We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
helz852
Hong Kong, China

A lovely hotel in a perfect location

Review of Domus Balthasar
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 17, 2019
We had a wonderful stay at the Domus Balthasar. Check in was friendly and efficient, the receptionist had a wealth of information and tips about Prague. We were very pleasantly surprised by the room. We had been expecting something relatively small as it's only a small hotel, but it was huge, taking up a whole corner of the building. The bed was super comfortable with lots of pillows, there was plenty of space to move around and a large bathroom with a large bath and shower. The only downside was the water leaked through the shower door. The highlight was the heated bathroom floors. What we most enjoyed was the location, just steps from Charles Bridgeand a short walk up hill to the castle.We would definitely stay here again.
Date of stay: December 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PavelV406, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this review
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Dear Helz852,

thank you very much for your lovely review of our hotel. You´re just right about everything - our location is just perfect for exploring the city, our rooms are really spacious with touch of medieval history and our staff does everything in their powers to help our guests with everything they may need. :)
Thank you once again on behalf of all our team members and I am looking forward to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$180
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$216
C$194
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
C$122
C$119
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
5.1 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$379
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$86
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$256
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$121
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$115
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$114
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$51
  • Booking.com
6.7 km from Domus Balthasar
Free parking
View more hotels in Prague
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
419
130
6
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
419
130
6
7
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 563 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2019

We were warmly greeted at the airport by Milan the driver. Our journey was less than 30 minutes. Our hotel room was huge, with a large sitting area before the huge bedroom. With one of the largest bathrooms we’ve ever had. Flat screen tv, huge bed with hundreds of pillows and a rapid central heating system. High ceilings and laminated floors. Our room was cleaned every day to a high standard.
The location of the hotel is excellent, just before the Charles Bridge & a short uphill walk to the castle. Plenty of cafes, restaurants & bars outside. Spoilt for choice.
When we return to Prague, we will definitely consider the Dolmus.

Room tip: The stairs are heavy going.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TheBigfella601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PavelV406, Front Office Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2019

Dear BigFella. :)

thank you so much for your kind words, it is really a pleasure to know, that you were satisfied with our services.Milan was delighted to hear your praise, same as our chambermaids. It is the best motivation for all our staff members.

Location of our hotel is perfect - few steps from Charles Bridge, 10 minutes walking to Prague castle and 15 minutes to Old Town, makes our hotel great choice for exploring the city.

We all hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards.

Pavel
DOMUS BALTHASAR Team





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2019

My family visited Prague in late September and, between the six of us, acquired four rooms for eight nights. My wife and I stayed in a deluxe double which was quite large with plenty of room even with a very comfortable king bed. The only drawback to the room was that it was fronting a street and could be noisy if you opened the window. The other three rooms that members of our party stayed in were on the back side of the hotel and did not have any problem with the street noise.

Overall, we had a very positive experience staying here due to the excellent and friendly service of the hotel staff. Wether it was Jan, Nelya, or Tereza, at the front desk, they were ready, at a moment’s notice, to answer any question, give insightful advice, and arrange for reservations to dinner or other events. The other staff member that excelled was the hotel driver, Milan. His ability to maneuver through the streets of Prague was uncanny and his insight of the Czech culture was immeasurably helpful. He’s the kind of person you hope to meet while in a foreign country and one who represents his city and country in the most positive manner. All four were truly outstanding at their job and made our stay in Prague a very memorable one.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, reception at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Dear Dennis,

thank you so much for heartwarming words about our hotel and staff, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! :-)

Deluxe room is facing to the main street Mostecka with beautiful view over the tower of The Charles Bridge, which is very busy during the main seasons. However we have double windows to keep the noise from the street on the minimum. :-)

Many thanks for your praises on staff Jan. Nelya, Tereza and Milan! :-) We all send warm greetings!

Hope to see you again soon at Hidden Places! :-)

Warm regards,

Jan
Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Wonderful little hotel with beautiful design! Very friendly staff - we requested an early check-in and transfer by email - they answered right away, the driver met us at the airport and at 7 a.m. we were already settled! The room is spacious, clean, the bed is large and comfortable. After leaving, we left luggage at the reception until the evening. I would like to thank the hotel team for their professionalism and attention.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SvitlanaVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, reception at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Dear Svitlana,

thank you very much for your kind review. As we are trying to do our best to meet all of our guests wishes and needs it is trully nice to hear that we made your stay pleasant. :)

We are all hoping to see you very soon back at Domus Balthasar!

Warm regards,

Tereza
Domus Balthasar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Perfect location, staff incredible helpful and caring.
Be aware no A/C,weather was perfect for us while we visited,so I do not know during summer
Huge room,lovingly decorated
Breakfast not really so good,but cheap.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 326pabloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, reception at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Dear Pablo,

It was an honor to host you under Domus Balthasar´s roof and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! :-)

The hotel is situated in a preserved historical house within UNESCO town preserve; due to this fact the house unfortunately does not have a lift or A/C. Rooms are equipped with fans to cool down during the summer. :-)

We are currently now working on new concept of breakfast. It will be prefect!

Hope to see you again soon at Domus Balthasar.

Warm regards

John
Domus Balthasar team

PS: I hope you enjoyed Svickova in Local! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2019

We stayed in the large double room for 3 nights. The room was beautiful and really spacious and tastefully decorated. It was on a corner and had huge windows all round so was light and sunny.
The bed was extra large and really comfortable, the bathroom was also a good size with separate shower and extra large bath.Another very large window giving lots of light. The water was always hot and towels changed everyday. Everywhere was beautifully clean.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and spoke good English.
It was in a fantastic location, just at the end of the Charles Bridge. There were lots of bars, restaurants and shops in the area and we were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to go.
We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGELA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, reception at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Dear Angela,

many thanks for such a nice and detailed review. We really appreciate it!

We are trying our best to make our guests happy, so it is always motivating to read words like yours.

Location of our hotel is perfect for exploring the new city. As you already mentioned we are situated only few steps from The Charles Bridge so everything is within the walking distance. Your spent your time with us in one of our finest rooms - DeLuxe, with nice view over the tower of The Charles Bridge and we are glad you liked it! :-) ( It is my favorite room too!)

We are looking forward to your next stay at Domus Balthsar!

Warm regards,

John
Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews