We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nice atmosphere in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #230 of 668 Hotels in Prague
vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

we arrived at 12:30, but had to wait until 14:00 for the room, ok, it's the hotel's policy. they let us have the luggage stored there. parking costs somewhat 25- 30€ a day, so I just parked two tram stations away for free. the receptionist helped us carrying the stuff to the eleveator, but wrecked our umbrella- some part fell off. I asked him to find it, I will fix it myself. He had two days to do this, but wasn't able to find it. when I asked for a substitute, he said, he can't give me one with the hotels logo on. ??? like it's bad, when I make ad advertising for them, walking around with a hotel umbrella in my hometown (vienna). anyway. the hotel is superb located, 2 minutes away from charles bridge. it is an old house, nicely restored. some details could be better. e.g. we had a cheap, broken lamp from ikea in our room. but the room itself was spacious and clean- though there were some black moldy stains under the bathtub tab. our room was also a bit noisy, cause the electric room was next to us, also the elevator. so there was a steady buzzing. but I guess an old house like this, can't be isolated better. because there is nothing else to do in the hotel, no sauna, pool, etc., you really only stay there for the night. mattress was a bit soft, but ok. breakfast buffet is a bit small, but quality products and a friendly waiter. all in all a good stay and I guess I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreaszetzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    282
    90
    34
    50
See reviews for
93
385
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is just next to Charles bridge and is therefore very good value for money at 30€ pp for a double room. All the sightseeing is within walking distance and it is also very easy to go to the airport by public transport, which costs 32 Crowns per person (1€) as opposed to taxi that costs 27€ per taxi.
I travelled with a friend and so we had a twin bedroom. The room was very clean, big and comfortable. However, it was on the street side so noisy at night but only with people and not traffic. We were able to sleep through it. The breakfast was unlimited though of average quality - hot beverages from a machine but fried eggs were provided, etc. The bathroom was only a shower cabin of adequate size but the whole bathroom was so small that once you got off the pot you were standing infront of the basin and with the next step you were in the shower! Miniscule and perhaps a problem for certain people. No place to keep your toileteries either. Staff nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brusselsmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We arrived about 10pm in the evening & received a friendly welcome by the gentleman on reception who advised us which eateries were still open. We are quite happy with our first floor room & it was cosy, clean & quiet & had everything we needed, including good internet access. We stayed for 3 nights & I even became used to sitting in the bath to have a shower! The breakfast was simple & adequate although I found it a little sad (small,bruised bananas!).

The location of the hotel is perfect - just around the corner from the Charles Bridge & not far away from the pleasant walk up the hill to the castle. I've heard from several friends who stayed on the other side of the bridge, near the Old Town Square & Wenceslas Square, that they found it very noisy in the evenings as Prague is a favourite destination for stag parties. Luckily, we didn't have this problem at all.

On a general note, we found that most of the restaurants did not accept credit cards so we made several trips to cash points throughout our weekend stay - there were plenty around. We were lucky to visit during an unusually hot March week-end but take a cardigan or jacket out with you as the sun never shines on some of the long, dark alleyways & they can be quite chilly!

We'd return to The Charles Hotel without hesitation & are recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I couldnt belive when reading some tripadvisor opinions about an unfreandly treatment.
I booked the room for my mum's birthday as a present, as she had never been in Prague before.
The pictures of the hotel were extremely impressive. I reserved the accomodation just 2 days before the arrival.
When we stepped in, the concierge was smiling and said without asking any, that "He felt sorry but some reconsructions works were needed in our bathroom, but refused to show the place!
But how lucky we were, he could transfer us to another hotel-belonged to the same owner....
Thats a very pity way to fill up their less-central-located hotel.
This was not fair! If you are thinking about the hotel, please make them sure to give you the hotel you dreamt of.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EstherLauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had two rooms on the third floor of this hotel and I just loved the decoration and cozy feel of both of them. They were impeccably clean and had all we needed including tea making facilities. It was a pity there wasn't a stand-up shower, but the general niceness of the bathroom and room made up for that.

Breakfast was excellent and all but one member of staff very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunatly this one man at the reception seemed to be allergic to guests. Maybe he should find a different career? Polite enquiries on our side during check-out were met with angry and off hand replies by this person. We kept our calm but felt offended. During our stay we heard the same man argue with other guests. What a pity, as the rest of our stay was so nice.

As mentioned in other reviews, the location of the Charles hotel is just perfect for all sightseeing in Prague. There are some excellent and inexpensive restaurants nearby (recommended to us by one of the nice receptionists), and despite our irritation after the treatment we received at check-out, we would not hesitate to stay at the Charles again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in one of the rooms on the top floor. The room was in a converted attic, super spacy, very cosy and if you lean outside the window, you could actually see the Charles Bridge down the street, which means that the location of this hotel is extremelly good, right inbetween Prague old center and Prague's Castle. Heating was working perfectly (we stayed there during this winter's big chill!). The bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean and with modern appliances. By the lobby, there's one computer with internet access and a small kitchen bay where you can make your own coffee and tea, which was very pleasant after a day walking in Prague. If you're bringing your own computer or smartphone, you can just ask in the reception for the internet password which has good reception in the rooms. Breakfast is served in the basement of the hotel which is also a thai restaurant otherwise. Even though its not the best i've ever had, it's pretty satisfactory with great croissants! The only negative aspects I can point is the staff, some were friendly, others not so much. And when it comes to pay, make your payment in Euros or they'll make you a really bad convertion to kroners and you'll pay way more than you booked. Other than that, this hotel is the whole package one can ask for in a prague citytrip: great location, nice breakfast and a nice room ambiance, making stay a joy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreVz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

i recently booked this hotel on line and was advised euro costs - none refund rate i was happy to pay this in full, it was my wedding anniversary trip, the booking was done through a booking agent called booking assist who instead of taking full payment in euro took only a low deposit, the following day the hotel took balance payment on my card in czech kruna on the hotels own czk rate which is higher than the current exchange rate which meant i was charged over 70.00 gbp more than expected. i have fought and complained and now have had the booking cancelled by the hotel and refunded but have yet to receive a refund of the deposit from booking assist the booking agent.

beware with prague hotels i have found most links go through a booking agent, who all cost in euro and take low deposits and unless you pay in euro cashon arrival - you will be charged a higher cost than you expected in czech koruna cash or on your card - at no point do any of the booking agent clearly advise this will happen. your confirmation stated balance in euro only --- these also include all online booking agents. if you are not aware when you arrive you have no option but to pay - how many of us travel to a none euro country with euro - common sense says you take the local currency.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#134 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#99 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#54 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#21 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: Josefska 42/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#185 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N intimate ambiance and excellent service. Occupying a historic medieval building, the charming Charles Hotel has been beautifully restored whilst retaining many of its original features. The Charles Hotel is situated close to The Charles Bridge. Surrounded by good selection of bars and restaurants, this intimate property enjoys a romantic ambiance. Located in the charming historical district of Prague Mala Strana (also called Prague Lesser Town or Little Quarter of Prague) and close to the famous Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, romantic Kampa, Petrin parks and just across the bridge to the rest of Old Town. The Hotel Charles is part of the Royal Road, which starts in Nuremberg (Germany) and leads all the way to Prague Castle through the Powder Tower, Wenceslas Square and across Charles Bridge. All 31 rooms of our hotel are air conditioned. 25 Rooms and 6 suites are reflecting the building's rich heritage and providing our guests with comfortable accommodation, an exceptional service and modern amenities. Baroque-style rooms include satellite television, minibar, in-room safe and hairdryer. Breakfast room and lobby bar are necessary to make you feel special. Friendly, attentive staff and a perfect location make it an excellent choice. The Charles hotel is romantic accommodation in the middle of Prague history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing