We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #38 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This hotel provides very good breakfast buffet and excellent services including food & beverage servcie, houskeeping service and customer service. It provides free Wi Fi in hotel lobby and room, and also free internet service with four Apple computers in hotel lobby. Only five-minute walk to Old Town Square and ten minutes to Charles Bridge. Should a better-designed hand shower with a stand affixed at proper level be installed in the bathroom to enable the user to take a hand-free shower without wetting his/her head by using the big shower overhead, I regard the hotel as a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Josef, and had a good time in Prague. Let me thank you for mentioning breakfast, the service and location.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

I came to stay here around six years ago and have always wanted to return. Unlike so many other times, the desire to do so was not disappointed. This is a lovely place to stay. Convenient for the old town square and the Jewish quarter, the Josef really is streets apart from other hotels. Modern,stylish and comfortable, you really couldn't wish for more.

We stayed in the Pink House, and paid to have breakfast.

The rooms are large, airy and well stocked with all mod cons. The glass bathrooms are very chic, lighting good, lots of plugs and sockets for any IT needs and extras all there if you need them: iPod docking stations etc. The room had plenty of coat hangers, lovely bath products ( Aveda), dressing gowns, slippers, lots of towels and so forth. The Nespresso machine was great and there was a free supply of pods, milk etc if you ran out.

The sauna can be booked (free of charge) and again, there were free bottles of water and juice and fruit available. The bar area is pleasant, and less smokey than I remember, but people in Prague still DO smoke in bars, restaurants etc.

The breakfasts are simply amazing. I have never had such a choice and seen such great quality food. There are the usual croissants and pastries, cereals and cooked options, plus a menu, off which you could order other things, as standard. We had pancakes with maple syrup, eggs florentine and eggs benedict, all cooked to perfection. Breakfast was a wonderful leisurely affair, with no rush to get there. The opening times are incredibly laid back, up until 11 at weekends. I loved the juicer, where you could make your own concoctions. Newspapers were also available.

Staff were professional, friendly and spoke immaculate English. Their attention to detail and helpfulness were excellent.

We had room service on the last evening and the club sandwich and burger were exemplary and reasonably priced.

We will definitely come back, and not wait another 6 years to do so!
Thank you very much for a great service!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank AiredaleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

let me kindly thank you for this amazing feedback. There is no bigger praise than a guest who is returning back!

Thank you for mentioning so many things which contributed to your stay, such as the location, your room, sauna, breakfast and our staff. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and had a good time in Prague.

All our team is looking forward to your next stay in the nearest future!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Our 4 day mini break in Prague was made even better by our choice of hotel. The Design Hotel Josef is ideally located in the Old Town in easy walking distance of many attractions and historic sites; a short walk from the Namesti Republiky underground station and about 20 mins from the airport by taxi.

The staff were welcoming, spoke excellent English and very willing to assist with recommendations, printing of online-booked theatre tickets and boarding passes etc.

The hotel is very much a showcase of design with lots of funky art, furniture and lighting throughout. Our room was well appointed on level 5 of the Orange Wing (the hotel comprises 2 wings) with a large super king bed, side chairs and desk, built-in wardrobe, full length mirror and drawers. There was also tea/coffee making facilities, a small mini bar and safe big enough to take a laptop and with built-in socket for charging anything like laptops or cameras whilst they were secure. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower, heated towel rail, hairdryer and vanity. Toiletries were from the Aveda range.

The hotel has a small bar and lobby area (seating about 20-25 people) offering the usual range of drinks. There is a breakfast-only restaurant, overlooking the inner courtyard garden, that serves a wide selection of breakfast foods and a room service menu with a small but adequate range of choices. There is no lunch or evening dining in the hotel, other than the room service menu, but as the hotel is surrounded by streets full of bars, cafes and restaurants you are never more than a 5-10 minute walk from good food and drink. Do note though that you are far enough away not to hear any raucous noise.

The gym was well equipped with the usual machines, bench press, free weights, Swiss balls and even a punching bag. The best room however was the sauna suite able to be booked for private use. The large room with loungers, relaxing table and chairs plus range of drinks gave you plenty of space to relax. The sauna itself was a 2 tiered wooden set up with good temperature control and the large rain-shower walk-in shower made it easy to move between the two.

Their sister hotel just down the road offered a morning jogging group for anyone keen to take to the streets with a staff member as a guide and also had a spa and beauty treatment centre available to guests of the Hotel Josef, on request.

We will definitely return.

PS if you are planning on venturing out onto the streets to explore make sure you are wearing comfortable, flat walking shoes. All pavements/footpaths and roads are cobbled so anyone wearing heels is an ankle-injury waiting to happen.

Room Tip: Ensure you get the upper rooms in Orange wing facing the garden - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for such a great feedback! On behalf of the entire team here at Hotel Josef, we were thrilled to hear that your trip and stay was so pleasant. I am happy to know you enjoyed the location, overall design of the hotel, your room, the gym, breakfast and all the other details which contributed to your stay.

Each and every day, our staff strives to deliver a high level of service and personalized attention, and it is a pleasure to know we managed to do so.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Due to short-notice business trip to Prague I was recommended by colleague to stay in Josef. Checked reviews, wrote request directly to the hotel and got almost immediate reply with a good offer, so in a day went right to the hotel. It is situted very close to tram line and yellow metro line (it took 45 mins / 32 CZK to reach Josef from the airport: bus 100, then metro) as well as to all city attractions.
I must thank them for free-of-charge early check-in (at 9am). Checked-in quickly (stayed in orange house). Room accomodated one well (or two, but short stay), no view though, clean, comfortable bed, enough size bathroom, good wi-fi free connection, good breakfast.

Small negatives:
- only at the evening I noticed that safe didn't work (told reception next morning)
- I didn't manage to set a comfortable temperature on air-con

I will stay in Josef next visit to Prague (both business and short vacation trips).

Room Tip: ask higher floor, perhaps with the view, not beside the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rower1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for your review. Our guests' satisfaction is of vital importance for us, and I am happy to hear we managed to meet your expectations.

We are truly looking forward to welcoming you again in Hotel Josef!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Great location, friendly staff, beautiful room, wonderful breakfast... All with the special offer "stay 3 pay 2" - we are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for your feedback!

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Hotel Josef.

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The positive:
Kind, efficient staff with a very good command of English
Very good location : 20 min from the airport by taxi. (Good service of private limos=650 CRZ to the airport)
Walking distance to many Prague monuments
Very close to many bars, restaurants & nightlife yet far enough to avoid the crowd and the noise. 5 min walk to a subway station.
Good breakfast buffet, excellent made to order eggs on the week end!
Nice breakfast area especially when the weather is good
Free Wifi across the hotel
Expresso machine in the room
Free bottles of water replaced daily
Clean, new amenities. Room is well lit, confortable, quiet.
Ipads for customer use in the lobby
Overall good value for the money

The (somehow) negative :
Undergound meeting rooms (some)
Overall design is not that efficient : bar immediately behind the doors and entirely visible from the street, lobby lacks privacy, people confused between the 2 remote aisles (pink and orange!).
Room design a bit cold/impersonal. You could be in any city...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for the review, mentioning the staff, hotel car service, the location, breakfast and all the other things, which committed to your stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Hotel Josef!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The first and foremost comment is about the location: this hotel is perfectly situated in the old town near the Josevof jewish quarter and the old town square, yet away from commercial busy streets. Tourist hotspots can be reached on foot. From the airport it's a 20-30 min's drive by cab, which will cost about 600-800ck. Else, public transport can be used for about 300-400ck.

Second comment is about the stylish design of the hotel. The hotel has a clean, stylish design, but it's not cold or distant. In fact, it has kept a warmth that sometimes gets lost on a boutique design. Very well executed. I'd rate it a very good small business style hotel.

Third comment is the excellent service offered by the staff. Reception is responsive, efficient and goes the extra stretch to make you feel welcome. Room service is very good. Bar staff is attentive.

The front of the hotel is open, lots of glass and very light. Small bar with lounge area. In the middle is a stairs leading to a conference room. Right besides the reception is a hallway leading to one of the two buildings the hotel consists of. It passes the courtyard and breakfast restaurant. The hotel buildings are called Orange and Pink. Pink is at the street side, Orange at the courtyard side.

Rooms are efficiently designed and offer minibar, espresso machine, safe, flatscreen TV, DVD player and airco. Doors open with chipcard. Bathroom has all things you'd expect, incl. vanity kit, soaps, hair dryer. Window can be opened. Sunscreen with electric control. TV has English, German and local channels. It also offers HBO. Wi-fi is free and works perfectly. Rooms are clean and beds are good.

Breakfast is a good buffet style, incl. fruit, yogurt, buns and bread, egg and sausage, coffee and juice and a selection of meets and cheeses. Staff is attentive. The restaurant area does not serve dinner. Understandable with so many restaurants in the old town. However, room service does offer a small menu. Tasty, well done and efficiently served.

In short: this is a well designed hotel with good rooms and in a perfect location. The great staff offers excellent service. I would stay here again and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for the Orange building with a room at the courtyard side. Staff will happily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for taking time to write such a great review, mentioning so many things you enjoyed about Hotel Josef. We greatly appreciate the detailed feedback and are delighted to hear of your positive experience with us.

I am glad to hear you were able to get to know our staff and they assisted you throughout your stay. Our rooms are designed for your comfort and also with modernity in mind, so it's great to hear we provided you with a comfortable stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 649 in Prague
2,458 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 649 in Prague
1,220 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#42 of 649 in Prague
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#27 of 649 in Prague
1,711 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,520 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $132 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing