We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stylish, retro, cool, individual!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #87 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stylish, retro, cool, individual!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed there for one night only and wished we had stayed longer! The location is excellent and quiet, since many of the neighbours are embassies. Still, there are restaurants and cool shops nearby and you can walk uphill to the monastry, the castle and the huge park with the "Eiffel" tower. Walking to Charles bridge and the old town sights is possible as well. A tram station where many lines stop can be reached within approx. 5 minutes walking. The hotel is cool with its seventies style public areas and its rooms. We had a deluxe room with views over the old town. The little terrace is a nice place to relax in the sun and when it's raining, you can select from a huge number of DVDs. We even had a laptop in our room and Wi-Fi was free of charge! Breakfast and afternoon tea were included, and all in all we felt really cool staying at the Design Hotel Sax.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms feature exellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zynobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your warm review, we hope you will come to visit us again for more days. One night isn't realy enough to find and visit all beauties of Prague.

We are looking forward to your next visit
Best regards
General manager and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    212
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
116
587
62
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I booked this hotel as birthday present for my boyfriend and we were both extremely impressed!!
This hotel is in a great location, away from the tourist area, but still a short walk to the Charles Bridge.
The rooms and the hotel itself are vintage designed and it's nice just looking around the reception and breakfast area.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful from the time we arrived to the moment we left.
We booked in at the spa and sauna and it was lovely and clean and relaxing. It's also great that you can book the spa and sauna for an an hour as a couple.
We also hired electric bikes through the hotel and totally recommend doing that too.
As it was a birthday present I guess you want the experience to be amazing and you have high expectations but the hotel delivered that and a little more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guests,

we are pleased that your present was better than you expected, romantic spa package was realy best choice :) And yes, you are right, the eletric bike is realy good idea, you can get everywhere you want ant it so easy.....

Best regards
General manager and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

From the train station we followed the hotel's direction to take the #9 tram then the #22 tram to Little Quarter Square. As we walked to the hotel, the Charles Bridge was on the left and we wondered whether we had booked in the wrong areas. Everything seemed to be going on on the other side (Old Town). We then walked 10 minutes up hill to the hotel. We were welcomed by a responsive, engaging staff who made us feel right at home. The hotel was as described in trip advisor, an interesting modern hotel in an interesting area. From our hotel we could walk up Nerudova St. to the Royal Castle, St Vitus and the Loretto. Because we were close, after the complimentary sumptuous breakfast that included either crepes, french toast or eggs, we got to St. Vitus before the crowds. In that distict, where we spent a day and a half, we found the best shop in ourPrague travels - Zuzana Jirusova on Raonicke Schody St. tucked behind the Church on the way back down the hill. The ties, scarves and cothing were the best and most original we found. The hotel was located in the most interesting area, away from the crowds but by metro tram or walking within easy access of all the interesting sights. The room was large, the bed comfortable, the bathroom generous and there was lots of space to hang things. Besides breakfast, there was tea from 4-6 and a coffee machinge available 24x7 that made latte's.
One concern was the bathroom had a bathtub that had a high edge and was slippery. There was a railing on the inside which helped but for folks with decreased agility, this might not be a good match.

Down the hill from the hotel - on the way to Old Town, there was an Irish pub on the left and a restaurant that offered a fixed price three course meal that was great for 145 CK ($9.00). At these places, no one hurries you and they bring the check only when you ask for it. Otherwise, the table is yours for the night.

People have been great here. We saw La Traviata at the State Opera House and it was terrific. The Opera House was beautiful, the seats wonderful and the prices reasonable ($42).

Prague is breathtaking and the Vintage Sax made it all the more wonderful. I recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank HELRAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are so pleased to read that you have experienced an enjoyable stay here in our hotel SAX.

Bes regard
General manager and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Pros:
Great location close to everything but not too touristy (next to a bunch of embassies)
Amazing funky decor - Eames chair heaven
Staff nice and helpful
Cons:
Bathrooms tiles are a bit chipped here and there

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieSabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guests,
thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to inform you that this bathroom was under reconstruction and all bathrooms tiles are brightly new :)

Best regards
General manager and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

hey hey,
stayed 2 nights at the Sax recently and overall enjoyed it. Here are my thoughts:

GOOD:
- great location for sightseeing.
- the young staff is quite friendly and has good English. Czech people (I am one) are not known for their warm fuzziness or amazing customer service skills so right away this is a win win.
- I got a really good rate (65 Euros per night) for a large room overlooking the street.
- a pretty good breakfast spread (although they do nickle and dime the extras).
- most important - the bed was very comfortable and I slept well.

NOT SO GREAT
- although I gravitate towards boutique and designer hotels I felt that this hotel was almost "too much" as in I felt like I was staying in a designer museum or shop. The designer really went overboard with the furnishings as every little available space has some "design" piece stuffed into it.
- water pressure in the shower was lacking, however this is the old town so imagine how old the plumbing is right?
- the hotel is just down the street from the American Embassy which meant that every time I drove or took a taxi, some Czech police did a vehicle search. Annoying after the first 2 times.

What I'm saying is if you can get a good rate this is a solid choice and a solid base for exploring Prague.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_real_bohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your beautiful review. We are delighted with your feedback and also with the fact that you really enjoyed your vacation with our customer teatment :) You are right, the car inspection by police is quite uncomfortable but on the other hand it makes this area safer especially in the night.

Best regards
General manager and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at Vintage Design Hotel Sax for 3 nights and couldn't be more pleased with our experience there. Right when we arrived, they helped us with our bags, showed us maps of nearby sites, and led us straight to our rooms. We stayed on the 4th floor where we had the only 2 attic rooms - it was wonderful! The rooms were clean and cute; equipped with laptops and fun decor. The beds and pillows were super comfy! There was a terrace just steps from our door with a great view of Prague.

Breakfast was phenomenal - toast, croissants, smoked salmon, fruits, cheese, plus the option of getting a warm meal cooked fresh to order (crepes, omelette, etc). Afternoon tea was so nice after a long day of sightseeing - peaceful with a nice selection of quick bites and teas.

Despite the amazing facilities that the hotel had to offer, it was the customer service that really made a difference. The staff was super friendly and always willing to help out in any way they could. We asked for directions, maps, and restaurant recommendations - and they came through each time. On our last day, they had reserved a table for us at breakfast and even printed a newspaper for our reading pleasure! They truly know how to make guests feel welcome. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guests,
we are realy pleased that you were satisfied with our treatment of guests it is a pleasure to have so nice guests in our hotel. And yes, you are right, the rooms on 4th floor are realy romantic and quite.

Best regards
General manager and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

A very small hotel with very tall ceilings! Brand new, clean, super vintage stylish boutique hotel. Definitely recommending it to everyone! Attention to details, interior design, funny looking retro furniture. All those details bring a smile to your face. It is a cheerful and cool looking hotel.
Rooms are pretty small but it was great for two. (shower room is tiny) but for the price you pay, you get a pretty good deal plus delicious breakfast is included! You see many young people among the guests, but you dont hear them in your room! We walked everywhere from the hotel, in fact I dont think we ever took a cab or bus anywhere.

A great choice for young travellers in Prague!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guests,
thank you very much for your review, we hope you will come to visit us next time and we promise we wil arrange bigger room for you :)

Best regards
General manager and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#98 of 668 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#52 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#76 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#36 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#34 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky vrshek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Prague
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#80 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historical city centre, right below Prague Castle, Hotel Sax offers free WiFi and rich buffet breakfast. Every room has a LCD TV or Smart TV with satellite programs a DVD player and 10 DVD titles. All rooms are air-conditioned. The spa area at Vintage Design Hotel Sax comprises a hot tub, a fitness room and a sauna. Massages will be provided on request. The DVD library includes over 5,000 titles. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. The interiors of the hotel will transfer you to the 1950s, 60s, or 70s. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. The Prague Castle can be reached within 5 minutes on foot, the Charles Bridge in 10 minutes and the Jewish Quarter is a 20-minute walk away. St. Nicholas Church and the Schwarzenberg Palace can be seen 300 m away, the Church of Our Lady Victorious is 500 m off and the Strahov Monastery is 1.1 km far. A tram stop is near the hotel. Parking is available in front of the hotel (at extra charge), in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing