We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel.”
Review of Red & Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red & Blue
Ranked #75 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel.”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Pros: Excellent value
Well maintained & decorated
Nice, spacious room (got upgraded)
Friendly, helpfull staff
Cons: A little far from the centre.
Average breakfast

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algern0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    532
    76
    9
    3
See reviews for
179
1,070
81
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in June and our experience was exellent. The hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Their in-depth knowledge of everything Prague was top notch and they were never short of exellent advice on dining and getting around Prague.

Although it is out of the main tourist areas of Prague, it is close enough for you to be able to walk everywhere..but if walking is not your thing, there is a tram stop just 2 minutes away at the bottom of the hill. I would also suggest you try a couple of restaurants close to the hotel, which could be classed as hidden gems. Meduzzy is just down the road from the hotel on the road leading to Mala Strana Square. Friendly and very efficient staff and authentic, well priced Czech cuisine. I would also suggest Kolkovna Olympia. A little more pricey but, as above, the staff are amazing and the food is just as good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muttonles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Don't be put off by the basic look of the surrounding area, once you step inside the hotel the quality is evident. Beautifully decorated and the reception staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are also visually pleasant, clean and bigger than expected with a flat screen TV on the wall. Not many English channels but who goes on holiday to watch the telly?

I thought the location was excellent. Far away enough from the City Centre to not be affected by the hustle and bustle but with a tram stop only 5 minutes walk down the hill it was still very accessible.

If you go down the hill and turn right you will eventually come upon a shopping mall with a huge Tesco and a host of other shops. I didn't have much time to explore this properly but I did see an Armani shop and an Apple reseller.

If you go down the hill and turn left there are a couple of small bars and a row of restaurants. Lucie (the receptionist) recommended the Mexican restaurant called The Cantina at the far end of the road and I'm glad she did. Great little place.

If I was ever to head back to Prague, I would absolutely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

the staff is really nice and helpful, the room was beautiful. the pillows were too big for us so we slept on the decorative ones on our first night, the next day we returned from a walk in the city and noticed they changed the pillows to small ones.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank botbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Went here for a 3 night trip end of May. Was excellent location. Lots of hotels to pick from in prague so was delighted with this choice. Staff very friendly on arrival and the room was fantastic. His and her sinks and fantastic shower (once we figured out how it worked!). Room was great lovely bed and tv. Big room. All we could of asked for. Breakfasts were all you could eat buffet with all types of foods. Location was good to only a 10 min walk to charles bridge. A tram stop round the corner which is great to. In all a perfect hotel for a trip to prague.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublintraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here the weekend before Christmas 2011 and it was one of the best weekend breaks I have ever been on! We managed to easily navigate ourselves from the Airport by bus, metro and then a short tram stop to the hotel (however we realised later that the tram wasn't necessary as it is a short 10 min walk from the metro station!). The hotel was stunning from the moment you walk in and the staff were very friendly. When we booked we asked for a red room as we had heard that they were slightly nicer however we were given a blue room (that felt slightly on the small side). A short trip to reception later and we were walking into a beautiful, slightly larger, red room with a gorgeous bathroom and an amazing power shower. The room was at the rear of the hotel and thankfully had air conditioning which we had to use even in the freezing month of December as the hotel itself was quite warm! However the whole hotel has a very modern feel and is kept very clean and well kept. Location was excellent, the hotel is in a quiet area only a 20 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas... we ended up walking EVERYWHERE and really recommend doing the same rather than using the tram as you really get to explore all the wee winding streets and stunning architecture for yourself! We arrived early and although staff did everything they could to check us in earlier than planned we ended up leaving our cases and took a wander down to the shopping centre for some lunch! We also checked out the prices of beer in the Tesco and ended up returning on our way home to cram as many bottles as we could in our suitcases as it was so ridiculously cheap!

Prague itself was stunning, especially at Christmas time, and even the overwhelming numbers of tourists didn't put us off in the slightest. The Old Town Christmas market was buzzing and there were lots of food stalls and street performers! We were recommended the free walking tour with Sandemans and it definitely didn't disappoint. Our tour guide Amy was an absolute joy (even though we were all freezing!) she kept us amused and told the most beautiful stories. She was clearly passionate about the city and this came across in her delivery! It is not actually free as they ask you at the end to give a 'donation' for how you think the tour went... and to be honest by the end we were so amazed by Amy that we happily gave her a wee sum of money. We even went back the next day and did the tour 'walk' just ourselves as there is honestly so much to take in!

Room Tip: We definitely preferred the red rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in May, and were very impressed. The hotel lobby, guest rooms, and lounge have been recently renovated. Our room was bright and very modern, with slightly funky décor. The room had ample space, including the closets and cupboards. It also had a safe. Even the bathroom was modern, with decent water pressure from the shower.

We had asked for a quiet room, and were given one on the 6th floor, with a room facing the back of the building, away from traffic. The hotel appears to be located in a safe district, and we felt comfortable walking to the hotel after dark, and encountered no problems.

Every interaction we had with the staff was pleasant, and they handled every request quickly and efficiently.

The only reason I don’t rate this hotel a 5 out of 5 is that it’s located just slightly away from the city center/main attractions. It was about a 10-15 minute walk to the base of Castle Hill/Charles Bridge, and another 10 minutes from the bridge to the Old Town Square. Add an additional 10 minutes to the New Town Square. Close enough that we didn’t feel the need to plan/wait to take the tram continually, but far enough to be aggravating after a few trips back and forth.

Overall our trip to Prague was fantastic and exceeded our expectations, and our stay at the Red and Blue Design Hotel was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Late_Harvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,571 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#65 of 649 in Prague
1,969 reviews
Praha 8
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
#58 of 649 in Prague
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#68 of 649 in Prague
1,758 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#62 of 649 in Prague
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red & Blue

Property: Red & Blue
Address: Holechkova 366/13, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red & Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red & Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing