We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel! Good location! Good service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alton
Ranked #242 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel! Good location! Good service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Good 3* hotel!:) Located 20 meters from metro and 5 meters from tram station. Сourteous staff. Standart breakfast with medium quality. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgeni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    115
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
44
64
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

The stay was terrible - in my room there was noise from the outside and the room itself was dirty in spite of my notices. It wold be hard to say the personal was so friendly as written below. Never more shall not go there

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johntailor75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

Nice location close to Wenceslas Square and walking distance to center of old town. The staff was friendly and helpful with restaurant suggestions. The room was clean and large and a good value. We would recommend this to anyone looking for a great value, close to the center of old town.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddolliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and I would come back to it every time. It is located about ten minutes from Wenceslas Square and 2 minutes from the metro station. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. This is a really nice budget hotel to stay in. My only criticism would be that the beds could have better duvets. My friend was with me and she liked this hotel too. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Alton is a very good hotel.
It is easy to find; it is very close to the metro station.
Altough the hotel is close to the center of the city, I wasn't really bothered by noise from outside and found the hotel to be nice and quiet.
The staff is friendly and greets you when you arrive or when you go into the city.
They also sell several items at the reception.

The rooms have everything they should, and they are comfortable, but look a bit dull overall. While you may expect the TV to have mainly Czech channels, the far majority of them actually are from other countries including Italy, Germany and Russia.
The breakfast is good and pretty much of the same level as you would find in a hotel from the mainstream chains.

Overall, this is a very fine hotel.
It isn't the most renewing experience to stay there, but I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VRomeijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We arrived on the 30th, July and left on the 6th, August. The room and the bathroom were large, extremely clean every day, no window view though. Breakfast was very good with various food for all tastes (cornflakes, ham n cheese, marmalade n butter, eggs n sausages, pate, bakeries). The stuff was friendly and extremely helpful. Tram and metro stations were just around the corner . We would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phaedra-Dimitris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

The Alton Hotel was a nice hotel. We stayed in a standard double room, and it was a bit on the small side. But for 2 persons it was ok. Bed was a bit hard, but still we slept fine.The room was clean and the bathroom perfect size and working with no problems. The breakfast buffet was fair but not outstanding. The staff were friendly however one lady at the reception should take some English lessons. The hotel is within walking distance to the main attractions, and the Metro system works perfectly. We stayed at the 5th. floor away from the street, so the room was nice and quiet. I think that the price is right for a good 3 star hotel, and I recommend it to anyone who wants to see Prague in a cheap way but still ok.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toshipia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#139 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Praha 2
Ankora
Ankora
#261 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#258 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#270 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Lunik
Hotel Lunik
#218 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Praha 2
Ambiance Hotel
Ambiance Hotel
#161 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton

Property: Alton
Address: Legerova 62, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#192 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alton 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing