We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and affordable!”
Review of Czech Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Czech Inn
Ranked #10 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegant and affordable!”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed here for four nights in one of the private rooms and it was wonderful! The staff is super helpful and courteous. I had a problem with the automatic sensor lights randomly setting off in my room and they arranged a new room for me in a matter of minutes. The new room was a bit bigger with a refrigerator, a couch, and better wifi reception than my previous room, though it's only really good in the lobby and cafe.

The staff is also very knowledgeable about the area. They supplied me with information on laundry services (two tram stops away), gave great suggestions on restaurants and bars, and even have cheaper monthly passes (80 czk with 400czk deposit that I got back on returning the card) available for public transportation for guests staying more than one night. Otherwise, it's something like 110 czk per day. Great deal!

If you are going to prague stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    231
    52
    11
    9
See reviews for
19
145
162
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The Czech Inn is both very affordable and easily the best hostel we have stayed at during our four month backpacking trip around Europe. It is very clean, fun and the breakfast that you pay around five euros extra for is absolutely to die for! The location is easy and the staff are very very overly helpful. We loved Prague due to our wonderful stay. Also, make sure you go to the Mexican place across the road! It is AMAZING

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My husband and I (a mature couple) were hesitant about being in a hostel, but Czech Inn feels more like a hotel. We got an apartment on the last floor with two bedrooms. Never saw the people staying at the other room. We shared the bathroom, kitchen, living room and entrance. The place was cleaned everyday. We chose not to have the bedroom cleaned because we can make our own beds and were out of the room all day. The breakfast was great, buffet style, so we ate too much. The bread was delicious, the coffee not so much, but good enough. The beer in Prague is the best in the world. The hotel beer is cheap and yummy. The value is great, the building is withing minutes of downtown by streetcar (tram). The people at the reception were very helpful and nice, always with a smile and ready to advise you. We kept our passports and money in a safe by reception, it is very cheap and gave us peace of mind.
The free tours (paid by tipping) are amazing, they leave from the Hostel and take you downtown. Take comfortable shoes, you will be walking all day. To change currency I recommend to use a bank. The exchange places around downtown cheat by giving very low exchange, to get what they advertize you must exchange minimum amounts like a thousand euros but do not tell you until you get the change. However on the other side of the river, walking to the castle I found good exchange. Do not change money on the street, we were approached by one, but were warned that they give you Hungarian currency and since you are not familiar with the currency and see only Crones, you will get a tenth of the value only.

At the lobby they have several computers (for a small fee). I took my tablet and used the free WIFI in my room all the time. Great fast connection.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paloma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I'll start out with my complaints: the rooms were stark, one mirror was not enough, and concrete floor in the bathroom left me cold. That said, we were greeted by a cheery young man at the check in desk who spoke excellent English. He quickly oriented us on a provided map to surrounding city sites and made recommendations according to our expressed wants. There is beer on draft available in house outside breakfast hours. Original Budweiser is only 25 kr per 0.3L glass during happy hour - good value, good tasting beer. I like it better than the US imitator! The beer stube can get noisy into the night but none of that noise can reach your rooms unless you open the windows. Interior hallways can be very dark at night until you learn the shape and location of the light switches. I would recommend one of those little LED flashlights per couple. Breakfast is 110 kr purchased the night before, 120 kr the day of. Offerings are fruit, muesli, yogurt, hard scrambled eggs, frankfurters, two types of cold cuts, sliced bread, bottled juice, tea and coffee. Tram stop is nearby with heart of old city 5 minutes away. The transportation system really is excellent and folks speak enough English to help you over the rough spots. It sure did my older eyes good to see 5 pairs of young eyes trying to puzzle out how to operate an automatic ticket machine for the tram. A local usually steps in and helps out; written Czech is inscrutable. There are 5 internet consoles in the lobby and hotel WiFi is available but both for a fee. Having now been to Prague, I regret we only got a taste. Next visit will stay at a posher place 15-20 minutes out by tram for 20-30% less. Just download a city map for orientation and get specific directions to reach your hotel from airport or train station.

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor...excuse me, first floor room over the beer stube. The two bedroom suites are immens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed for three nights the last week in September. There is 24 hour reception, a 24 hr pub across the street, and a pub in the hostel. All of the staff were cool and we met some really cool travelers from all over the world. The hostel is easy to get to (just follow the instructions on the website). We signed up for the free walking tour w/ New Europe and Jacob was our guide. He is the best so try and get on his tour. The in-house pub offers a sweet happy hour and there is free wi-fi. All of the other guests were really fun and we signed up for a pub crawl (met at clock tower and was associated w/ New Europe). The "pub" crawl was really more of a "club" crawl so dress appropriately. We booked a private two person room and it was across from the bathroom and was a great deal. Book w/ confidence and bring your party clothes!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USATravelbug_194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We (my boyfriend and I-Both in our mid-twenties) spent 3 nights here in August 2011 and I can say we found it excellent. We were interrailing and this was the nicest hostel we stayed in during our trip. It was right beside the tram stop, the room was very big and clean, bathroom shared with another couple was very clean and the breakfast was cheap and good. Also a nice bar with sports shown.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights at the beginning of this month. We stayed in a double room. There was enough room for our baggage and hangers in the room. Clean private facilities made our stay very confortable. Lift in the building is a plus to carry baggage to your up floor. Breakfast is not included in the price, but they offer breakfast at good price.

The location is not in the centre of Prague, but in a very quiet area and not very difficult to get to Old Town once you know how to thanks to tram and metro.

We had to exchange Euro to the local currency, but we found that exchange at this place is the safest and honest. They do not always have enough local currency to sell though.

Room Tip: - Clean room. - Shower jel + lotion supplied. - Nice shower and I bet you will enjoy it either at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noriko78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 649 in Prague
2,036 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#114 of 649 in Prague
1,448 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#96 of 649 in Prague
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#219 of 649 in Prague
336 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#187 of 649 in Prague
1,566 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#160 of 649 in Prague
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Czech Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Czech Inn

Property: Czech Inn
Address: Francouzska 240/76, Prague 101 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Czech Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yes, you can afford to sleep in style and comfort! Czech Inn is a pioneer of modern design, hybrid hotel, hostel and apartment accommodation - truly offering something for everyone - and blending the comfort of a hotel and the social vibe of a hostel. The modern design and ultra-comfortable furnishings have created quite a stir in many publications such as The New York Times, The Guardian, The Washington Post, Hotel Design, Lonely Planet, Let's Go, Elle Magazine... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your Czech Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Czech Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing