We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kazbasha
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Amazing location and service.

Review of Domus Balthasar
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 10, 2019via mobile
A quaint boutique hotel in an incredible location 10 seconds from Charles Bridge. The staff were very helpful and made our stay very nice. The room was big and the bathroom was modern. Note there is no AC or elevator as it is a historical building but the staff helped us by providing a fan.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this review
Responded Aug 13, 2019
Dear Kazbasha,

Thank you for such a nice words about our services, staff and for understanding of elevator and AC absence. We are glad, that you´ve enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our location, which is, as you´ve mentioned, really amazing. Looking forward to seeing you in our hotel during your next Prague visit.


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$134
  • Expedia.com
    C$146
  • Hotels.com
    C$129
  • Vio.com
    C$146
0.0 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$274
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$250
  • Vio.com
    C$239
  • Expedia.com
    C$249
1.5 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
C$145
  • Priceline
    C$131
  • Vio.com
    C$127
  • Expedia.com
    C$144
1.4 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$183
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$161
  • Lol.travel
    C$159
  • Hotel Website
    C$211
0.9 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$145
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$160
  • Agoda.com
    C$130
  • Hotels.com
    C$160
1.8 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$108
  • Expedia.com
    C$132
  • Agoda.com
    C$98
  • Priceline
    C$122
2.3 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$97
  • Vio.com
    C$104
  • Expedia.com
    C$95
  • Trip.com
    C$113
5.1 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$53
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$48
  • Vio.com
    C$46
  • StayForLong
    C$65
6.7 km from Domus Balthasar
Free parking
View more hotels in Prague
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
419
130
6
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
419
130
6
7
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 563 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

Hard to find from the street but a really characteristic little boutique hotel at a great price in the centre of old town Prague. Enjoyed a short stay there and the friendly staff. Only a few rooms and LOT of stairs to get to the attic room we stayed in but more than worth the effort.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Clownbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PavelV406, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Dea Guest. Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. We are really happy to know, that you were satisfied with our services and staff. It was pleasure to meet you and we hope to host you again soon! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2019 via mobile

Domus Bakthasar was lovely. Right near CHARLES bridge, yet very quiet at night. Much larger room than I imagined. Included fridge, Microwave and even a range + huge bathroom with fantastic tub. Very good service. My only complaint was the breakfast cafe, as the choices were all American, and when abroad, I prefer to eat local types of food.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ito12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GlobRes_22154, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Dear ito12018,
Thank you for your kind feedback. It´s exactly as you´ve said – we are in the hearth of Prague in the most amazing district, but the thick stone walls and double windows makes the rooms quiet. Bagel cafe, which is not part of our hotel, is an american bistro, therefore they serve american food. We hope that you´ve enjoyed your stay here with us anyway. Wish you a nice rest of summer, best regards of Prague.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2019 via mobile

Our stay was short, only three days, but we have greatly enjoyed. The hotel is a veritable jewel, large room, very clean with amazing staff friendly and helpful. It is an old house without elevator and with screeching floor but these are no issues and they add to the overall aesthetics. Very happy with our choice, we will definitely come again!
Thank you!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 821serbanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GlobRes_22154, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Dear 821serbanp,
Thank you so much for your nice words about our hotel and staff. It´s always an honor to know, that our service made your stay in our beautiful Prague city even better. =) We are really sorry about the absence of elevator nd AC, but it´s the price we must pay for such an amazing location and building. Looking forward to seeing you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2019

We had a wonderful stay at the Balthasar--incredible location, beautiful room and a great price. We chose one of the attic rooms, in part because they were advertised to have air conditioning—which proved a good choice as we arrived in the middle of a heat wave! We loved the attic for other reasons as well: it was quiet, peaceful and felt like our own little retreat in the bustle of the city. It *is* up a lot of stairs and the hotel (which dates from the 16th century!) has no elevator, so it might not be the best choice for people with significant mobility issues. Otherwise, it was absolutely perfect. 10/10 would stay again.

Room tip: Get a room on the top floor if you want to have AC!
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bennettabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Dear Bennett,
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to hear, that you´ve enjoyed your stay in Prague, despite terrible heat waves. =) We are glad to see, that our newly installed AC units in the Attic rooms are serving their purpose just fine! It was a pleasure to meet you, hope we´ll see you in Prague again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2019

We were told that the second bed there we requested for our don was broken and we would have to wait one for one from another hotel. In addition only one fan was available according to the people at the front desk. The one fan that we had in our room did not rotate. The windows were not accessible because they have been blocked off by a large desk that brand of the length of the wall clearly intending to block access, therefore fresh air was not a possibility. The shower situation was ridiculously designed in that if you used it you were left with a virtual swap. The two chairs that were in the room were covered with stains which is just gross!

Room tip: Gasping for air!
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2019

Dear Cheryl,


thank you for your feedback, which can help us to improve some of our services.
It´s a pity you did not tell us all your complains during your stay. The only thing you mentioned at the check-out was absence of A/C. The hotel is situated in a preserved historical house within UNESCO town preserve; due to this fact the house unfortunately does not have a lift or A/C. We have tried several times to get permission to install A/C units, but we were not allowed to.


The extra bed was broken by guests, who stayed in the room before you as well as they made the stains on the chairs, which chambermaids tried to clean but we had to call a professional company to clean it.
Nevertheless, after I checked you in and informed you about the extra bed complication, i personally prepared the new extra bed for you within 30 minutes.
It is not true there was only one fan in your room. My colleague Pavel put the second one to your room, so you had two fans during your whole stay. Anyway, We have decided, to have always 2 fans in Family Suites, during the summer.


The windows in living room are easy to open to get some fresh air in whole room, since the windows are quite large. We are always ready to help our guests with any difficulties they might have. Of course in case they inform us about them.
I still hope this little discomfort did not ruin your stay in Prague.


Clearly we can not meet the needs of everyone, still we are trying to be better and better every day. Maybe we can prove it during your next visit and show we are worth for more then just 2 stars.


Please say hi to Benjamin and have a nice summer.,

Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews