We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortuna City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fortuna City
Ranked #586 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Having paid £135 for 4 people to stay here for 4 nights in 2 rooms I wasn't expecting much. However, it was perfect for us. The hotel itself was a little bit tatty round the edges but the rooms were large, comfortable and clean. Breakfast consisted of the usual continental style foods including yogurt, cereals, breads, cakes(!), cold meats scrambled eggs and hot sausage meat. Also as much tea of coffee as you could want. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is not central the transport links are fast, regular and reliable. Also cheap - £12.50 for a three day pass which covers metro and trams. Perfect hotel and location to visit a beautiful city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    84
    114
    70
    56
See reviews for
52
107
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

Stayed at Fortuna City Hotel with friends for a city break. I was shocked by the state of the hote. The decor is so ancient and the rooms have got the most uncomfortable beds i have ever come across in all the travels i have been on so far. The staff are not very helpful either. The breakfast was just basic and the presentation of the food was off putting.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FELICITY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

We went to prague for a 3 day vacation - after browsing through a lot of reviews booked into fortuna city, under the impression that this was a 3 star upscale hotel and also the fact that we were getting a very good deal by booking vide an online agent.

The hotel however only value for money, economical and a mere Budget Hotel with low frills and a cheap price. It is located far away, about a 30 minute tram & metro ride from the city center, old town and other tourist spots, about an hour - Bus, Metro and Tram ride from the airport. The room barely offers any comfort/facilities - 4 walls, a shaky bed (full of bed bugs) and a miniscule TV. A 3 Star should at least have Room Service - we were dissappointed there as well. Breakfast was definitely the best part, good stuff for the money they charge ! Would Recommend this one only if you want to save on your pocket and are only looking out for a bed to crash in the night

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kasiddharth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Rooms are very basic but the hotel has everything you need!
Worked out it cost £5 per person per night and that included bed and breakfast. NEVER stayed somewhere so cheap with everything you need!
Free internet in the lobby was so handy. A really great choice for breakfast every morning and gave you plenty of time for breakfast 6:30-10am.
Rooms small but very comfortable with a great shower and VERY warm which was great seeing as it was -5 outside!
REALLY pleased with this hotel, it's not in the centre of Prague but had a metro and 4 trams (26,19, 7 & 11) around the hotel which run very often all day and night which make it easy to get around the city.
Great restaurant just down the road too which was very cheap.
Our flight was late at night, but the hotel looked after our luggage all day which was great!
Only bad thing I'd say is the security were very rude, the security may actually read this (haha) but it may be a good thing. They stood behind me and others staying at the hotel whilst we used the hotel computer just so we would log off so they could use it! Despite this I have nothing else bad to say, perfect hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxii H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeskManagerCity, Front Office Manager at Fortuna City, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Dear Madam,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your kind review and comments following your recent stay at our hotel. The reviews of our guests are much appreciated.
They help us to provide a higher quality services.
I will certainly share it with the staff (especially to our security staff), to motivate them to continue to offer great services.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcome you to our hotel next time.

With best regards,
Petr Königsmark
Hotel Fortuna City
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

I'm not sure what people expect for the price they pay, but we paid under £50 per room for 3 nights which is a bargain! If you want a posh hotel you would be looking at spending alot more! This hotel is ideal for short stays, rooms were basic but spacious and clean. Could maybe do with some new curtains!! Hotel staff were friendly, lobby bar was quite expensive but you find that in most hotels! Tram stop is right outside the hotel, metro station is a 10 minute walk, both take you into the town centre in less than 10 minutes.
Overall a decent place to stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Fortuna City is a Good basic Hotel, My Group " GVS school" stayed there for 5 Nights, and I am the travel Agent. Rooms are Large and clean, TV is very small and NO international channels I beleive they were all Czech with one German . Breakfast is also very basic with hot and cold Choices, Dinner was not that much. The Hotel is not very far from the Center, TRAM station is just in front of the Hotel, No.11 takes you directly to the City Centre in around 25 Min. Reception Staff were Nice and Helpful and can speak very good English. There is a MINI market in from of the Hotel which is conveneint to get all the necessary stuff, close to FLORA MALL which has it All. Hotel is conv\cidered of a Good Value comparing to the Price Paid.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akramdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

my room was very big, was cleaned every day
the breakfast is very good!
receptions is ok, not too helpfull. but kind and nice.
some speak english really bad. hard to understand
but you'll find your guy

location is great. tram right outside the hotel, two stations or 10 minutes walk to metro
by metro 10-15 minutes to old town square - city center.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexzha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeskManagerCity, Front Office Manager at Fortuna City, responded to this review, 30 November 2010
Dear guest,
I apprecite you are giving us your opinion. As you mentioned all the good things, I must say I am glad to hear that. As for our front desk people, I believe we have improved a many things and you have given us more strength to keep working on it by writting your comment. Thank you for that.
Kind regards
Radek Losky
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#609 of 668 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Praha 3
EA Hotel Populus
EA Hotel Populus
#424 of 668 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Praha 3
Apollon
Apollon
#306 of 668 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 10
Astra
Astra
#399 of 668 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Hotel Mars
#514 of 668 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Praha 3
Vitkov Hotel
Vitkov Hotel
#323 of 668 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna City

Property: Fortuna City
Address: Bechvarova 2081/14, Prague 100 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 10
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #586 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna City 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fortuna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Prague
Quality Hotel Prague
Prague Quality Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing