We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town
Ranked #80 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed 5 nights end of April 2012
Found the staff to be helpful, friendly and spoke good English we stayed in the new part of the hotel which was called Jazz (this part of the hotel is a bit difficult to get to you have to go up a flight of stairs along a corridor and down a flight of stairs although someone was there to carry our cases) rooms were very Jazzey with changing coloured lights if you wanted that, they were also clean and tidy and cleaned every day
There was a very good selection of cold foods at breakfast (but dont expect a fry) scrambled eggs and some sort of continental sausage were the only hot foods.
Hotel is handy to the Square in Krakow only a 5 min walk which is a must go, plenty of bars and restraunts and shops.

PS We used a firm called Krakow Direct for our airport transfer and trips to the Salt Mines, Auschwitz Birkenau prison camps and a Trip to Zakopane a ski resort about 1.5 hours away well worth a visit. As there was only 4 of us we traveled in a 7 seater Merc our drivers spoke very good english and gave us a lot of information about Poland and Krakow.We negotiated a very good deal including the entrance charge and guided tours. WOULD RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your nice opinion. I hope you will choose our hotel next time in Cracow.

KInd regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

My stay in the hotel was really wonderful..When I came,the receptionist welcomed me and all I asked like directions and places were all answered perfectly..the breakfast buffet was superb!!!amazing job!!!well done!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pebbles2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Madam,

thank you very much for your opinion. It is a great pleasure to read such a nice review.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

If this hotel was any more expensive, it would be rated as a 3 (average).

Considering the price paid, this hotel was good-very good.

I am unsure whether you could control the temperature in the room which could be seen to be a negative.

Nothing fancy about this hotel, good location.

Point to note - In our group, the taxi drivers twice took us to the wrong Best Western!

This seemed to be because this hotel was relatively new - make sure you take the actual address if you get a taxi anywhere!

Cant comment on the breakfast as I never quite made it down! (stag party)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aash23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your very good opinion. I hope that you come to Cracow and our hotel once again.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The staff at reception are lovely and welcoming and speak very good English. The room was very clean and well equipped, even if on the small side a little. We fixed this by moving one bed side unit and pushing the beds together. The bathroom was clean and even had an automatic air freshner. There was shampoo and body wash in dispensers on the wall, too. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the hotel even offered a different type of pillows if the ones provided weren't okay for you. As you can't drink the tap water in Poland, the hotel provides two bottles of still or sparkling water in the room on arrival for free which was much appreciated (although there is a very convenient supermarket right next door to the hotel). The only thing I would say if that the noise and bell-ringing of the trams did get a little tiresome (through no fault of the hotel, though) but it did not stop me from sleeping. Breakfast was served from 7am to 10am and consisted of coffee, different teas (I would recommend taking your own tea bags if you are a regular breakfast tea drinker. There are tea bags provided but sometimes you need what you are used to!) and juices. The food was lovely, cold meats and bread, scrambled eggs, sausages, sandwich meats, cobs, yoghurt, cake fruit and a toaster. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
As a group we were able to walk 20 minutes to the Schindler museum, I highly recommend it- especially if you are able to have a guide. We also stopped to acknowledge the old ghetto square on the way back. We travelled 1hr 30 min to Auschwitz and Birkenau. If you plan on visiting here, do pay the extra for the head sets. We had a guide but I can imagine them to be very beneficial. We also visited the salt mines (again, brilliant, our guide was hilarious and the mines were amazing).
The 5 minutes walk to Krakow town centre is a must, lots of shops and do make an effort to visit the indoor market for souvenirs.
We ate in an Irish bar, a Polish restaurant and a pizza place. All were lovely and there are plenty of places to eat out so we did not sample the hotel dinners although the room service menu was tempting.
The cost of all of the tours and excursions was included in our trip so I converted £90 into Zloty (Polish currency- do not take euros as they are not worth a lot over there as most places use Zloty) and this was plenty to buy evening meals and presents for family.

Room Tip: Room on the back would be less noisy but rooms on the front have a wonderful view. Please note the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Madam,

thank you very much for your wonderful opinion. It is a freat pleasure for me and my staff to read it. We invite you to visit Cracow and our hotel one more time.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
Best Western Kraków Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Prices are good and you will get what you pay for. Nothing too fancy, but totally okay. Something surprising was the excellent service and very polite and kind staff - reception, restaurant, cleaners.

LOCATION
The hotel is located only some 200-250 meters from the main sqaure in the Old Town of Kraków. A convenience is also located next door. The street outside the hotel is very busy, with traffic and trams. It will cause some noice if your room is located on the wrong side. If it is overlooking the courtyard - you will hear almost none of it.

ROOMS
The hotel was recently renovated and added some rooms. Look for the different types on the hotel webpage. The rooms of the older part are quite worn out and needs some renovation, but note the very good prices on those rooms. I stayed in a double room in the so called "Jazz" part of the hotel. The room was very clean and decorated in a modern style with bright colours. Bathroom was very spacious and clean. Complimentary bottled water and coffee/tea in the room. A/C, cable-TV with English channels, telephone, chairs. Small closet. Comfortable beds with large pillows. Even a small telescope to watch the stars through the skylight windows.

AMENITIES
Generous breakfast buffet with large selections of vegetables, milk, choice of corn-flakes, coffee, tea, juice, bread, cheese, ham etc. Wifi accesible in all parts of the hotel - complimentary in some of the rooms, otherwise for a small fee.

SERVICE
I expected the typical Eastern European service standard (i.e. very low), but I was proven wrong. The staff were all very kind and polite. I had a small problem with the airport transportation (which actually was only a misunderstanding) and they handled this very well.

I do recommend this establishment to anyone travelling to Kraków.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Björn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your opinion. I think that there is some misunderstanding concering wifi - in all of our rooms it is complimentary, also we have got a computer with wifi in the lobby - for our Guests - everyone can use it.
The rooms in classic part are not old, but they are in another style - older - like our historical building (it dates from XIV century).

It is a great pleasure that our staff was very helpful and nice - it is normal European standard - but every time when the Guests agreed with this - it is a great pleasure for me.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Mnaager
Best Western Kraków Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was staying at the Hotel with my family and some friends, in total 9 rooms. From beginning to end we experienced the best service. The girl in the reception (Agniezska I think..) was the best example of "service-minded" Ive ever met, she could help with anything from restaurants, gifts, guide to Krakow... She recommended the perfect small restaurant just some meters from the Hotel. She knew everything! We stayed in the Jazz part of the hotell and the rooms where incredible!!! Really unique!!
The location of the Hotel is perfect! Its close to the city centre but You dont get all the typicall noise from city life!! Perfect!

Room Tip: Jazz part of teh Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lise_V1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Madam,

it is a great pleasure for me and my staff to read such a nice opinion. Everyday we do our best to make our Guests satisfied. Thank you very much and we invite you one more time to visit Best Western Kraków Old Town.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
Best Western Kraków Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This hotel is well located near the old town square. The rooms are well appointed, the hotel has a very nice restaurant, the breakfast was delicious and the price was reasonable!

Room Tip: The Jazz section is very fun and away on the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your very nice opinion. Hope we see soon.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#45 of 262 in Krakow
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#38 of 262 in Krakow
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town

Address: ul. Sw. Gertrudy 6, Krakow 31-046, Poland (Formerly RT Monopol Hotel)
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Krakow
#71 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $99 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Krakow Old Town Hotel Krakow
Rt Monopol Krakow
Hotel Rt Monopol
Monopol Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing