We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Except for location, felt like a three, not four star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Except for location, felt like a three, not four star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Hanza, but felt that excepting its location, it seemed more like a three star hotel. The service and location were excellent. We had a wonderful view of the Motlawa River from our room, and from the hotel you can walk directly out to the boardwalk that runs along the river. There was also an elevator and AC. The reasonably-priced restaurant (lunch for two was 58 PLN) attached to the hotel also has a lovely view.

However, the room had run-of-the-mill hotel furniture and scuffed walls. The bathroom needed updating, and the shower/tub was not easy for my older mother to get into. Strangely, the shower head was mounted on the long side of the tub so that the spray was directed right into the curtain. There was one thin large towel and one smaller towel per person. I also think the room would have been noisy if we had not been running the AC, as we could occasionally hear people out on the boardwalk despite the AC. Overall, the hotel lacked the elegance and polish of the other four star hotels we stayed in during our Polish holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLJ-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    184
    44
    9
    4
See reviews for
72
272
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
783 reviews
284 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

It was my second stay in this hotel, after many years break. First time the hotel enchanted me with unbeatable location, spectacular view on the river from my window and freshness of the newly opened object. That time it was one of the first hotel entities this class in the down town of Gdansk. Today the location is still the main strength of Hanza Hotel and if you get the room facing the river side, you should be really satisfied. Unfortunately the interior is getting slightly old and unfashionable. Especially the bathrooms should be renovated.
Still very good breakfast and decent service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Possibly the best hotel in Gdansk. The location is superb, right in the old Main Town on the waterfront, overlooking the Marina with all the comings and goings of pleasure boats and the odd galleon or two. Be sure to ask for the river view and a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Breakfast was the best we've had in any city with an abundance of anything you could possibly want - fruit, cereals, meats, cheeses, salads, even bacon and eggs. The Main Town is a triumph of courage and craftmanship, reconstructed from the devastation of 1945. Virtually unchanged from the sixteenth to the twentieth century, but reduced to rubble during the war, the historic and beautiful streets have been faithfully rebuilt brick by brick, and are as fresh now as they would have been in a.d.1750. Follow the Royal Way up Dluga Street and marvel at the slender, six-storey town houses that line the wide pedestrianized thoroughfare. Must see: Amber Museum; Town Hall; Artus Court; Uphagen House. Go to Gdansk, and be awed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonMaynooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHanza, Director of Sales at Hanza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful opinion. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in Hanza Hotel. We hope that you will come to visit us some other time and you will enjoy it as much as you did before

Best Regards
Joanna Derwis
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dane in Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Have stayed at hotel a few times, and it is ok. If you get a canal-view room, view is very nice, this time I had the street view.

Staff is friendly, and never que for checkin or checkouot. Restaurant/Bar a bit boring though.

Location is great in middle of old town, right by canal.

Free internet is big +++++++++

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

This hotel is so well located that after having parked the car and checked in, I could not believe we were so well located when we went out onto the terrace area for a cold beer. Immediately on my right as we sat there was the famous crane that everyone visits when they come to Gdansk. Right in front was the river and just to our left was the ferry stop for Hel or Westerplatt. Loads of good restaurants nearby. The rooms and public areas have air-conditioning. They have very helpful staff and a tourist information desk. Perhaps the beast breakfast I have ever had on the mainland continent. Guarded car park for a small charge.We loved the hotel. A little expensive, but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wearb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

Excelent facility in the old town with even numbered rooms with harbor views, restaurant is overpriced but quite good. Great staff at a great location though the hotel only has a few services

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

I spent a few nights here in Sept 2009.

What can I say -- the reviews on here are consistent -- this hotel has a fantastic waterfront location right in the middle of the old town. You can walk to almost anything.

The rooms are out-dated and in need of modernization. However, my room was clean. The TV system was quite limited, as were other room amenities.

On a positive note, I enjoyed breakfast -- it was a massive buffet with everything you could want.

So, on balance, this hotel is decent -- just do not overpay -- if you get a good cheap price you can consider this hotel's location and excellent breakfast worth a certain price.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank TransATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.2 km away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#3 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.4 km away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#7 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#8 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.7 km away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.4 km away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Property: Hanza Hotel
Address: ul. Tokarska 6, Gdansk 80-888, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#5 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanza Hotel is located in the centre of the Old Town, on the historic passage of the Motława River, in the proximity of the Famous Gdańsk Crane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanza Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing