We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ito12018
New York City, New York

Two day jaunt to Prague

Review of Domus Balthasar
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 25, 2019via mobile
Domus Bakthasar was lovely. Right near CHARLES bridge, yet very quiet at night. Much larger room than I imagined. Included fridge, Microwave and even a range + huge bathroom with fantastic tub. Very good service. My only complaint was the breakfast cafe, as the choices were all American, and when abroad, I prefer to eat local types of food.
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GlobRes_22154, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this review
Responded Jul 31, 2019
Dear ito12018,
Thank you for your kind feedback. It´s exactly as you´ve said – we are in the hearth of Prague in the most amazing district, but the thick stone walls and double windows makes the rooms quiet. Bagel cafe, which is not part of our hotel, is an american bistro, therefore they serve american food. We hope that you´ve enjoyed your stay here with us anyway. Wish you a nice rest of summer, best regards of Prague.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$157
  • Expedia.com
    C$167
  • Vio.com
    C$138
  • Hotels.com
    C$147
0.0 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$272
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$231
  • Hotels.com
    C$272
  • Priceline
    C$248
1.5 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
C$167
  • Expedia.com
    C$134
  • Vio.com
    C$130
  • Hotels.com
    C$145
1.4 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$182
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$152
  • Vio.com
    C$150
  • Hotel Website
    C$209
0.9 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$324
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    C$324
  • Vio.com
    C$262
  • Expedia.com
    C$320
1.7 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$146
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$146
  • Lol.travel
    C$116
  • Hotels.com
    C$146
1.8 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
C$125
  • ibis
    C$125
  • Algotels
    C$122
  • Expedia.com
    C$125
1.8 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$126
C$97
  • Expedia.com
    C$97
  • Vio.com
    C$104
  • Agoda.com
    C$106
5.1 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$48
  • Priceline
    C$47
  • Vio.com
    C$35
  • StayForLong
    C$64
6.7 km from Domus Balthasar
Free parking
View more hotels in Prague
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
419
130
6
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
419
130
6
7
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 563 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2019 via mobile

Our stay was short, only three days, but we have greatly enjoyed. The hotel is a veritable jewel, large room, very clean with amazing staff friendly and helpful. It is an old house without elevator and with screeching floor but these are no issues and they add to the overall aesthetics. Very happy with our choice, we will definitely come again!
Thank you!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 821serbanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GlobRes_22154, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Dear 821serbanp,
Thank you so much for your nice words about our hotel and staff. It´s always an honor to know, that our service made your stay in our beautiful Prague city even better. =) We are really sorry about the absence of elevator nd AC, but it´s the price we must pay for such an amazing location and building. Looking forward to seeing you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2019

We had a wonderful stay at the Balthasar--incredible location, beautiful room and a great price. We chose one of the attic rooms, in part because they were advertised to have air conditioning—which proved a good choice as we arrived in the middle of a heat wave! We loved the attic for other reasons as well: it was quiet, peaceful and felt like our own little retreat in the bustle of the city. It *is* up a lot of stairs and the hotel (which dates from the 16th century!) has no elevator, so it might not be the best choice for people with significant mobility issues. Otherwise, it was absolutely perfect. 10/10 would stay again.

Room tip: Get a room on the top floor if you want to have AC!
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bennettabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Dear Bennett,
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to hear, that you´ve enjoyed your stay in Prague, despite terrible heat waves. =) We are glad to see, that our newly installed AC units in the Attic rooms are serving their purpose just fine! It was a pleasure to meet you, hope we´ll see you in Prague again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2019

We were told that the second bed there we requested for our don was broken and we would have to wait one for one from another hotel. In addition only one fan was available according to the people at the front desk. The one fan that we had in our room did not rotate. The windows were not accessible because they have been blocked off by a large desk that brand of the length of the wall clearly intending to block access, therefore fresh air was not a possibility. The shower situation was ridiculously designed in that if you used it you were left with a virtual swap. The two chairs that were in the room were covered with stains which is just gross!

Room tip: Gasping for air!
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2019

Dear Cheryl,


thank you for your feedback, which can help us to improve some of our services.
It´s a pity you did not tell us all your complains during your stay. The only thing you mentioned at the check-out was absence of A/C. The hotel is situated in a preserved historical house within UNESCO town preserve; due to this fact the house unfortunately does not have a lift or A/C. We have tried several times to get permission to install A/C units, but we were not allowed to.


The extra bed was broken by guests, who stayed in the room before you as well as they made the stains on the chairs, which chambermaids tried to clean but we had to call a professional company to clean it.
Nevertheless, after I checked you in and informed you about the extra bed complication, i personally prepared the new extra bed for you within 30 minutes.
It is not true there was only one fan in your room. My colleague Pavel put the second one to your room, so you had two fans during your whole stay. Anyway, We have decided, to have always 2 fans in Family Suites, during the summer.


The windows in living room are easy to open to get some fresh air in whole room, since the windows are quite large. We are always ready to help our guests with any difficulties they might have. Of course in case they inform us about them.
I still hope this little discomfort did not ruin your stay in Prague.


Clearly we can not meet the needs of everyone, still we are trying to be better and better every day. Maybe we can prove it during your next visit and show we are worth for more then just 2 stars.


Please say hi to Benjamin and have a nice summer.,

Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2019 via mobile

We have just arrived home from our first ever visit to Prague. We stayed at the Domus Balthasar Hotel and absolutely loved it. It was a special celebration for my daughter's 18th birthday and the end of her A level exams. The hotel is in a perfect location in a quiet part of Prague, with the Charles Bridge literally steps away. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the room in the attic was perfect..clean and spacious. Air conditioning kept the room cool during very high temperatures.
I could not fault the hotel in any way..and i am fussy!
Thank you so much for a wonderful staff..we will definitely be back again.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Dear Heather.
Thank you for your heart-warming review. As you´ve mentioned, our location on so called Kings road is just perfect, few steps from Charles bridge, 10 minutes walking from Prague castle, all the old Prague reachable by walk in a matter of minutes, which makes our house a perfect destination for exploring the city! =) But because we know, that only a perfect location is not enough, we do our best for our guests, so they can feel here as at home! We are truly happy to know, that you were satisfied with our services and we are looking forward to meeting you in Prague and in our hotel again soon! =)
P.S. Congratulations to your daughter once again for passing her final exams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2019

Really nice fresh design. Large rooms and nice and large bathrooms. Cozy bed. Thick walls. Once you shut the windows the rooms goes quite. Freindly staff. Central location - can walk to everything in town. Recommend seeing the castle and going up in the clock tower. La Finestra Cucina had great food.
Heads up: no lift/stairs only and no AC - July and August might be hot in the rooms. Was fine in June at night.

Room tip: Rec 2nd or 3rd floor (top floor is big walk up) and lower flower might hear noise.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristinaNYC1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Dear Christina,
thank you very much for your nice words obout our hotel and services. We are happy to know, that you´ve enjoyed your stay in Prague. We beg for understanding that since we are in UNESCO preserved building, we cannot get a permission to install elevator or AC units because its negative impact on buildings look. On the other hand, we have the best possible location to explore city from. =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews