We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cheap hotel”
Review of Hotel Jan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jan
Ranked #31 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, cheap hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Brilliant location in the centre of the old town. Staff very friendly and helpful. Buffet style breakfast was well stocked.

Decor was basic but clean with a very spacious room.

Great value for a budget city break

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureTravels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    125
    18
    10
    11
See reviews for
51
167
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

The Jan hotel is ideally located near the main square, but on a busy noisy street, so a room at the back is essential......if you have to stay there at all. It's very scruffy and not over clean. Our room was more like a corridor, with the 2 beds end to end, and not much room between them and the dressing table. Tired looking breakfast spread too. But it is cheap.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwood England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The location is excellent, which may be the reason for the high price for a basic
but clean hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

Four of us went for a short break. On arriving really perfect location. Checking in was easy the receptionist spoke english
we were allocated rooms. We had booked a double de-luxe
our friends had booked a twin. Ours was really big and spacious plenty of room for clothes and clean So we were impressed met our friends outside later and they took us to their room the two beds were straight behind each other and only enough room to walk down the side and their bathroom was really cramped where ours was enourmous. The showers were good and hot water always available the air conditioning was good.
Where we have been before there is normally a hairdryer so i did not take one but my husband went down to reception and they provided one straight away. Towels were changed everyday and beds made. Breakfast was 7 - 9 so we did miss one due to the evening before as 9 is quite early. It is quite a basic continental but it was ok the first day we went noone was there and a couple of things were low but after 5 mins a lady appeared and topped everything up and she did this everymorning. There are cameras on everyhall which i think is good and also the water coolers to get yourself a drink or fill your bottle up.
So if you thinking to book I should go for the de luxe double i know I would not have been impressed given one as small as our friends. So basic but ok

  • Liked — situation close to everything and clean
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

The hotel has an excellent location, breakfast a bit basic and the times a bit restrictive. The hotel is a bit gloomy and the staff not particularly friendly. It offers budget accomodation, rooms comfortable and good location.

  • Liked — its location
  • Disliked — meagre breakfasts and poor times
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ec1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2007

So disappointed with Hotel Jan - it had looked promising with a central location in the Old Town and a friendly receptionist who spoke English. We had gone to Krakow to celebrate my birthday for a short break of two nights and quickly moved on after one night's stay at Hotel Jan.
The room itself was basic though this was expected, the wall heating did not work though an electric radiator had been provided so we did not mind. However no hot water in the bathroom taps, the woman we believed to be the owner (can't believe anyone would have this woman as an employee) was plain nasty. She stormed into our room (as reception had said someone would come up to sort out the problem) and started shouting at us in Polish. I apologetically tried to say that we did not speak Polish and called reception and explained the situation again - after several 3 way conversations, the woman shouted at us some more and stormed off. It was a very unpleasant atmosphere and not somewhere nice to wake up on your birthday. At breakfast - a tired buffet - with no staff around - we got there at 8.25 (breakfast was 7-9, note for those wanting a leisurely break many other hotel breakfasts are 7-11) and nutty woman turned up at 9am - bravely (!), I asked if I could have some water but this was too much to ask for - total lack of customer service - I think the woman just hates guests and is in the wrong job. Anyway with that start to my birthday we decided we would get somewhere else to stay and found another hotel, better old town location - a four star this time though only £20 more in price and an absolute world of difference. Would advise avoidance of Hotel Jan at all costs - it requires new ownership/management.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Customer service being non-existent
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rose74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We were very disappointed in the hotel which Rick Steves recommended in his book. While the location is superb, - just off the main square - the rooms was ridiculously small. The shower leaked. The TV satellite connection was broken so only Polish channels were available. The posted breakfast hours kept changing. The sheets were clean but stained.

On the plus side, the beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francescina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Rezydent Hotel
#66 of 260 in Krakow
936 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#23 of 260 in Krakow
513 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#12 of 260 in Krakow
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#27 of 260 in Krakow
712 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#15 of 260 in Krakow
1,215 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 260 in Krakow
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan

Property: Hotel Jan
Address: ul. Grodzka 11, Krakow 31-006, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#45 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Jan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened Hotel Jan is situated on Grodzka 11 street near the Main Square in the Old Town in Cracow. It is a quiet hotel located in an old 600-year tenement which is tastefully and elegantly furnished and adapted to meet modern requirements and needs of our kind guests. Hotel Jan has all-night reception which is always at your disposal, breakfast hall is arranged in a form of a greenhouse in which you will be welcomed by plants and exotic trees. This hall can be also used as a place of conferences and entertainment events of any kind. We have a projector which allows watching TV on very big screen, which is very attractive during sport events, especially football.In 800-year old basements of the tenement we can offer you Irish Pub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing