We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay”
Review of Sir Toby's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sir Toby's Hostel
Ranked #9 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Location could be better (in district 7, but the majority of attractions are in 1-2) but there's trams nearby. Friendly staff which were very helpful with the maps, directions, tram information and gave us tips on Prague's nightlife. Beds were comfortable, but there are way too many doors to go through to get to one's actual room! My lamp was also broken. Nevertheless, it was still clean and comfortable. Computers had free and fast internet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank immerinkreuzberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    132
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
77
150
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Great character and decor in this hostel, and really well-priced rooms. I was really surprised at the quality. Staff are all friendly, and most are extremely helpful. Breakfast at the hostel costs 5 Euro, but is actually so worth it! Amazing variety; you can even cook your own pancakes, bacon and eggs!
Location isn't the best as it is not right in the middle of Prague, however, it is really easy to catch the tram to the centre, so it didn't affect us at all.
Stayed in a 6-bed dorm, the room was huge, super clean, and had a really nice feel to it!
Computers and internet for free, and although I didn't go to any of them, there seemed to be some good hostel events on offer. Bathrooms were clean, but unfortunately the shower only seemed to be able to give about 3minutes of hot water, before going cold. The mattresses were ok, but after a 4 nights of them, my back was a bit sore.
Everything else was perfect though, and I would still highly reccomend the hostel :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyT589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Great character, classic building with antique furniture, nice basement bar, good atmosphere all around. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff plus good service (public transport passes for rent, for example). Location is not dead central, but good and quick connections by several tram lines, therefore still convenient. Many supermarkets nearby. Also a very good place to meet new people as they have a very cool bar in the basement and they have many interesting events every day, you just have to check at the reception. And with such a good price i will totally recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niantiaulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2011

overall, it's a clean hostel with a helpful staff. the breakfast is nothing special, but it's convenient. also, you can rent a metro/bus ticket for a discounted price which is nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2011

i could not fault Sir Tobys, I would go as far as saying that it is one of the best hostels i have stayed in. My friend and I arrived at the hostel at around 11 on the Friday night, the girl at the reception desk was so helpful and told us all about the area, how to get to town, what tours to do, what trams to get etc etc.Unfortunately the bar was closed as the staff were having a party, however the comunal room was available and the receptionist told us where we could buy drinks.
We stayed in one of the bigger rooms (10 beds) in the hostel, there was plenty of room and each person had both a lockable and unlockable space to put their things in. The beds were really comfty and you got a proper duvet rather than just a sheet. The room and the bathroom were well heated, and both had adequate lighting. I found both to be well cleaned.
In the morning breakfast was served from 8am till 12, which is great for those that want a lie it. It was only £4 and considering you could eat and drink as much as you wanted it was perfect. there was a large selection of food available such as cheese, ham, cereal, toast, as well as do it yourself eggs and pancakes. There was also a selection of juices and coffee and tea available.
Another good thing about the hostel was free internet and wi-fi. It was also great value for money, I paid £8 a night.
My only complaint would be the location, however, it is only around a 25 minute walk to the centre (directions given at the reception) or you can take the tram which is about 10mins. We took a taxi home in the evenings which cost around £7.

All in all a fab place to stay and i would recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank British_Traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Sir Toby's was a decent place to stay, especially for the price. Two people stayed in a private room for 50 euro a night. The staff was very friendly and helpful in directing us around Prague. In the basement, they serve a make-it-yourself breakfast for about 5 euro and have a bar service at night. I would recommend this for travelers on a budget. The only downside is that the area it is in is not very lively and the trams to go into the center are somewhat spaced out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linds13521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed in the biggest dorm, some lamps were broken and were not fixed immediately. The bunk beds are pretty comfortable, the big pillow was great!

Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Nearest tram stop is just 2 mins walk away.

Bathrooms could have been better if there are racks for the toiletries, something which is very small but which I also find very important!

Great wi-fi!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babyjoycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#62 of 649 in Prague
2,046 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#527 of 649 in Prague
171 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#96 of 649 in Prague
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Iris Hotel Eden
#141 of 649 in Prague
704 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#185 of 649 in Prague
1,567 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#10 of 656 in Prague
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Toby's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Toby's Hostel

Property: Sir Toby's Hostel
Address: Delnicka 1155/24, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sir Toby's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine hostel experience with unrivaled guest service! We love Prague and want you to love it too. With almost two whole floors of common space (including a full guest kitchen, garden with guest grill, basement Pub with drinks and board games, and a cozy reading room), you're sure to make new friends at Sir Toby's. Plus, we offer a wide variety of accommodation options to fit your budget and your preference. Sir Toby's offers the kind of personal attention and service that only come with experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sir Toby's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Toby`s Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing