We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dennis R
Knoxville, Tennessee

The staff makes the difference at the Domus Balthasar

Review of Domus Balthasar
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 7, 2019
My family visited Prague in late September and, between the six of us, acquired four rooms for eight nights. My wife and I stayed in a deluxe double which was quite large with plenty of room even with a very comfortable king bed. The only drawback to the room was that it was fronting a street and could be noisy if you opened the window. The other three rooms that members of our party stayed in were on the back side of the hotel and did not have any problem with the street noise.

Overall, we had a very positive experience staying here due to the excellent and friendly service of the hotel staff. Wether it was Jan, Nelya, or Tereza, at the front desk, they were ready, at a moment’s notice, to answer any question, give insightful advice, and arrange for reservations to dinner or other events. The other staff member that excelled was the hotel driver, Milan. His ability to maneuver through the streets of Prague was uncanny and his insight of the Czech culture was immeasurably helpful. He’s the kind of person you hope to meet while in a foreign country and one who represents his city and country in the most positive manner. All four were truly outstanding at their job and made our stay in Prague a very memorable one.
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, reception at Domus Balthasar, responded to this review
Responded Oct 23, 2019
Dear Dennis,

thank you so much for heartwarming words about our hotel and staff, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! :-)

Deluxe room is facing to the main street Mostecka with beautiful view over the tower of The Charles Bridge, which is very busy during the main seasons. However we have double windows to keep the noise from the street on the minimum. :-)

Many thanks for your praises on staff Jan. Nelya, Tereza and Milan! :-) We all send warm greetings!

Hope to see you again soon at Hidden Places! :-)

Warm regards,

Jan
Domus Balthasar team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$130
  • Hotels.com
    C$129
  • Vio.com
    C$122
  • Expedia.com
    C$146
0.0 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$274
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$274
  • Expedia.com
    C$235
  • Vio.com
    C$239
1.5 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
C$145
  • Expedia.com
    C$147
  • Vio.com
    C$127
  • Hotels.com
    C$156
1.4 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$187
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
    C$210
  • Lol.travel
    C$159
  • Priceline
    C$161
0.9 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$249
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    C$290
  • Vio.com
    C$233
  • Expedia.com
    C$288
1.7 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$141
  • Expedia.com
    C$160
  • Vio.com
    C$125
  • Hotels.com
    C$160
1.8 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$109
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$132
  • Agoda.com
    C$95
  • Hotels.com
    C$132
2.3 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
C$102
  • ibis
    C$102
  • Algotels
    C$100
  • Priceline
    C$102
1.8 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$97
  • Expedia.com
    C$97
  • Hotels.com
    C$92
  • Trip.com
    C$113
5.1 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$53
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
    C$65
  • Vio.com
    C$36
  • Priceline
    C$48
6.7 km from Domus Balthasar
Free parking
View more hotels in Prague
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
419
130
6
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
419
130
6
7
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 563 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Wonderful little hotel with beautiful design! Very friendly staff - we requested an early check-in and transfer by email - they answered right away, the driver met us at the airport and at 7 a.m. we were already settled! The room is spacious, clean, the bed is large and comfortable. After leaving, we left luggage at the reception until the evening. I would like to thank the hotel team for their professionalism and attention.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SvitlanaVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, reception at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Dear Svitlana,

thank you very much for your kind review. As we are trying to do our best to meet all of our guests wishes and needs it is trully nice to hear that we made your stay pleasant. :)

We are all hoping to see you very soon back at Domus Balthasar!

Warm regards,

Tereza
Domus Balthasar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Perfect location, staff incredible helpful and caring.
Be aware no A/C,weather was perfect for us while we visited,so I do not know during summer
Huge room,lovingly decorated
Breakfast not really so good,but cheap.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 326pabloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, reception at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Dear Pablo,

It was an honor to host you under Domus Balthasar´s roof and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! :-)

The hotel is situated in a preserved historical house within UNESCO town preserve; due to this fact the house unfortunately does not have a lift or A/C. Rooms are equipped with fans to cool down during the summer. :-)

We are currently now working on new concept of breakfast. It will be prefect!

Hope to see you again soon at Domus Balthasar.

Warm regards

John
Domus Balthasar team

PS: I hope you enjoyed Svickova in Local! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2019

We stayed in the large double room for 3 nights. The room was beautiful and really spacious and tastefully decorated. It was on a corner and had huge windows all round so was light and sunny.
The bed was extra large and really comfortable, the bathroom was also a good size with separate shower and extra large bath.Another very large window giving lots of light. The water was always hot and towels changed everyday. Everywhere was beautifully clean.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and spoke good English.
It was in a fantastic location, just at the end of the Charles Bridge. There were lots of bars, restaurants and shops in the area and we were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to go.
We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGELA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, reception at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Dear Angela,

many thanks for such a nice and detailed review. We really appreciate it!

We are trying our best to make our guests happy, so it is always motivating to read words like yours.

Location of our hotel is perfect for exploring the new city. As you already mentioned we are situated only few steps from The Charles Bridge so everything is within the walking distance. Your spent your time with us in one of our finest rooms - DeLuxe, with nice view over the tower of The Charles Bridge and we are glad you liked it! :-) ( It is my favorite room too!)

We are looking forward to your next stay at Domus Balthsar!

Warm regards,

John
Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2019

A unique designer hotel situated right in the mixer. We loved stepping into the room and opening the huge French colonial windows right out onto the famous Charles bridge in Prague. It’s a smaller boutique hotel with only 8 rooms but the rooms are lovely with great floor to ceiling height.

Just to note there are no elevators in this hotel and no air con so we had the fan on to cool down during summer. Really nice receptionist that showed us all the great places to visit. We couldn’t resist waking up for sunrise and taking advantage of heading over to Charles bridge in the early morning before the crowds of tourists.

Room tip: our room has a view of the Charles Bridge.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sougood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Public Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Dear Vienna,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. To get this kind of recognition from people, who travelled all over the world is the best motivation for our team to keep doing their best for all of our guests. 😊 Wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

A quaint boutique hotel in an incredible location 10 seconds from Charles Bridge. The staff were very helpful and made our stay very nice. The room was big and the bathroom was modern. Note there is no AC or elevator as it is a historical building but the staff helped us by providing a fan.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kazbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Dear Kazbasha,

Thank you for such a nice words about our services, staff and for understanding of elevator and AC absence. We are glad, that you´ve enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our location, which is, as you´ve mentioned, really amazing. Looking forward to seeing you in our hotel during your next Prague visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews