We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveller rating
493
210
87
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
210
87
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar salt room salt cave the main square underground pool jacuzzi bath spa area old town junior suite beautiful hotel perfect location underfloor heating reception staff hotel restaurant town square breakfast was included long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 843 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was perfect, location, food, the room etc.The staff were very helpful and friendly, they gave us recommendations everyday of where to visit, where to eat. On the day of our arrival they even allowed us to change rooms to a bigger suite which was more to our preference. The spa was beautiful and very relaxing, and the massages were brilliant. I recommend this hotel to everyone. If you want a top quality hotel, with everything you need right in the heart of Krakow then look no further.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

We were on a long weekend from the UK. We nearly always stay in 5 star albeit that doesn't always guarantee high-end.
The Stary was a very stylish hotel - a modern, clean, high-end hotel with a cool post-Communist styling.
We had a junior suite which was spacious & well appointed.
Extended check out was easily arranged.
The location is pretty much as central as you can get. The main market square is about 50m walk from the hotel front door.
All in all an excellent stay & we would highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Timothy_Foote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2017

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Hotel Stary. The food (we only had breakfast), staff and quality of the room were all well above expectations and we would not hesitate to recommend it to others - and indeed we would wish to stay there again in the future.

We felt that the hotel offers very good value for money, even though it is aimed at the luxury end of the tourist market.

It is no more than a few seconds' walk from Krakow's main square and is easily accessible from the airport.

We had a room on the 6th floor and found it comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2017

We really enjoyed this hotel. The location is terrific, right off the main square and near everything. The staff were great. I even left an iPad behind in the taxi to the airport and they are getting it back to me. So Happy. The restaurant is very lovely, high-end, great food and not too expensive. The spa was great. The rooms we're large and well appointed. The only negative is our room was on the dark side, understandably as the building is old and so the courtyards are small, but they done a nice job with the in-room lighting to make up for it.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all nice, but the best would be ones with the most natural light.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2017

You will be persuaded to stay here by the lovely photos of the hotel and it's rooms. Please be warned, the minimalist, chic effect is also spartan and unwelcoming. Room 113 is a prime example. It's located near the lift on the first floor. It's both huge and empty with an enormous space in the middle taken up by a rug. A couple of armchairs or a decent sofa would have been welcome but instead the management filled the space with two 49" TV's. Placed back to back they would have been ideally located with one serving the bed area and one the open space (calling it a living room area is too kind). Sadly they were both facing the bed and I was forced to unplug one for the duration of our stay so as to avoid glaucoma. On the plus side, the rear of the tv is accessible so if you have an hdmi device you want to attach to it, you're good to go. As others have mentioned the beds are large but the duvet appears to have made exactly the size of the top of the mattress without any overhang. If two of you are travelling then that duvet is going to get pulled about. A lot. The bathroom and walk in shower are large and well appointed. Sadly the person who stripped the living areas to achieve that modern minimalist feel obviously had a touch of the seconds when it came to the bathroom and decided to use floor to ceiling marble then add some marble to everything else. Possibly the pipes were lagged in marble, I can't honestly say as the entire effect is eye watering. This particular room also suffered from overlooking an inner courtyard the far side of which looked like it was undergoing renovation. Or possibly a war. Pulling the inner net curtains to obscure this view (and most of the light) reminded me of the duvet saga as the curtains would only fully cover one of the two windows. If you stay here, take your pick which window you'd like covered (I chose the left). Other problems...the walls are thin and you will be woken by staff early in the morning when they push and pull trolleys about as they prepare breakfast. Unfortunately they need to use the same lift as the guests so apart from the noise, the lifts often smell of food. I hope it was food, anyway. The restaurant is soulless. I have no idea what the food is like, for all I know it may be the gem of Poland. On the other hand I would rather eat on a tube train than here. The bar is non existent. It is essentially a counter which you can't sit at, from which drinks are dispensed to those brave enough to eat at the tables. I'm advised that during the warmer weather the rooftop bar is open and is a much better bet. I did visit this area despite it not being open just to have a look and found some of the staff having a smoke. Lovely. Breakfast could be bettered by any local caff you have ever been to. Or café.

The hotel has good points. It is perfectly located just off the main square which is full of bars and restaurants. A 30 second walk will get you to the square. The basement gym and pool are both small but very attractive and a pleasant place to have a sauna, steam and splash. The staff were courteous if a tad formal. It's a hard trick to pull off walking a fine line between giddy friendliness and cold disinterest, so make your own mind up.

Regarding food, if you turn left out of the hotel and follow the building line into the square you will reach the hotel/bar/restaurant Bonerowski. Breakfast can be eaten outside in the square but go inside and the breakfast is buffet style with a chef to throw an omelette together and comes with everything you need including Prosecco. Two of you will eat for the price of one at the Stary. They also do very good lunchtime meals though you will be spoilt for choice when eating around the square.

For an evening meal try Szara Gęś. It's more or less on the opposite side of the square (slightly left) and serves great food. It's a little posher than the others, when we were there the American actor Jim Caviezel came in. If that's not your cup of tea there are dozens of other venues.

This is a decent hotel let down by poor layout and bizarre styling choices. I appreciate this is largely a matter of taste but there's one thing everyone agrees on, comfort never goes out of fashion. It's a solid 3 star hotel, but to describe it as 5 star is ridiculous and an excuse to charge far, far too much for what is on offer.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews