We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bad for your money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #97 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Portishead
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not bad for your money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

stayed at this hotel from the 14th to the 18th of march we experienced no problem with noise from other guest, the staff didnt seem to helpful but were not unfriendly,the breakfast was not to bad plenty of choice and stocked up regularly when we were there, as for the location was good for getting around (tram stop 1 minutes walk away) and close to rynek glowny for exchanging money,etc would stay again if it was the right price.

Room Tip: rooms at the back was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 152martinyeeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    240
    104
    26
    19
See reviews for
82
207
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macduff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

Very poor,room dirty and very over priced,stayed there the year before and the room and staff were very friendly,not this time,so disappointed that the rest of my stay in krakow I managed to book into another hotel

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Yan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Do not stay in this hotel at weekends under any circunstancesas it is a magnet for groups of drunken "stag fest" people who come in and make noise all the way through the night. A group of drunken Irish women brought in a whole load of Polish blokes for a party!My attempt at getting the receptionist to do anything was a complete waste of time. At one point I threatned to call the police, but to no avail. I was with a group of students whose trip was completely ruined by what happened. I have since written to the hotel and received a reply stating that they promise to do better next time! Not good enough by a country mile.

If you are a teacher thinkiong of using this hotel or are being put there by your tour operator over a weekend - insist on a change of hotel or better still change tour operator.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alain69190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

we stayed here 5 3 12 to 8 3 12 it was a cheap deal but total excellent value was good location nice very clean room and warm to warm really could not fault anything really no view but who cares was there to see the sights not stare out of a hotel room breakfast as wot u would expect for europe basic but good overall excellent value hotel def recomend going bak nto krakow so will use again

Room Tip: dont read neg reviews just go book it place spot on i can b fussy but impressed me enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crewkerne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We spent four nights at this hotel from 14 -18 December 2011. The room although not overly large was clean and warm. The breakfast was a hot and cold buffet with a vast choice of foods, one of the best breakfasts I have found in any hotel. There were some renovations/decorating going on at the time of our visit but did not cause us any inconvenience.
The hotel is within a few minutes walk of the city centre and main square.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed at the Alexander 05/03/2012 - 07/03/2012 and was totally disappointed with my stay.

When I checked in, the receptionist treated me more as an annoyance, handed me a brochure and pointed in the direction of where my room was. When I entered my room, it stank of stale cigarette smoke. The room was basic, which is what I expected but the carpet was dirty and obviously hadnt been hoovered recently.

A major issue with the room (rm 115) was that it was FREEZING! I had to open the door to the hallway in the hope some of the heat would get in. I had a twin for sole use and had to use the cover from the other bed, which would not be feesible of there were two people using the room. The blankets also smelt so bad, I could not cover myself fully as the smell made me gag.

Breakfast was ok. Typical choice of meats/bread etc although things ran out quickly, even though it started at 7 and I turned up at 8 and there were not many people eating. I saw a waitress once while she replenished the ham and that was that.

Upon checking out, I had to wait for the receptionist to finish her private call (obviously unaware I had a flight to catch) and a good seven minutes later I gave her my key and asked for directions to the train station. She pointed to the left and said 'that way'.....HELPFUL!

I will not be staying there again and am very disappointed with the lackluster customer service I received and the fact my room was so cold.

Room Tip: do not stay in room 115
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JENNIFERLELACHEUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay in Alexander Hotel and were very pleased. The Hotel is in a fantastic location. It is a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Square. There is also a 24 hour supermarket about two minutes away. The Hotel is extremely clean and the room was fairly spacious and also very clean. We arrived at 12.30 and our room was already ready despite check in being 2 pm. We had a tea/coffee maker and the bed was comfortable. One thing i would say is the duvet was a little on the small side and we are not big people! Reception were very helpful, offering to book tours and taxi and providing us with a map. Breakfast was good - scrambled egg, sausage, toast, ham, cheese, pastries, fruit, cereal, juices and tea/coffee. Overall a very good hotel for the price and would recommend for a city break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LE0788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Alexander II
Hotel Alexander II
#116 of 256 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Rezydent Hotel
#63 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Stare Miasto
Logos Hotel
Logos Hotel
#99 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Maksymilian
Hotel Maksymilian
#33 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#37 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Kleparz
Hotel Atrium
Hotel Atrium
#72 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: ul. Garbarska 18, Krakow 31-131, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing