We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally OK, but not the cleanest hotel in the world...”
Review of Hotel Dalimil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dalimil
Ranked #264 of 649 Hotels in Prague
UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Generally OK, but not the cleanest hotel in the world...”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Fortunately we had no bed bug experiences as others have had in the past...perhaps because we had a room with quite new foam mattresses.

The room was a decent size, but was never cleaned properly during our six might stay. The furniture was very dusty when we arrived and pretty much stayed that way. The bathroom was OK on the whole, with the exception of the toilet, which stank of stale urine. We had to keep the toilet lid closed at all times until I had the idea of spraying some aftershave into it.

The staff were quite helpful at the main desk. The food for breakfast was pretty decent.

One unfortunate thing was that my wife's gold necklace and pendant went 'missing' during our stay. We only noticed when we got home and she was unpacking her things.

We quite liked the area, but it was a good 20 minute walk from the main centre of Prague. There was a good bar nearby though, Planeta, which served very good food and beer.

I wouldn't stay there again, but it wasn't a disaster.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mycatangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    93
    40
    14
    16
See reviews for
38
87
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed with a group of friends in this hotel and we found it clean, comfortable and quiet. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and a great way to start the day. There is a tram stop only a short work away and the main station (Praha Hlavni Nadrazi) is only about a 10 minute walk. The hotel also offered free wifi in the lobby.

As a side note, I am disappointed with the comments from other travellers in regards to the breakfast. If you had any prior knowledge to Eastern Europe, you would know very well that the breakfast offered is quite traditional. Vegetables and fruits are not commonly eaten.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindy2171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Take inside shoes with you. The carpet in our room was very dirty. They need to change them. Also the chairs in the room was dirty. They wanted deposit for the room, if you make damage they take the deposit. Have never given deposit on other hotels. The men in the reception was very good and nice. The lady was not so nice. Good thing was that they gave us clean towels every day. Very easy to hear the people in the stairs thru the door. People noice to 4 o'clock in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweden12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericia, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Since the first day we arrived the staff was rude and arrogant and almost didn't speak/understood english at all.
Everytime we ask some questions we just an angry face looking at us like saying "what do you want from me".
The breakfast was awful. I rather eat dog food. Dry bread and not fresh food at all. Coffe and cake taste very bad.

About the room nothing at all like the picture we saw. The carpet was dirty and old. The bathroom and towels were clean enough.

The hotels location was so depressing very bad neiborghood

I will never recommend this hotel to anybody

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bialystok, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The Hotel is situated on interesting quartet of Prague (it is very near located to fine museum – Army Museum Zizkov) and also is relatively near to historical parts of Prague. The hotel has good communications with center of city. The rooms are very good for rest and dream after making trip. The beds are comfortable, equipment of room is adequate and what is very important – the bathroom is very clean. The breakfast is served very well. Food is various and tasty.
The staff of hotel is very professional and pleasant.
Great experience overall, we would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debia89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Advantages:
1. Location. Although not in the heart of the city but you can reach transport on foot - 5 min to tram (as you may know trams in Prague are perfect means of getting around), 10 min to bus station (Florence), 15 min to railway station (Hlavny Nadrazy). We walked down to Staromestska square etc but it took time. And Zizkov (reads "zhizhkov" - name of the area) has it's own nice places to see.
The place is quiet, from the windows of restaurant you can see St. Prokop church, back windows look on Vitkov hill and nice yard
2. Good price
3. Very clean!
4. Nice personnel - feels like at home:)

Minor disadvantages
1. Breakfast is (IMHO) standard one for *** hotels in Europe. But it lacks a bit vegetables and fruits
2. You can get free WiFi but only on reception and every time you have to ask new login and password

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergey_Marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I´d like to write thank you to hotel Dalimil. I promised, I will write this review, but I was in a hurry, so sorry :) (my friend will write review later)
I was very satisfied with location, it is very easy when you want go to the city centre.
I´d like to write thank you to Dominica, she helped us with luggage, tranfer and everything. I read the last review and I have to uproot the part about frowned girl. I saw 2 females in hotel and I cant tell, that they could be angry. Maybe you can write me, I am not Russian turist, but I saw how they spoke with others (Russians).
Dominica recommended me visite to ZOO and Aquapark, I was surprised how it was nice :) but the weather was problem :( I was also in historical centre, Prague is very nice city. I want to return to Prague !!! :(((
That´s right I´d prefer dinner in hotel restaurant, but I comprehend why it doesnt work. The breakfast was fantastic.
I have just 1 bad experience :( there was very cold, in the room and also in restaurant. The receptionist tried to help me, but it wasnt enough :(( but Dalimil is very good for spring, summer and autumn :)
I missed wifi, but when I saw the beautiful Prague, I forgot for it, I spent my time out.

I think, I will stay in this hotel when I come to Prague, the price was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blending_dark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Golden City - Garni
Golden City - Garni
#248 of 649 in Prague
382 reviews
Praha 3
Bily Lev
Bily Lev
#289 of 649 in Prague
238 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#359 of 649 in Prague
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
City Partner Hotel Gloria
City Partner Hotel Gloria
#356 of 649 in Prague
433 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Marketa
Hotel Marketa
#357 of 649 in Prague
114 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Otakar
Hotel Otakar
#493 of 649 in Prague
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dalimil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dalimil

Property: Hotel Dalimil
Address: Prokopovo Namesti 2-3, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#190 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dalimil 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dalimil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalimil Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing