We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“First holiday together” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monastery

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monastery
Ranked #37 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“First holiday together”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed here in December 2006, it was our first holiday together and it was easy to fall in love with Prague!

The room was large, bright and clean and had an amazing view over Prague as it is at the top of hill, don't panic though as there is a very good tram system which means you don't have to walk very far to get to the hotel.

The breakfast wasn't my cup of tea but what I did try I enjoyed and my husband it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    109
    12
    1
    12
See reviews for
83
220
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Enjoyed a nice night at Residence Monastery. Very comfortable beds, clean bathroom, bottle of wine in room, free WiFi and easy parking. Front desk clerk, Stepan, was nice, professional and helpful in finding a place to eat. Perfect breakfast included in price of room. Close walk to the castle and city center. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lárisa, Larisa, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Very beautiful hotel in an identical spot with a remarkable view of the city of Prague.
Easy to reach on foot the town center and the Castles of Hrad, and for those that can't stand walking, tram 22+25 to the center just round the corner. Same trams give also an easy access to the national airport
Cozy warm rooms, with all the facilities that a visitor might need. Only problem the poor soundproofing between the rooms (especially with noisy "neighbours") and the fact that the reception (really helpful, polite and pleasant people) closes at 7pm

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed here with my partner whilst in Prague and was quite surprised to find an affordable hotel in such a picturesque area of the City. Although the rooms were very compact it ideally served as a base and is situated next door to a fantasic restaurant. Te breakfast was fantasic as a selection and was served in a beautifl garden at the rear. I wouldn't recomment this hotel for people who spend alot of time in the hotel. But for those who want to located in a great position and are away for the majority of the day is serves very well. The staff were also very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have stayed in this hotel for the first time. I cannot make comprehensive review here as I stayed for just one night. The hotel is located in a perfect, quiet place near to the Loreta and Prague Castle, in the Strahov Monastery area. The rooms are small and simple, very clean and equipped with everything you would need. I was very surprised with very low off-season price for the room. The staff is great, extremely kind and helpful.

The only con I could think of is an obvious lack of a parking, or rather too expensive parking space at the hotel yard. But it is possible to leave your car in Parlerova street over night for free, some two hundred meters from the hotel.


I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Prague.

Room Tip: I stayed in room nr. 21 which is deluxe room with great view both on the monastery and the Old Town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Premysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Residence Monastery and we are already missing the place. This hotel has so much charm, character, stunning views of Prague, and a really informal atmosphere, right next door to the beautiful Strahov Monastery. It is small, only 12 rooms, but that is so much better than staying at one of the generic 'chain' hotels. The staff (only saw three members of staff all weekend!) were so helpful, friendly and offered a great standard of service - Stepan was excellent. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and really good quality. I know a lot has been said of the hill but to be honest it is fine unless you have mobility problems, only 15 minutes walk down to the City Centre, so a little longer back but there are so many shops and cafes on the way you can take your time and soak up the charm of the little streets that wind through the Lesser Town. We are so glad we stayed here, to wake up and look over the city from the hotel was stunning and well worth any walk! It was exceptional value for money. Go now.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandNia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Hi, having just recently returned from our stay at the Residence. my partner and I felt compelled to write and recommend this hotel. if you are looking for somewhere beautiful, quiet,and within walking distance to all the beautiful places to visit in Prague. Which is clean, welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful. This is the place for you. Our special thanks to Stephan on reception. for being so very helpful to us particularly on our last day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrettaJ461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#30 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#36 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#8 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Rezidence Vysehrad
Rezidence Vysehrad
#12 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#33 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monastery

Property: Hotel Monastery
Address: Strahovske nadvori 13/134, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Prague
#34 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#42 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monastery 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and cosy hotel with unique and unforgettable view of the Prague Castle, Lesser Side and the Old Town embroidered by the Vltava river is located directly in the city center in a peaceful garden of the Strahov Monastery (national historic landmark, founded in 1142). The hotel is only a few steps from all landmarks and easily accessible by the public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Monastery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Monastery Prague
Residence Monastery Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing