We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hostel. noisy, hard to sleep and reeked of cigarette smoke.”
Review of Prague Tyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prague Tyn
Ranked #106 of 704 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 10 August 2016

After staying at what i consider the best hostel in Krakow (Greg and Tom's Home hostel), this hostel was a big disappointment and the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. I agree with other feedback about the rude staff and noise levels

On arrival told I couldn't pay on card, and I had to get cash in local currency. Then I was told I would have to change rooms after one night and store luggage in basement then get it out and lug it back up the stairs. Quite a lot of guests had to do this.

Noise and Smoke. The hostel was also very noisy at nights with guests returning after a night out, as noise echoes from courtyard below up into rooms. hard to sleep!!. Self closing doors banged all night.

Toilets!!!! 3 small showers and 3 tiny toilets shared between 32 people. Not enough and messy!!!

As no A/C existed in building, we had to leave windows open to cool the room including at night. However the rooms reeked of cigarette due to smoke wafting up from courtyard into rooms the windows were open to try and cool them down.

Granted, smoking in restaurants is legal in the Czech republic. However, please be progressive and ban smoking in the hostel and have a smoking area 10 meters away from the entrance. The other business sharing the courtyard is a vegetarian health food. They would agree and be progressive enough to ban smoking in that area when people were eating.!! When people smoked in the basement common area and kitchen, the smoke would remain trapped for hours. Coming back to your room was like entering a smokey nightclub. they reeked if the windows were open.

The hostel lacked atmosphere. No bar etc, rooms lacked powerpoints. Hostel was simply an old hotel converted by putting in beds and a few extras. lacked powerpoints, bed lamps etc

Breakfast was average,cereal and a roll.
Only positive i can mention is the location.

Could be good hostel if they fixed issues with banging doors, smoking, powerpoints, lamps and unbearable noise levels and got staff which were not grumpy and didn't move people just to squeeze in one more customer . it makes a world of difference.

Room Tip: don't get a room overlooking the courtyard, noisy, smoke wafts into rooms making them reek. bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016

Prime location, a 5 minute walk, if that, to the main square. Super helpful and friendly staff. Beds were made for us, which is a luxury in hostels. Rooms had lockers in which were free to use, and you do not need your own padlocks for. The bathroom facilities, whilst shared between a lot of people, were of the highest quality, they were of hotel standard in my opinion and separate for males and females. Breakfast and lunch was provided, of which, the lunch was enjoyed, however the breakfast could be improved. However, I could not recommend this hostel more, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

The location is EXCELLENT and the rooms and facilities were very clean. The staff was helpful and accommodating and the prices were great for a school group. The only mediocre thing was the breakfast - very sparse.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ursakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Had a good stay at this modern and well kept hostel! Bathrooms are the best I have seen when travelling and staying in hostels. The packed sandwich provided for lunch is a great idea and much appreciated for the cheap backpacker. The only downside is the rather disappointing breakfast spread!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank GraceDoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Stayed in Prague for a couple of days durring our interrail through Europe. Over all a good hostel with excellent location with the Old town square just around the corner. Fresh, clean and good staff. A small breakfast included.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

The running of this hostel was pretty disorganized- they split up our group without consulting us, putting two girls in another hostel down the street due to water damage in this hostel. Those two felt so uncomfortable there that they were forced to leave and get a hotel. Then they split me and my friend up between two different rooms even though we did our booking together. The receptionist was nice and tried her best but it was still frustrating. The rooms were fairly nice and clean, and the bathrooms/showers were very nice. Could have used more mirrors though. Very glad they gave us towels. Could use fans in the rooms bc there was zero airflow and they got insanely hot. Breakfast was kinda disappointing. The location was fantastic, don't expect this to be any more than place to sleep- you're getting what you pay for.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chandler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in a 6 person dorm here a couple of weeks ago and had a great time! The hostel is very clean with very nice bathrooms and showers. The rooms are comfortable with lockers for each person. They also provided breakfast which was nice. The thing that really made our stay was the location! The hostel is located literally 30 seconds away from old town square. This was very convenient and also meant there were plenty of little cafes and restaurants just outside! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nové Město (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#73 of 646 in Prague
2,492 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Old Prague House
Old Prague House
#33 of 704 in Prague
141 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#22 of 704 in Prague
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hostel Advantage
Hostel Advantage
#20 of 704 in Prague
397 reviews
Hradčany & Letná
Hostel Santini Prague
Hostel Santini Prague
#39 of 704 in Prague
252 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Cosmopole Hostel
Cosmopole Hostel
#63 of 704 in Prague
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Tyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Tyn

Address: Tynska 1053/19 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 704 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $28 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best located hostels in Prague, located in quiet alley 200 m from the Old Town SQuare. Free breakfast, internet/wifi, linen, towels and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Tyn Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing