We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mosaic House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mosaic House
Ranked #59 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The hostel is located quite central (Metro is about 5minutes, but you can also walk in 5minutes to the Wenzelsplatz which is central). For me it wasn't just a hostel - it was more a 3-star-hotel. We were in 6-bed-rooms and 8-bed-rooms and they were modern, comfortable, enough place for luggage and a great bathroom with a rainforest-shower. For breakfast we had a buffet which included bread, mean, cheese, scrambled eggs, different juices, cornflakes and yogurt.
The bar in the hostel has great offers (every day happy hours on some drinks) and great food, there are also some concerts with free entry.
The staff is very nice and helpful and spoke fluent English. But if you ask for a good traditional restaurant and they give you the adress from the "Restaurace Ostrovni" don't go there - awful food and you have to wait very long for your food (I also made a rating for the restaurant on tripadvisor)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    450
    94
    35
    18
See reviews for
78
398
340
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Fantastic hotel! Good location, very clean, modern, stylish decoration, friendly staff. The bar is very nice and the breakfast great!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnickCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at Mosaic House for a total of three nights in January of 2011 and we were both extremely impressed by the quality of this hostel. The rooms are of a hotel standard, the staff are friendly and helpful and the entire grounds are kept absolutely spotless. The location may not be fantastic but it is still a manageable walk to the nearest station, city center and all the biggest attractions in Prague. For the low price, excellent rooms and top notch facilities, its easy to overlook the less-than-ideal location and I would certainly recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Prague.

We had landed ourselves a double room on the fourth floor - serviced by elevators which is always a bonus for a hostel - and were astonished when we finally got a first look at our room. The beds are large and extremely comfortable, the rooms spacious (as is the ensuite bathroom) and the decore very clean, modern and slick looking. There's even a minibar which is an added novelty for those used to more typical hostel facilities. The rooms are cleaned daily and the showers always had hot water. All in all, this room was by far the nicest we had stayed in over the course of a three month trip across Europe.

The hostel facilities are equally impressive, the entire building interior looking very swish. Staff are always available at reception and free walking tours of the city among other activities are organized daily leaving from the lobby. There is a reasonably priced bar downstairs which also offers some pretty good lunch and dinner options, as well as a very cheap breakfast buffet every morning with great selection. Again, no complaints. Easily up there with the very best of hostels and maybe even some lower end hotels.

As was previously mentioned, the only hitch to this entire affair is the unfortunate location. Don't allow this to deter you though. The location is not terrible, just average. It's an easy walk to the nearest tram station which can get you to the city center after one connection but the walk into town itself is also manageable - maybe 15-20m tops. Personally, we opted to walk almost the entirety of our stay and didn't have any complaints (after all, you get to see the surrounding area) but by the same token you're not going to be 'wowed' by it's access to the most important sights either.

Overall though, this is the hostel to book within Prague. I can't stress enough how impressed we both were. I would stay there again on any visit to the city and recommend the same to my friends or other travelers. Excellent hostel and very good management.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, however the more floors up you are, the less likely you are to be bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This place is eco-friendly and has a lot to offer.
The rooms we were in were stylishly decorated and felt very cosy.
The reception staff are friendly and multi-lingual.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeceptivePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Surprisingly a "Green Hotel". Friendly staff, vibrant feel, teeming with so much life! Very close to MRT station.

Nice hotel rooms with huge balcony that has a great view of Prague! The dorm rooms are spacious and gives you privacy too. The bunk beds have curtains and personal lighting. The courtyard of the hotel was a nice little touch!

Overall, a great place!

Room Tip: if you have enough budget, go for the hotel rooms. Otherwise, the hostel rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoGolez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed here with three friends in a 4-bed hostel room. Everything is modern and clean, beds are comfortable, for around 15 Euro it is well, well worth it. We ate downstairs at Belushi's, had a decent-enough meal and couple of beers. Good atmosphere at the nearby pubs and bars too, we went to a few. Mosaic House is not in the centre of Prague but it's very close - I think it's perfectly located, part of the fun of Prague is wandering through the streets anyway. Next time I'm in Prague I won't hesitate to stay here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nz_taniwha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed in both the hostel and hotel part of Mosaic House. Both were great value for money.

What we loved most is that when you first walk in, there is a bar and dining area on the bottom floor. This is a great place to meet new people, and on some nights they have live performances. The restaurant also served some of the best hotel food we've ever had (though not included in the room price).

The hostel rooms are very clean and facilities are great. Very modern bathroom/toilet.
The hotel rooms have a beautiful darkish decor and are very spacious.

The hotel is in an OK location. It is about 15 minutes walking distance from the major tourist destinations (not too sure how long by tram)

If you're looking for accomodation with atmosphere, don't miss this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#62 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#35 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#68 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#30 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Praha 5
Barcelo Praha Five
Barcelo Praha Five
#113 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#441 of 668 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic House

Property: Mosaic House
Address: Odboru 4, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Prague
#54 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#76 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#89 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mosaic House 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosaic House is a new fusion of accommodation in Prague with central location, classy-modern design, La Loca MUSIC BAR & LOUNGE, a theater bar, common rooms, and a variety of accommodation options. Mosaic House also features some of the most sophisticated “green” technology in the hospitality industry including the first grey-water recycling unit with heat recuperation in the Czech Republic, room temperature controlled based on occupancy, bathrooms with low-flow toilets and rain-dance showers, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Mosaic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic House Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing