We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sort of hotel I like to be in”
Review of Podewils Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Podewils Hotel
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Darmstadt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sort of hotel I like to be in”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I would choose Podewils again, though the heating system grundeled (should be filled with water). Hotel with charme. Overwhelming view to the old City.

Room Tip: Room with view to the Modlau site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas_drheinrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    42
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
194
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wachtberg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Within a 5 minute's walk to the center of Gdansk, the hotel is ideally located overlooking the Gdansk harbour with a nice view at the famous Crane Gate. The service and the restaurant were excellent, so was the organization of the "Three Day Package" including a privately guided city tour, a boat trip to the Westerplatte and a visit to the Amber Museum. On our next trip to Gdansk, we definitely will stay at the Podewils Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskrona, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

First class cuisine and service. Centrally situated with the whole city in walking distance. View of the old town directly from the rooms.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My room was nice but lacked what I would expect from a 5 star hotel - no water and the shower leeked more water than went on me. My room had 2 windows both overlooking the road on the ground floor so everyone could see me which was not very pleasent (for them!). It took over 2 hours to get a room key that would open my door (they used a master to let me. It is about a 10 minute walk to the old city through some quite streets but felt very safe and the breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: ASk for one above the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We hit the jackpot over a quiet Easter weekend and were upgraded to the best room in the house with great views over the harbour to the old town. The room (as was the rest of the hotel) beautifully furnished with period furniture and was really comfortable. Breakfast was great and the location a short walk around the harbour to the old town. Service was fantastic and overall a great stay. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour, the other direction is not so scenic with a modern office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnaveSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A nice hotel with large rooms. It's in need of some paint in a place or two, but the overall impression is good.
Excellent service.
Soft beds.
A short walk away from the city-centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plingplong123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Nice small hotel in the centre of Gdansk with Beautifull view on the Moltawa river and ships;)
very clean and comfortable with excelent food and vines selection. Spacious rooms with comfortable beds and bathroom with jaccusi ;) excelent !!!

Room Tip: Room "Podewils" is the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wojciech B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 km away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#5 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.3 km away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#9 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.4 km away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#6 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.7 km away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podewils Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podewils Hotel

Property: Podewils Hotel
Address: ul. Szafarnia 2, Gdansk 80-755, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#16 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#18 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Podewils Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Podewils Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podewils Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing