We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value & Great Location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Hostel
Ranked #64 of 395 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value & Great Location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Have just booked a room at City Hostel for Jan 2011 which will be our 3rd stay at this hostel, previous stays were in Jan 2009 and Jan 2010. We are 4 British men in our 30s and 40s and are staying one night for a bit of city life after a skiing holiday in Zakopane. This hostel is exactly as other reviewers describe it. Superbly located just of the main street near the Barbican about a 10 min walk from the main train/bus station and very good value for money. (If travelling from the airport to central Krakow I would suggest taking the shuttle train it runs every 20mins or so and costs about 8 zloty). The rooms though spartan are clean and beds are comfortable as is the hostel in general. We have only had the en-suite rooms and the showers and toilets etc have all been clean and in good working order. Very important for winter visitors the rooms are nice and warm! Continental style breakfast is basic but there was plenty of it and really what do you expect from such a reasonably priced place to stay? We have always found the hostel to be quiet and peacefull and have never been disturbed by people walking up the wooden stairs. Perhaps the excellent Polish beer aids sleep??! All the staff we met were very friendly and helped make each stay long or short a pleasure.

If you were planning on taking a sophisticated girl away for a romantic weekend in the fine City of Krakow then maybe City Hostel would not be the place to take her but it is perfect for general travellers wishing to explore Krakow and the surrounding area for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DANGEROUSDAVIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    45
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
9
12
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

booked along way in advance a got a cheap deal, staff spoke english & friendly enough.
room clean.
breakfast room & corridors not so clean but not too bad either
location is GREAT very very close to main krakow square but without the price, not too far from main station - 10-15 min walk thru a park.
i would definately recomend

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

This hostel was good, we had a 6 bed private room, which had its own en-suite shower, with toilet in the corridor. Although I can't understand why if you make the effort to put a shower in the room, why not a toilet as well? But oh well, both shower and toilet were clean. The room itself was clean too, and contained 6 bunk beds, and plenty of space for 6 of us. Only very small problem was carrying a suitcase up 2 flights of seemingly never-ending stairs, and as the stairs were wooden, it was impossible to walk up them quietly, especially when coming in quite late!
The location was great, just a very short walk from the centre of Krakow, and the square, and close to restaurants and bars.
The staff were quite helpful, and they arranged a trip to Auschwitz on a tour for us, which was very helpful.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurameee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Very simple hostel just on the outskirts of the old town. We had a private room, with shower and sink, but with toilet in the hallway. The rooms are small and the interior very dated - the matress was some kind of stuffed plasticwrapped spunge - not great.. And it got really hot during the nights. But, at that low price, you can't really expect much more. And the girl at the reception gave great advice on our trip to Auschwitz.

Basically you get what you pay for, and if you want to an exceptionally chap place to sleep and not much more, this is an ok option.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

the room is cold, the heater seems useless. staff are friendly and helpful except one rude lady --- when I checked in at night and ready to pay my bill with credit card, my credit card didn't work with their "credit card machine", so I was told to pay by cash. but I only have Euro and I didn't have any Polish Zloty, she insisted I could only pay in Zloty so she took away my passport! Passport is the most important and valuable asset for a traveller as travelling outside home country. I was quite angry my passport was taken away bcoz of such a little money.
in the early night and the late morning you would not be able to sleep because there were people kept running up and down the wooden stair and made noise.
other things are good, room is clean, good breakfast, nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivisayeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

very good value for a HOSTEL, and it excells strictly in this category. If you want a luxury, go somewhere else.
We've got double room on the first floor, small & basic but in the same time very cosy. high ceiling adding the space impression, old wood on the floor. Nice worm feeling , not just hospital-alike dormitory.
We enjoyed perfect sleep quality, probably because it was a middle of winter and there was hardly anyone else there. With a temperatures up to minus 25 outside, we were well worm!
There was a sink and a shower in the room, very clean and well stocked WC was just in front of our door.
Very good location, in the edge of the old town and only 5 min from central train station where you may take a direct train to the airport. Staff very helpfull.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KasiaNadzieja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

Basic, pretty good value and good location in the old town. If there's nothing better available then you can't go wrong with this.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas3Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hostel Faust
#168 of 258 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracow Hostel
Cracow Hostel
#37 of 395 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#2 of 395 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premium Hostel
#34 of 395 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#29 of 395 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Stare Miasto
Tramp Aparthostel
Tramp Aparthostel
#55 of 395 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel

Property: City Hostel
Address: ul. Sw. Krzyza 21, Krakow 31-023, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 395 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — City Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hostel is a place designed for those who want to discover Krakow in their own, special way. We have converted a 19th century historical tenement in the centre of the Old Town into a meeting place for people from all over the world. In doing this we have tried to retain the warm atmosphere of the historical interiors. The City Hostel reflects Krakow's climate perfectly: only here does youthful energy meet tradition to create a spicy mix of modernity and history. At our place, you can plan your tour of the intriguing corners of the city and rest after discovering the charms of famous Krakow clubs all night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing