We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
AmyJC985
Manchester, United Kingdom

Fantastic hotel - perfect stay

Review of Domus Balthasar
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 12, 2020
Staying at the Domus Bathazar made our stay in Prague even more enjoyable than we expected it would be. This is a lovely little boutique hotel (dating back to the 16th century) with just 8 rooms. There is no lift in this hotel but unless you have mobility issues this shouldn't be a problem at all.

We were in a beautiful deluxe double room with a view of the Charles Bridge. The room had 5 huge windows which I loved, a bed that was bigger than a double, a reasonably priced mini bar, and robes in the bathroom.

All staff we spoke with are a credit to this hotel, so friendly and helpful. Pavel gave us a map when we arrived and helped us with all our queries about Prague. On our last day we had to check out at 11am but our flight wasn't until 9pm. Unfortunately on this day the rain was relentless, but staff were happy to mind our luggage for the day and lend us a big umbrella to take out with us. Not only that, they let us have a room for a couple of hours when we came back so we could change into dry clothes etc. before our flight. It is these kind little touches that make such a difference.

Also have to mention Milan, the driver who picked us up from the airport and took us back, which the hotel immediately arranged for us on request for 24 euros each way. Milan is also a credit to the hotel and was friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

Thanks to all at Domus Balthazar, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again should I visit Prague a second time!.
Date of stay: March 2020
Room Tip: Room 3 (deluxe double) had view of Charles Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, General Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this review
Responded Jul 31, 2020
Dear Amy,

many thanks for your detailed and heart-warming review of our hotel! We really appreciate it especially during this hard times!

We are trying our best to make your stay unforgattable and individual approach to guest is our priorty. Pavel and Milan thank for the praies and say Hi!

We are looking forward to seeing you again under Balthasar´s roof soon!

Kind regards,

Domus Balthasar team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$291
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$291
  • Agoda.com
    C$237
  • Expedia.com
    C$267
1.5 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Booking.com
C$261
  • Expedia.com
    C$261
  • Vio.com
    C$231
  • Hotels.com
    C$261
1.1 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
C$181
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
    C$248
  • Vio.com
    C$154
  • Priceline
    C$163
0.9 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Booking.com
C$434
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$455
  • Vio.com
    C$393
  • Trip.com
    C$393
0.6 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$199
  • Official Hotel
    C$200
  • Lol.travel
    C$152
  • Expedia.com
    C$199
1.9 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$145
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$145
  • Agoda.com
    C$117
  • Hotels.com
    C$145
1.8 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$150
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$150
  • Agoda.com
    C$101
  • Expedia.com
    C$150
2.3 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$329
  • Hotels.com
    C$300
  • Agoda.com
    C$283
  • Expedia.com
    C$300
0.1 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$112
C$106
  • Vio.com
    C$106
  • Expedia.com
    C$112
  • Hotels.com
    C$112
5.1 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$538
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    C$509
  • Vio.com
    C$451
  • Expedia.com
    C$531
1.7 km from Domus Balthasar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Prague
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
419
130
6
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
419
130
6
7
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 563 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in the attic room, which is so cozy, clean and complete with all services (mini bar, coffee and tea facilities, courtesy set, bathrobes, etc.). Location was perfect (literally two steps away from Charles bridge). And above all the staff was extremely kind and helpful! We would definitely recommend to stay with them!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Benedetta_BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PavelV406, Public Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear BenedettaG90,

thank you so much for your lovely words about our hotel and staff. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Prague with us. :-)

The location is superb, only few step from The Charles Bridge which is right in the heart of Prague. Everything is within the walking distance. :-)

We would be happy if you recommend us to your friends and family!

Hope to see you again at Domus Balthasar!

DOMUS BALTHASAR team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2019 via mobile

Great location and nothing too much trouble for the staff. They arranged airport transfers and helped with baggage. Our room was large and spacious with a very comfortable room. Also recommended a couple of very lovely places for breakfast.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank thellbh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PavelV406, Public Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear thellbh1,

thank you very much for your hearthwarming review of our hotel. It is pleasure to know, that you´ve been satisfied with all our services and we hope, that you´ll stay here with us again during your next stay in Prague :)
Wish you all the best.

DOMUS BALTHASAR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2019

We had a wonderful stay at the Domus Balthasar. Check in was friendly and efficient, the receptionist had a wealth of information and tips about Prague. We were very pleasantly surprised by the room. We had been expecting something relatively small as it's only a small hotel, but it was huge, taking up a whole corner of the building. The bed was super comfortable with lots of pillows, there was plenty of space to move around and a large bathroom with a large bath and shower. The only downside was the water leaked through the shower door. The highlight was the heated bathroom floors. What we most enjoyed was the location, just steps from Charles Bridgeand a short walk up hill to the castle.We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2019
2  Thank helz852
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PavelV406, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear Helz852,

thank you very much for your lovely review of our hotel. You´re just right about everything - our location is just perfect for exploring the city, our rooms are really spacious with touch of medieval history and our staff does everything in their powers to help our guests with everything they may need. :)
Thank you once again on behalf of all our team members and I am looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2019

We were warmly greeted at the airport by Milan the driver. Our journey was less than 30 minutes. Our hotel room was huge, with a large sitting area before the huge bedroom. With one of the largest bathrooms we’ve ever had. Flat screen tv, huge bed with hundreds of pillows and a rapid central heating system. High ceilings and laminated floors. Our room was cleaned every day to a high standard.
The location of the hotel is excellent, just before the Charles Bridge & a short uphill walk to the castle. Plenty of cafes, restaurants & bars outside. Spoilt for choice.
When we return to Prague, we will definitely consider the Dolmus.

Room tip: The stairs are heavy going.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TheBigfella601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PavelV406, Front Office Manager at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2019

Dear BigFella. :)

thank you so much for your kind words, it is really a pleasure to know, that you were satisfied with our services.Milan was delighted to hear your praise, same as our chambermaids. It is the best motivation for all our staff members.

Location of our hotel is perfect - few steps from Charles Bridge, 10 minutes walking to Prague castle and 15 minutes to Old Town, makes our hotel great choice for exploring the city.

We all hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards.

Pavel
DOMUS BALTHASAR Team





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2019

My family visited Prague in late September and, between the six of us, acquired four rooms for eight nights. My wife and I stayed in a deluxe double which was quite large with plenty of room even with a very comfortable king bed. The only drawback to the room was that it was fronting a street and could be noisy if you opened the window. The other three rooms that members of our party stayed in were on the back side of the hotel and did not have any problem with the street noise.

Overall, we had a very positive experience staying here due to the excellent and friendly service of the hotel staff. Wether it was Jan, Nelya, or Tereza, at the front desk, they were ready, at a moment’s notice, to answer any question, give insightful advice, and arrange for reservations to dinner or other events. The other staff member that excelled was the hotel driver, Milan. His ability to maneuver through the streets of Prague was uncanny and his insight of the Czech culture was immeasurably helpful. He’s the kind of person you hope to meet while in a foreign country and one who represents his city and country in the most positive manner. All four were truly outstanding at their job and made our stay in Prague a very memorable one.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiddenPlacesHotels, reception at Domus Balthasar, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Dear Dennis,

thank you so much for heartwarming words about our hotel and staff, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! :-)

Deluxe room is facing to the main street Mostecka with beautiful view over the tower of The Charles Bridge, which is very busy during the main seasons. However we have double windows to keep the noise from the street on the minimum. :-)

Many thanks for your praises on staff Jan. Nelya, Tereza and Milan! :-) We all send warm greetings!

Hope to see you again soon at Hidden Places! :-)

Warm regards,

Jan
Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews