We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“5 star by name only” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Spa & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Esplanade Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Certificate of Excellence
Wasington D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 star by name only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

I came with my wife for a New Years vacation. The New Year’s event was nice but not what I come accustomed to at a five star resort. The room we had was lovely and large but had no shower, only a bath. The wireless did not work in our room and when I went to the Concierge they had no “extra” LAN cables and told me where I could buy one in town. The heated pool was cold and the public sauna was broken. But for a fee I could use another sauna. Both of the showers in the men’s locker room near the pool were also broken so I could not take a shower after my workout.

This is a solid three star hotel that looks nice but don’t expect five star treatment or services. For the price it is still OK. But when I want five star treatment and amenities the Hotel Esplanade will not be on my list.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FredericWerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    44
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
63
113
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
talloires
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

Beautiful hotel, great location above Marianske Lazne, near the golf course, ideal for sport and relaxing holiday.
The service is very friendly, sometimes it lacks on the professionality.
The restaurant is nothing overwehlming, but good.
Fantastic natural source mineral water.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dsk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

The Esplanade sits on a hill overlooking the town of Marienske Lazne. This nicely restored and updated hotel was very lightly populated during our brief stay. Staff were both efficient and friendly. We were assigned a large and very nicely equiped room with a very spacious bathroom. The breakfast room features an extensive buffet of various breakfast selections including an omlete chef and more unusual choices such as soup (?), noodles and stuffed mushrooms. Room rates are quite pricey and despite the quality of the lodgings and the generous breakfast, seemed out of proportion to what is reasonable for a faded resort town like Marienske Lazne. In addtion, they charge for parking. Enjoyed the stay, but would not do so again unless I got a deal.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Randilyn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2008

The resort is just out of this world... all lush heavenly green with lakes and moutains and there she stands majesticly among the rich green, a royal pure white hotel warmly cuddled with nature.. the view from the hotel was all the way to the horizon. A picture perfect view.. that not even words word describe, i felt and its their in my moments to wish and visit again. the hospitality was out of this world.. very friendly as if the staff were born with a smile warm and real. the outhouse was as if i was attending the movie set of my best friends wedding. The golf course,is another little world that one can experience. i did get a drive around the property and since i do play golf , i did expereince the qualities it had that are not the same in comparision to the golf courses from which am from - in Dubai. The esplanade spa golf course is real in richness and natural in nature, no one can duplicate that , its god given. The room i stayed in was in a nestled corner as i walked to it but when i saw the view from the room it was as if i am in the centre of the property. The walk through the spa and pool was a quiet and intriging one. i did not use the spa as i was short on time for the two days i escaped to feel this part of prague - the outskirts

I must express , one should visit if one feels romantic , loved and wants to be around faires and nature, just like in a fairy tale. if time permits i shall upload the pictures to share with our fellow travelers and ones that want to escape into the serene magical world of esplanade spa a choice i can stand by when ever contacted for advise - ambassodor group - esplanade spa,Marianske Lazne,prague.

i have travelled round the world and this property for now is on the top of my experiences.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — the drive was a bit long from prague city
Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
11 Thank misbahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2008

We took a few days to come out to Marienske Lanze from Prague on our 9 day holiday.

This is billed as a five star hotel - and it isn't and it isn't cheap. Granted, the building is nice and it has a good location on the hill looking down into the town, but otherwise we have very little positive to add. Our overall experience was like an old British holiday camp not one of the best hotels in the area.

Despite trying in advance, we were unable to book our spa treatments and so when we got there had to take what was left. It was almost impossible to get any help (it took us a day to find someone who could speak enough English to help us book some spa treatments and then we got the distinct impression that we were being humoured. The hotel staff speak good Russian and German, but if you are English speaking - don't bother. The room we had was huge with a great view, but a flickering Hotel Esplanade flourescent light right outside on the balcony and curtains that didn't quite shield out the glare.

The service in the hotel is appalling. The number of times someone said that it was 'not possible' - well we lost count.

I don't think they even bothered to say goodbye......We definately won't be going back and we will be writing to the Great Hotels of the World organisation of which this hotel is apparently a member. Appalling.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — service - appalling.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank buttles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2007

This hotel was amazing from the moment we arrived. Then we were shown to our room, which was clean, spacious and stunning. In our experience, the food here is absolutely fantastic. Every member of staff we had contact with always had a smile and were extremely polite and helpful. Spa facility was just outstanding experience. We had many different treatments such as Floating, Hydroxer and Underwater massage. Nothing was ever too much trouble and staff were fantastic. Having stayed in many hotels, the level of service here is one of the best.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank marketka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2007

My husband and me went to the Esplanade Spa and Golf Resort hotel for the New Years celebration. We bought the New Year’s special offer over the Internet – four days package. Our stay was just wonderful experience. Great atmosphere, helpful and professional staff, outstanding food and unique spa and wellness services were some of the many great attributes of the hotel. We would definitely come back to the Esplanade Spa and Golf Resort hotel and recommend in the future.
Tom and Emy

  • Liked — Atmosphere and cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Great get away for couples
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank kurjatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marianske Lazne hotels
0.7 km away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Grandhotel Pacifik
Danubius Health Spa Resort Grand...
#3 of 70 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 km away
Falkensteiner Hotel Grand MedSpa Marienbad
Falkensteiner Hotel Grand MedSpa...
#7 of 70 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 km away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Hvezda and Imperial
Danubius Health Spa Resort Hvezd...
#10 of 70 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne
Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove ...
#6 of 70 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Olympia
Hotel Olympia
#4 of 70 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.4 km away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Centralni Lazne
Danubius Health Spa Resort Centr...
#5 of 70 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Esplanade Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Karlovarska 438, Marianske Lazne 353 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Marianske Lazne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marianske Lazne
#2 Spa Hotel in Marianske Lazne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marianske Lazne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marianske Lazne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Spa & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel dating from 1911, modern guest rooms with balcony; situated 5 minute's walk form the city center on peaceful landscaped grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Esplanade Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Marianske Lazne
Esplanade Resort Marianske Lazne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing