We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for a city break”
Review of Pachtuv Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Pachtuv Palace
Ranked #96 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Fulham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great hotel for a city break”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We booked this hotel on the recomentation of a friend of ours and when we compared it to other options in Prague it was the clear choice for what we wanted to do and our budget. When we arrived we were greeted by the friendly receptionist. We enjoyed a refreshing glass of orange juice and were checked in and were upgraded to a dulex suite from a junior room, the room surpassed our expectations. It had a separate sitting room, with well stocked mini bar, amazing views (from the 3rd floor) overlooking Charles Bridge. The bedroom was maybe a little small but this wasn't really an issue as we did most of our living in the sitting room. It was cleaned to a good standard every day and the bath room was a fair size. It was furnished to a very high standard in a neo-byzantine style. The room had a TV with on demand films which we used every night and a phone. We ordered room service once and it arrived in a timely manner and was very tasty. The staff we friendly and helpful, the location was perfect, being situated between the old and new towns, separated by the bridge

Overall, for us this was an exceptional hotel, priced at the top end for what id normally pay, but given the overall experience, i was more than content with value for money. The facility's were very good, the location was perfect and the staff were fantastic. No complaints, and we would visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonalexander88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    995
    226
    60
    27
    24
See reviews for
187
838
34
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The hotel emailed out some last minute deals and we managed to book a Deluxe Suite with a View of the River and overlooking Charles Bridge, at a greatly reduced rate - this made the stay incredible value for money and we were treated to a stunning Suite with a separate lounge and living area, entrance hall, bedroom with bathroom en suite. Flat screen TVs, DVD in both bedroom and lounge, with a small kitchenette in the lounge area, so all in all, very well equipped.

Prior to our arrival, the hotel's Guest Relations was extremely efficient and accommodating, helping me to book spa treatments in the room as well as champagne on arrival and airport transfers. Everything was arranged perfectly.

Our Suite was massive and very well appointed , overlooking one of Prague's most significant attractions - Charles Bridge. During our 3 day visit to Prague, we were able to explore all the main attractions of Prague on foot from our Hotel front door. Charles Bridge is literally 2 minutes walk away and just over the bridge, you could walk to "Lesser" as well as up to the Palace and surrounding historic landmarks. The Old Town Sq is also less than 10 minutes walk away. The location of the Hotel made this a perfect choice of Hotel, as anything and everything was within walking distance.

Our only negative that left a bad taste for us, was that the "tray charge" for room service breakfast on our 2nd morning, was more than the actual food itself, which made no sense whatsoever! The manner in which the receptionist handled this query at checkout was also not at all graceful and she could have done better to handle this complaint, making us feel quite insignificant. IN general, we found the hotel staff not that friendly, even though I had very good dealings with them over email prior to arrival. They were not very knowledgable in terms of recommending places to dine out and for entertainment. They should definitely make more of an effort to improve their customer service ethic and be more friendly and engaging with their guests...

We did not dine in the Hotel so cannot comment on the F&B quality, but if we were to return to Prague, there is no doubt that we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river and Charles Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheoCromhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetraJanouskovaPP, General Manager at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your stay ay Pachtuv Palace and for your time to share you feedback with us. I am very concerned to read that you found reception staff not very friendly. I am sorry for the way how the issue has been handled and that you did not feel to be treated in right way.
Our main aim is to provide friendly and attentive service to assure that all our guests feel here like at home and leave Prague with only nice memories. I am really sorry that this did not happen in your case. However, I am very pleased to hear that apart of this inconvenience you liked Pachtuv Palace and plan to return in the future.
I will be very happy to welcome you back to prove that our guests are always on the first place here!
With kind regards,
Petra Janouskova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I booked the Pachtuv Palace for my 30th birthday trip the first week of February 2012. I initally booked a deluxe double room but was clearly upgraded upon arrival and stayed in a suite with a view of the river and Prague Castle. I was greeted with a bottle of champagne and a birthday card upon arrival. The rooms are huge with beautiful charm and architectural features. The living room was large enough for a couch, chaise, chair and two dining tables. The rooms were immaculate, beds comforable. My only complaint was that when we checked in we were escorted to an even larger suite but then had to move the next morning as the staff placed us in the wrong room. A bit inconvenient but it ended up being fine as the room I've described above was the upgraded room we were moved to. The staff made us restaurant reservations, arranged for a massage in my room and generally made us feel so welcome. The location is absolutely suberb being close to public transportation and a two minute walk from the Charles Bridge. The Old Town Square and all of it's charm is also a quick walk away. Bellevue, an amazing restaurant and one of Prague's finest, is a stone's throw away - you must try it! I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Prague. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Having read the excellent reviews of this hotel we had very high expectations of this hotel and was overwhelmed with the service we received. From the moment we entered the hotel we were warmly greeted by both receptionist and concierge, we immediately felt relaxed and looked after. The hotel reception is in fact 2 wonderful large old fashioned writing desks and upon being invited to sit down we were then offered a glass of champagne! Our receptionist was not rushed and took her time to receive our details and confirm our reservation. It was a special weekend to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday and they offered us an upgrade as a nice gesture. As we had arrived early the receptionist apologised that the room wouldn't be ready for another hour, she apologised for this and then proceeded to take her time giving us literature about the city and offered suggestions to what we could view whilst visiting the city. She then offered us to leave our bags whilst we went for a look round the area.
When we returned an hour later our concierge Then remembered our names and proceeded to show our room minus the bags. Matthew explained he wanted to be assured we were happy with our room. We were shown up to the 3rd floor to the rear of the property that overlooked the lovely courtyard. He opened the door and we entered into our room that had. Four poster bed with rose petals in a heart shape laying on our bed. Matthew proceeded to showing us the room taking his time explaining all the amenities, when we entered the bathroom there was a lovely bath with rose petals carefully placed around the tub and candles and a box of matches awaiting. We were bowled over at the size and comfort of the room. Matthew then went to collect our luggage. The service was exceptional and it was the little touches that really surpassed. Every evening housekeeping would come and turn the beds down with a chocolate on each pillow. If any towels were used they were replaced with fresh. And the nicest touch was the square piece of muslin placed on either side of the bed just to ensure our feet did not touch the cold floor of a morning. They even gave a daily weather forecast for the coming day in a letter with a suggestion of what to do.
The hotel itself is as pretty as the website suggests and location wise is perfect it overlooks Charles Bridge to it's right with the castle commanding over in the distance.on the edge of the old town it is an easy walk to Wenceslas square and the palace.
To sum up we believe this hotel truly deserves five stars and would be delighted to return one day. Thanks again to all the staff who went above and beyond.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebnPete2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We spent 4 nights at a two bedroom suite (5th floor) at Pachtuv Palace in January 2012. Nice building, fantastic location: stays right on Vltava River embankment, 1 min walk to Charles Bridge (Karlův most), 7 min walk to Old Square (Staroměstské náměstí), etc. Polite and professional personnel, all speak fluent English. Spacious bedrooms, large living room and a kitchen. But that's pretty much it. The wall-mounted heaters did not work, so we were supplied by portable electric heaters. Each bedroom has a bathroom (bathtub + shower), but none of them has a toilet. The toilet is a separate facility next to one of the bedrooms, which is not very convenient. Cleanness of bathtub was not ideal. Electrical system (light switches) is complicated: you never know how to turn on and turn off the exact light. There was no wifi in our room, but the cable internet worked ok. It was allowed to smoke in the room (and we did), but the room is not marked as smoking. So, the next guests, if they do not smoke, will be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank War-chique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were warmly welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine and a short chat from a member of staff about what Prague has to offer at this time of year [January]. We were then taken to our room by a porter who carefully showed us all about the room including the very funky 'kitchenette' with inbuilt coffee making machine. The room had great views across the river to Prague Castle over the Charles Bridge. It was convenient for sight-seeing with only a short walk to the Old Town and across the Charles Bridge to the 'New Town'. The breakfasts were excellent. We did not eat in the Restaurant on an evening but the staff were very willing to provide directions to recommended local restaurants.
Our overall impression was of a clean, comfortable hotel with friendly, knowledgeable staff. We would have no hesitation in returning to that hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view are preferable - although there is a road between the hotel and the river no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppadoc5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I just spent 5 days in Prague. This hotel was clean, the hotel staff was wonderful. They went out of their way recommending places, explaining, getting tickets for the opera and ballet...car service. All the time very respectul and with a smile.

The hotel location is unbeatable, near the Charles Bridge in old town. They also have a great limo service that takes you and picks you up.

I want to thank Jarka who was especially patient and extremely courteous to us. Wendy was also divine. Loved the restaurants she recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magistranadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,050 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Smetana Hotel
Smetana Hotel
#214 of 649 in Prague
98 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 649 in Prague
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachtuv Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachtuv Palace

Property: Pachtuv Palace
Address: Karoliny Svetle 208/34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#83 Family Hotel in Prague
#84 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pachtuv Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pachtuv Palace is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pachtuv Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing