We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt have asked for more!”
Review of Archibald City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Archibald City
Ranked #106 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Couldnt have asked for more!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Visited Prague for 3 nights (28-31 March) with my partner. Booked the Archibald Hotel as was great value for money, if anything, I was a little sceptical as it was so cheap. How wrong we were! The hotel is extremely good value for money, 5 minutes walk to the metro. For a couple who had never been to Prague before, we had no intention of spending much time in the hotel anyway as we were out all day, but it was a very clean pleasant hotel and the reception staff were very polite and friendly. We stayed in room 702, which is a non smoking room on the top floor facing out onto the main road. When i booked the hotel I requested a non smoking, high floor, quiet room and this is exactly what we got! Breakfast was nice and there was so much to choose from. My boyfriend particularly loved the bread rolls with salt crystals on them, which we dont really seem to have here back in the UK. The food was replenished constantly and there was always somewhere to sit.
I was a bit worried when I booked this hotel as people had mentioned that the hotel was in a dodgy area. Yes there are certain shops of a certain nature, but you are only 5-10 min walk from Wenceslas Square where there are many bars, restaurants and pubs to spend your evening and then get the metro back to the hotel. Overall, I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a sightseeing break without breaking the bank! Would definately return!

Room Tip: specify when booking if you want a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laney87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek C, Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Madam,
thank you very much for your wonderful comments, I really appreciate it. I will be very glad to welcome you again in the future at Archibald City.

Kindest Regards
Marek Coufal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    409
    96
    16
    13
See reviews for
103
458
61
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for more than 14 days --- a long stay. This hotel is conveniently located and is within walking distance to Wenceslas Square, Museum metro station and most popular sightseeing spots in the New Town, Old Town and Lesser Town. We found out that from the hotel we walk for just 10 minutes to the main railway station to catch the airport express when we left for Prague Airport! It saves energy to move the luggages down/up the metro station which is in lack of escalators in most metro stations.

Breakfast is included and the supply and refill of food is efficent and excellent, with warm bacon, sauages, scrambled egg, salad, cold ham and cheese, and a wide variety of bread to choose from.

The room (No. 606) we stayed is at the rear of the hotel building (not facing Zitna Road) so is quiet. Very clean and the daily cleaning was excellent. A few 'minor' negatives though: (1) pillows too soft and flat, better two piled together; (2) the bath lotion (a small pack) is not enough; (3) the bathtub bench is a bit high and there is no anti-slippery facilities; (4) Wifi was weak in some spots inside the room, but strong in the corridor; (5) The central controlled room temperature could not be adjusted to the desired degree.

Despite all these 'minor' comments, we enjoyed very much and the hotel staff including the maid servants are very frienldy and helpful. Highy recommend this hotel and will definitely return when we go to Prague again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek C, Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,
thank you for your stay at Archibald City and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was delighted to read your very kind comments and I am very pleased you had a nice stay. I will be proud to share your comments with the entire hotel team. Acknowledgements such as yours are of great motivation to the team.

Sincerely
Marek Coufal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel was very pleasant and friendly during our 4 days visit to Prague in March 2012. The facilities were clean and more than adequate. For the overall cost, which included breakfast, it was excellent value. The hotel is outside the main central tourist area and definately not in the prettiest area, but this only takes about 15 mins to walk to the centre and Wenceslas Square, which is the main retail area and one of the main tourist hotspots is about 5 min walk away. I would happily stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek C, Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your positive feedback. I am more than happy to read you enjoyed your stay and that you would like to stay with us again. It helps us a lot in maintaining and enhancing the level of service we provide at the Archibald City hotel.

Sincerely
Marek Coufal - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights this month. Hotel is not far from the airport and a short walk to Wenceslas Square. It was clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast is also included in the price so all round good for the money. Would have to agree with one of the other reviews about the shortcut from the hotel to the square, we did on occasions of an evening take the long route as this street is slightly undesirable after a certain hour. However this wouldn't put me off using this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek C, Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Sarah,
I would like to thank you for such positive review. It gives a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back at the Archibald City soon.

Sincerely
Marek Coufal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights b&b, booked through Trivago at an excellent rate. Very clean throughout, staff helpful and ample choice at breakfast of hot or cold buffet!
Easy to find........from the airport take bus 119 to the underground,travel on the A line, get off the metro at the Muzeum and then walk about 10 mins to the hotel.It's a busy road but our room was at the rear so traffic wasn't a problem.
Situated less than a 10 minute walk from Wenceslas Square!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek C, Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Twinnie 1,

thank you for taking time to share your experience of your recent stay at the hotel Archibald City. I was pleased reading through your comment that our facilities and service provided met your expectations.
I hope we will have opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards from Prague.

Marek Coufal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed in the hotel last November (2011) and overall enjoyed it. The hotel is nice, clean, rooms are adequate and it was good value for the money.

However, on the downside the location is bad. Not the hotels fault, it is indeed one street from the very center, however this one street is just nasty. Dirty, a lot of sex shops, peep shows and its customers, drug dealers (we were offered almost every kind of drug) well, not a place to be during the evening and absolutelly no go in the night. So we choose the longer way around, which took about 20-30 minutes (still not bad, but hey, we paid for central location). I know there is only little that a hotel can do with this, it is just heads up for those who consider to stay here with smaller children or girls traveling alone.

What we really loved what awesome breakfast with wide choice and home made spreads.
Also, the coffee quality is better than almost anywhere in Prague.

Would stay here, but I would not use the "shortcut" to the Wenclaws square.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheOneBratislava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek C, Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your positive feedback. I was pleased reading through your comment, that our facilities and service provided met your expectations.
I look forward to welcome you back at the Archibald City soon.

Best Regards
Marek Coufal - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on a package that included easy jet flights for £200! so I can't complain about the value of the hotel, it is clean, the bed was comfortable, there were tea & coffee making facilities a safe. Breakfast was included and was a buffet style. adequate to set you up for the day. On the downside the shower in the bathroom wasn't the sort that you can easily stand under and was over the bath with a curtain. The location was well outside of the main attractions about 20-25 minutes to Old Town Square and when there's a lot of walking about to do it is tiring at the end of the day.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and if the windows are closed there is little noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek C, Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Louise,

thank you very much for your stay at Archibald City and for sharing your review. I was pleased reading, that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you praised comfort and cleanness in our rooms.
I hope we will have a chance to see you in Prague again.

Greetings from Archibald City hotel staff and all the best.

Best Regards
Marek Coufal - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#107 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amarilis
Amarilis
#134 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Fenix
K+K Hotel Fenix
#136 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#89 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sovereign
Hotel Sovereign
#93 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald City

Property: Archibald City
Address: Zhitna 1319/33, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#113 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#125 Business Hotel in Prague
#159 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald City 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Archibald City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Archibald City
Archibald City Hotel Prague
Archibald Hotel Prague
Archibald City Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing