We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Resort but Very expensive food”
Review of Duka Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duka Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Medina
butuan city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Resort but Very expensive food”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This place is really nice for relaxing,,they have scuba diving, banana boat and kayak..it's really nice there...rooms are very big good for 4 person. but in the restaurant foods are over pricing..i hope they will make a change on it..i hope the management will read this..ive been to many resorts and places here in the philippines...so i know if the foods are over priced or not...

Thanks....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jp_me22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    30
    14
    12
    5
See reviews for
39
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just stopped into Duka Bay Resort to check it out for us to have our Wedding Reception & Honeymoon there for next September. Staff very pleasant & they let us wander around the resort without any hassles. Good security at the main gate. Seems a very peacefull & quiet place. Beautifull locaton close to crystal clear aqua coloured waters. Good for snorkeling. We checked out the Villas & the Ambassador Suite, very nice. We then had Lunch in the Restaurant while discussing all their packages for our reception. Food was very nice & wholesome & they cater for international tastes. Only problem we could pick out was all the damn FLIES !!! Thousands all over the place in the restaurant mainly. Lotsa flies dead or buzzing around inside the restaurant. They didn't bother us too much but just the sight of them nearly put us off our meals. Hopefully they might have just hatched after all the rains recently & won't be there next September (we hope) ! Otherwise nice place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank paem62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed here for a night with my wife. As is our habit the first thing we do is take the sheet and pillow covers off of the mattresses and it was fall of blood and other various stains. So while on vacation we had to clean owe on room and cover the bed and pillows with rubber sheets and covers that we travel with, because we couldn't trust the staff to do a better job than what they have been doing all along.
The food was poor, the staff act as if they had something better to do than there jobs, but the giant mosquitoes meant business. The t.v reception was bad and limited. The only thing I love was the ocean view out side of our huge glass sliding door, but at night it is so dark outside of the room that it is almost impossible to make your way to the restaurant while walking the stone stairs and paths while being attacked bye mosquitoes. So I just went back into the room and stayed there until the sun came up.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the check in desk and restaurant. I would tell you go someplace else but it is h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medina hotels

Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have gone to Duka Bay many times, and enjoy the lovely location and beautiful views. A recent visit revealed that some needed upgrades had taken place! We stayed in Villa Lourdes and were pleased to find much better beds, added decor items and new, better quality towels!
I also think that the food quality and service has improved, and it was good before!

Our kids and grandchild were visiting form the USA and it was a great place to take them. Duka Bay is a lovely place to take a restful family vacation!

Room Tip: The lower rooms are less expensive than the upper ones with balconies. But, the lower rooms are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AmericanLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Duka Bay is the ideal place to get away from it all--off the beaten path and away from the usual tourist spots. The villas are comfortable, clean and spacious with stunning views of the water. And as a scuba dive spot, it's one of the best of the Philippines at a fraction of the cost of most resorts! And best of all, because of the easy access to dive spots, one can have a lovely lunch at the restaurant between dives.

Snorkelers will only enjoy the experience with beautiful corals at shallower depths. And for the non-swimmers/snorkelers/divers? The view from the glass bottom boat offers a great "sneak peek" at the wonders beneath the ocean surface.

This is the definitely the place to go for an experience out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lhooq19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I have been to Duka bay several times and its a great place to relax, if you want to party this is not the place to be. The rooms are spacious and clean they also have big balcony’s facing the bay. My main reason to go there is for the clean beach and the friendly service. The food is good and you should be able to find something you like considering menu its quite big . Also they have a nice little dive center and the House reefs are very nice. They started some good conservation efforts including artificial reefs and they have a nice coral garden. There is also a great area with underwater canyons and small caves. And at some of the areas there is fresh groundwater coming out of the sea bed which give a interesting theremocline. You can expect to see turtles, Baracudas, and a great variety of other sealife the dive master is very friendly and usually its just the two of you in the water. Be very nice to the dive master and he might bring you to the place where the seahorses are. Except for diving they don't really offer any sight seeing tours but when I was there they did provide me with a firefly watching tour. (very basic but romantic and a lot of fun !!) There is also a beautiful waterfall nearby Medina that is definitely worth going to!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tomvdhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The service we received here from the front desk, waitstaff, housekeeping, etc was top notch, everyone is so friendly.

We stayed in the condotels, and the rooms are very spacious and clean. They have huge balconies with breathtaking views.

The beach is gorgeous, and the water is amazing. The water is so clean and clear, it is perfect for snorkeling. We took their glass bottom boat out to snorkel and feed the fish. I highly recommend experiencing the fish feeding. You are surrounded by thousands of little fish that eat out of your hands, and during the boat ride we saw sea turtles and lots of other sea life. Our whole family enjoyed this from ages 5-60+

The food at the restaurant did not disappoint. The food was fresh and very tasty. The menu has something for everyone.

Overall, it was a fabulous and memorable weekend getaway at an affordable price. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Frincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medina
57.9 km away
Almont Inland Resort
Almont Inland Resort
#5 of 8 in Butuan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
58.4 km away
Watergate Hotel
Watergate Hotel
#1 of 8 in Butuan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
62.2 km away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.4 km away
Go Hotels Butuan
Go Hotels Butuan
#2 of 8 in Butuan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
62.5 km away
Seda Centrio
Seda Centrio
#1 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
60.0 km away
Almont City Hotel
Almont City Hotel
#4 of 8 in Butuan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duka Bay Resort

Property: Duka Bay Resort
Address: Medina | Misamis Oriental, Medina, Mindanao 9013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Medina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Medina
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COME TO THE TRANQUIL, shady Duka Bay Resort, Inc. Watch the breathtaking sunrises and sunsets. Enjoy our elegant, spacious villas, open-air restaurant, and rich coral life. Make use of our scuba diving gears, kayaks, banana boat rides, snorkeling, and glass bottom boats. Have fun!Duka Bay Resort, Inc. Is in the quiet, laid-back town of Medina, Misamis Oriental, Philippines. Far from the city, the resort occupies a sandy shore and a hill, and is soothingly shaded by a cluster of large ancestral trees. Nine villas -- spacious, elegant, and fully furnished -- provide a breathtaking view of the bay and the island of Camiguin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duka Bay Hotel Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing