We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells like an open sewer”
Review of EA Hotel Tosca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
EA Hotel Tosca
Ranked #176 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Let's start with the big negative first. The room no 61 smells like an open sewer when I came.aka smells like crap. We asked to change but all was full.
Is from the bathroom. Unfortunately the airco was not working so we had to open the window. Thankfully weather was very mild and after closing the toilet door and hall way door it was acceptable.
Still the smell really negatively impacted my impression.

That's sad, because the rest of the hotel was perfect.
Room and bathroom was big and clean. Bed was ok. Two singles pushed together. Had normal pillows. Tv had English channels.
Breakfast was good mix of hot and cold. Good hearty start of the day.

Location was perfect. In Prague 2 but close to metro and all sorts of public transport. Ideal to explore the rest of Prague.
Lots of nice restaurants in the neighborhood. Everything literally a few minutes from the hotel.

I gave it 3 stars and but I can still recommend it. Just avoid room 61 or at booking ask for room that doesn't smell.

Room Tip: Don't get room 61
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tan1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tosca_Director, Manažer at EA Hotel Tosca, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Hello tan1415,
very sorry that you had spoiled the impression from your stay just for the smell from the toilet. Believe that we will do everything to prevent this problem from happening again. We are very happy when the guests leave us satisfied and even better for us when coming back to us. I therefore believe that on your next visit EA Hotel Tosca, you already have everything for your maximum satisfaction.
Have a nice day
Michaela Ďurneková
manager of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2017

My room was big and spacious, nicely decorated and I loved the chocolates on the pillow, really nice potatoes for breakfast and so central, such a nice journey into the town and great bar around the corner

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank avt2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tosca_Director, Manažer at EA Hotel Tosca, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Hello avt2017,
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you have been satisfied in our hotel and hope that you will visit us again someday. We wish you all the best.
Sincerely,
Michaela Ďurneková - director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Clean and nice hotel near metro. Pleasant interior. Good breakfast with a lot of choices. Excellent wifi. Room quite warm, but quiet. Beds were comfortable. Supermarkets very close. Restaurants near. I recommend

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SariAnneli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela M, Manažer at EA Hotel Tosca, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Hello SariAnnel,
Thanks for the wonderful reviews EA Hotel Tosca. We greatly appreciate your ratings and particularly your recommendation to others. During your next visit to Prague you again very happy to welcome you in our hotel.
Have a nice day
Marcela Markova
manager of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Excellent hotel, very nice rooms, great service, great location in Prague just a few steps from subway. Even you can walk to the city center if you like walk. I was very pleased with relation price quality.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank José R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela M, Manažer at EA Hotel Tosca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016
Google Translation

Hola Sr. José.
Gracias por tu opinión y estamos muy contentos que han estado satisfechos con nosotros. Como a veces le invitamos a que nuevamente en nuestro hotel. Te deseo lo mejor y espero conocerte.
Sinceramente,
José Roztočil - en representación del Director del hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Rooms have no AC, their cleanesness is questionable. The service simply sucks. They cater to Russians only, as the crew is mainly Russian speaking only. So if you don't speak Russian don't go there. Very disappointed...
Location is close to metro station. That's the only advantage of that hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ewjan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela M, Manažer at EA Hotel Tosca, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Hello, Mrs ewjan1
We are sorry to hear that you have not been fully satisfied with our service.
Our rooms on the 5th and 6th floor have AC, but they are turned on during the heat, mostly at summer. It is impossible and unfair to say that we divide tourists by nationality and accuse our staff because in addition to English, German and French we also speak Russian.
Regards,
Marcela Markova – director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Rooms are clean, nice, breakfast is OK, position is near the centre, ant there are tram, bus and metro stations one minute walking from the hotel. WiFi is OK, TV has cca 50 programms. The only disadvantage are small and dark corridors.

Room Tip: Double room
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank frang798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela M, Manažer at EA Hotel Tosca, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Hello frang798.
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you have been satisfied in our hotel and hope that you will visit us again someday. We wish you all the best.
Sincerely,
Marcela M-Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The desk staff is the highlight. Mostly friendly and helpful. The room is dated, carpets stained, shower is so small, hubby kept bumping his arms to wash his hair. Breakfast... eh, not good. That said, don't do it with out locking bags. Someone went through my suitcase. Talked to the desk and nothing done about it.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Paulette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela M, Manažer at EA Hotel Tosca, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Good morning, Mrs. Carr,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave a coment about your stay in our hotel. I am very sorry to read, you have negative feeling about your stay with us. Reception contact me in Saturday and told me everything, when first draft came from you. Reception started investigation of claimed situation, as well we did offer you the assistance of police department, but you refuse it with claiming that u didn´t miss anything.
I have been investigating this situation deeply, and I am sorry, but I can not agree with your feedback. Believe me, that we doing maximum to make our guest as satisfied as possible here. Housekeeper Maria is working here over 8 years wihout any problems and to that complain notes, she denies any manipulation with your luggage. Believe me, she and her colleague had plenty of work with cleaning 38 rooms and in any case there is no time, reason or will to check guest luggage. Despite everything, they were both warned about this situation.
We are really sorry than this situation disturbed your stay in our hotel and we hope that not all was bad here.
I wish you pleasant day

Marcela Marková director hotel Tosca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradčany & Letná
EA Hotel Jeleni dvur
EA Hotel Jeleni dvur
#298 of 646 in Prague
197 reviews
Praha 6
Ramada Airport Hotel Prague
Nové Město (New Town)
EA Embassy Prague Hotel
EA Embassy Prague Hotel
#204 of 646 in Prague
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Město (Old Town)
EA Hotel Royal Esprit
EA Hotel Royal Esprit
#372 of 646 in Prague
255 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
EA Hotel Sonata
EA Hotel Sonata
#304 of 646 in Prague
403 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
EA Hotel Crystal Palace
EA Hotel Crystal Palace
#343 of 646 in Prague
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EA Hotel Tosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EA Hotel Tosca

Address: Blanicka 718/10, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Prague
#184 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $69 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — EA Hotel Tosca 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your EA Hotel Tosca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tosca Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing