We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Excellent hotel the service is five star staff could not do enough for us,Abraham one of the waiters made a surprise birthday dinner very special.This is one hotel we will defiantly visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinandclare42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Martinandclare42,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for your stay and review.
We were glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our personnel could make your birthday even more unforgettable.

Sincerely,

Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    142
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
178
873
55
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I would rate this Hotel more than 5 stars. All of the reviews are accurate. WOW what great staff!
Rooms are funky and well appointed. Borrow a laptop, electricity converter, wifi, have coffee delivered to coincide with your wake up call. NO EXTRA Charge.
There is a small 30 seat Restaurant for Breakfast,lunch and dinner. Small cold breakfast buffet with "cooked to order" is also available. We had dinner one evening, the food is good and the service was wonderful.
We had a junior suite which is comparable size to North American rooms
The taxis in Prague tend to overcharge. Have the Hotel arrange taxis for you. The airport pickup is a nice option.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed for two nights for a weekend trip, we arrived late around 12.30am but there was a doorman waiting for us and very attentive desk staff. Our room was amazing with wonderful high ceilings, amazing decor and very very clean - think royalty with the decor. We had a welcome bottle of water and bathrobes/slippers and a weather guide for the next day. The bed was luxurious with tons of pillows, and a nice big TV if you wanted it.

The mornings breakfast was literally silver service, with gorgeous crockery and all of the waiters serving you in white gloves, they really make you feel special. The food is delicious and you can get hot breakfasts from the menu as well as extensive buffet. you could also have breakfast delivered to your room if you wanted it.

The staff are so lovely and friendly and they couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable. Every single person who worked there looked like they really cared about their jobs and they always had a big smile and a hello for us.

On the last night we got home to a complimentary bottle of wine and a thank you note from the hotel. Delivered on a silver tray with two wine glasses...just awesome.

The hotel is a little out of town (25 min walk) but this is perfect as you are literally opposite the Staropramen brewery which was one of our highlights of the trip - definitely do the tour. Also the tram and metro are a 5 minute walk away and you will be in town in under 10 minutes.

I saw the hotels in town and it looked mental there, too noisy. Choose this hotel you wont regret it! Thank you Hotel General!!

Room Tip: It's a VERY quiet area so I don't think you can go wrong with a room. We had room 204 and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orbituk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Orbituk,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel and such wonderful review. All reviews are very important for us as they give the perfect insight on our team work and hotel overall; they helps us to find new ways of further improvement and as in your way – gives us a reward of knowing that our efforts and work has made your stay such an unforgettable experience. We thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel General team & Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed for two nights on a recent weekend trip to Prague.

All the quality and service you would expect from a five-star hotel, and then some. Beautiful rooms, each named for a famous "General". We stayed in a double deluxe room which was on the cosy side but more than adequate for a couple, with spotless decor and individual touches missing from so many modern city hotels.

Breakfast was fantastic - buffet plus freshly prepared items made to order, all as part of the price (try the french toast).

20 minutes' stroll along the river to the Charles Bridge; 5-6 mins to the nearest metro (Andel).

What really made the hotel stand out for us was the service - during and after our stay. The staff were incredibly helpful without being overbearing; always available and able to answer any questions. We took a taxi organised by the hotel to the airport on departure (CZK700 - in-line with other taxi firms). In our rush we left a scarf behind in the car. I emailed the hotel on our return. They replied straight away - they were only too happy to locate the scarf and post it back to me!

Thanks so much for a wonderful stay - I certainly won't look elsewhere for my next stay in Prague!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLM_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear SLM_London,

I would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel and time that you have spent for this wonderful review. It gives us a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest and it became a part of your Prague experience.

We thank you for sharing your experience with us.

P.S. We hope that your scarf has already reached you.

Sincerely,
Hotel General team & Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel for five nights and can honestly say that it was wonderful. It is a beautiful hotel with very friendly and attentive staff and is truly deserving of the five stars. There are lots of lovely touches such as fluffy robes and slippers, daily weather reports, free breakfast room service and umbrellas are readily available if needed. It is not in the centre of Prague but is only a twenty minute walk away from the main attractions and is near to both tram and metro lines. There are lots of restaurants and cafes nearby and a large shopping centre just a street away. The staff all speak excellent English and will happily give advice on places to go and how to get there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John85_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear John85_12,

I would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel and time that you have spent for this wonderful review. It gives us a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest and it became a part of your Prague experience.

We thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel General team & Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I really do not have enough good things to say about this hotel. The service was fantastic, the room we had was enormous (two bathrooms, a sitting room and a king sized bed) and the breakfast was good (and included). We were particularly impressed that they would deliver the (free) breakfast to your room for free. Everyone speaks English, lots of hot water - just wonderful. Its a little outside the centre of town (about 15 min walk) but it is right next to a major tram stop and if you figure out the trams in prague (so convenient and beyond easy) then the distance is no issue. We would (and will) go back to the Hotel General again.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Caesar Suite - pay in advance and negotiate for a considerable discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SianRhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear SianRhys,

On the behalf of the Hotel General and all it's team, I would like to thank you for the time that You have spend with us and for this warm review.
We really appreciate the time that You have spend in order to share Your experience with the others and we are glad that Your stay at our hotel was a part of Your Prague experience.

We thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel General team & Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at Hotel General and the experience was first-class, from the airport pick-up to the amazing hotel decor to the attentive waiters during our daily breakfast.

Location is in a quieter part of Prague but close to the metro - Old Town is just 2 stops away!

Overall, a great experience and would definitely consider staying there again when visiting Prague in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas_Tgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Nicholas_Tgb,

I would like to thank you for your review and time.

It was a great pleasure to receive such positive review and acknowledgement of our efforts. We are glad that we were able to make your stay as comfortable and unforgettable as it is possible and hope that on your next trip to Prague you won't forget to visit us again.

With warm regards from hotel General team,

Mrs. Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
602 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
748 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,670 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing