Can't wait to go back before everyone else discovers it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property, location and hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind words - I'm so pleased you all and the dogs had a lovely week at Garden Cottage and I do hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind words - I'm so pleased you had a wonderful break at Garden Cottage. Topping up the feeders for the red squirrels seems to be a full time job at the moment - I'm having a job keeping up with their demanding appetites!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of facilities & furnishings. Freedom to enjoy beautiful estate.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
So pleased you had a lovely time at Corsewaall and thank you for all your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing