We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ambiance”
Review of Hostel Mleczarnia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Mleczarnia
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Great feel, great area, great staff. The decor is the best for any hostel I ever stayed in. Awesome bar downstairs...

Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
Thank Myles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2011

The room was clean, but the heating was literally non-existant. To be honest, the room was freezing cold--we slept until three blankets. The windows were broken, and the staff had stuffed a bedsheet in the frame in order to stop the draft.

At the end of the stay, I complained that the room was very cold. The staff (who were polite, but not very friendly) offered me a 10 EUR discount. I thought that was not much compensation.

It's a charming place, but the staff need to be more helpful and the heating needs to be fixed. For 50 EUR a night, there are plenty of better options in Breslau.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibrahimdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Having stayed in Wroclaw before and the hostel I stayed was far from idyllic I was absolutely astounded by this what I hostel which seemed to have an Old Tymie feel. It is located very close to the city's main square and the atmosphere was really warm. The staff were more than helpful. The staff did my laundry which was done with a heart and a half and were insulted if I offered to pay.
The hostel is located above a public house/Cafe ie was frequented by punters looking for coffee and cakes during the day and was a hive of activity at night with many of the young proffesionals.
Below the pub was another floor where there was Polish dances of all sorts with generally people of all ages having a hell of a time.
The square has restaurant of all types at very very reasonable prices.
There is a bus that goes to the airport passing very close to the Hotel/Hostel.
Forgot to mention that this has rooms for all different prices with luxury in proportion to the prices.
Wroclaw is beautiful.
A lot of Polish Arty types stay here as it is located close to the theatre hub.
When I stayed originally the sun was splitting the rocks. I went again a month later and it was brass monkeys and the hostel was pretty much unhabitated but for me and 1 more client.
Pick your time carefully if going to Wroclaw I would say.
Such splendour at hostel prices
A unique treasure!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxy_Cappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

One of the top 5 places I've stayed in and reason enough to return to Wroclaw.
A characterful, period property in old Jewish quarter, beautifully and tastefully furnished. Wonderful, atmospheric bar below it, yet bedroom still remains quiet.
I didn't travel with a young child on this occasion, but noticed a cot in the landing for future reference. This would be an ideal place for those traveling with children, APART from 3 inconvenient flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgewashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed here after I read about it in the Guardian and my mother (an avid hosteller) stayed earlier in the year. We stayed in the "Milky Apartment" which is an apartment just around the corner from the main square.

The apartment itself is on the 2nd or 3rd floor of an apartment building and has a lot of facilities (sadly no Internet though). It has a kitchen and a washing machine so I'd imagine it would be great for hostellers (or others) on long trips looking to catch up with things.

The bathroom is fine (although could do with a shower curtain to avoid drowning the room when you take a shower) and the apartment is very spacious.

Its best advantage is its price and location.

The actual hostel...headquarters...is a few streets away from the apartment so make sure to get good instructions for getting to the apartment when you check in (the entrance is actually down a small alley off the street - safe but easy to miss) and the hostel entrance itself is actually through the cafe/bar (nice cafe too) of the same name (so is easy to miss too).

That said, and despite the odd sounding review, it's well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escottf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rosmarino51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: L'appartamento di via Ruska è in pieno centro quindi comodissimo!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wroclaw hotels
6.4 km away
Ibis Budget Wroclaw Stadion
1 km away
Campanile Hotel - Old Town
0.7 km away
Cinnamon Hostel
Cinnamon Hostel
#11 of 138 in Wroclaw
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Friends Hostel
Friends Hostel
#8 of 138 in Wroclaw
93 reviews
1 km away
Big City Hostel
Big City Hostel
#75 of 138 in Wroclaw
25 reviews
1.4 km away
Hostel Wratislavia
Hostel Wratislavia
#2 of 138 in Wroclaw
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mleczarnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mleczarnia

Address: ul. Pawla Wlodkowica 5, Wroclaw 50-072, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lower Silesia Province > Wroclaw
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Wroclaw
Price Range: $23 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Mleczarnia 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and inexpensive...In the heart of Wroclaw, near the Main Market and Old Town, in the Four Temples` Quarter there is an unusual, mysterious place, perfect for relaxation after a day full of impressions. Just imagine... "old fashioned” rooms - with wooden beds, hand – made tablecloths and net curtain, little lamps, old paintings and photographs...- this is our Hostel. We have internet, kitchen annex, TV and free morning coffee and tea. Reception is open 24h and our receptionists are friendly. They will do their best to help you. We invite you warmly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Mleczarnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing