We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“On Piotrokowsa-- Main Lodz drag” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grand
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Lodz
jerusalem,Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“On Piotrokowsa-- Main Lodz drag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

The Grand Hotel still has the Germanic flavor of yesteryear with many original artifacts.The staff is helpful. The rooms we took were adequate and neat. Lodz,once an economic powerhouse, is the least developed of the Polish cities we visited. My father (born there) says Piotrokowska was once full of Jewish people. Today there are none. But there are many stores. I bought an excellent pair of boots.My husband bought books.
Piotrokowska, where the Grand is located, has weird driving rules (it is a pedestrian passage most of the day) but we ignored the unintelligible signs and drove there at night.
There is a small daily minyan, shul, kosher restaurant (with good food) and "Jewish" hotel/hostel called Linat Orchim, nearby located in a single compound. Don't miss a visit to the vast, well laid out, Jewish cemetery-- often overlooked because people assume it was destroyed. It wasn't. But visit with Simcha Keller, at the shul first. He has pre-war hevre kadisha cards (preserved) and is helpful. Once in the cemetery, (not so easy to find by car but be persistent-- worth it) if you can't locate your loved one's pre-war grave (visit on line before) give the cemetery worker 15-20 zloty and he will help you. There are many leaves around. Don't fall! There is a Holocaust Memorial and a large funeral home. Check hours first. The cemetery has a gate around it and small lavatory at the entrance.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertzion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    68
    43
    25
    14
See reviews for
27
32
14
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

Reading the mixed reviews below I get the impression this Hotel must have some good bedrooms. Sadly I didn’t get one on either of my two visits this year.

Some of the communal areas do reflect the elegant history of the building but the rest looks like a time capsule from the 80’s complete with loose parquet floors, rickety furniture and well worn upholstery. On both my visits I had single beds with mattresses so old they had taken on a permanent U shape.

Despite the gripes the hotel is in great location and the majority of staff work hard to make your stay tolerable. I would probably stay there again – but always in the hope of finding one of those good rooms!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostmymojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

We choose the Grand Hotel in Lodz with some doubts after reading the other reviews here in this forum - expecting to get a good location in town. We were plesantly surprised to find good rooms each with a nice bathroom - good and clean, free wireless internet freely available in the room (on request) and as decent a breakfast as we got on other Polish 3/4 star hotels in Cracow and Warsaw (Holiday Inn). And all this coupled with a perfect location on the main street in historic Lodz and the feeling of a "Grand Hotel" as built in the 1880'ies. While a little old fashioned we fould the ambience good and maintenance fine. My parents, who are elderly, liked the elevators and the room. All at a very good price - good value. We had a good experience - and would do it again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ussing53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

The Grand seems to have been Grand once, and the potential in this hotel is enormous as it has big rooms, high ceilings, huge old staircases that once must have been impressive. But alas everything seems worn and outdated. The great breakfastroom is for some reason painted in the 80's style pink... However the breakfast served was varied and tasty. It seems they have started renovating though, as the bathroom was all new, huge and very nice. The room had old and ugly furniture, and the bed was not very comfortable, but the size was good. However the hotel had a strange kind of nice atmosphere, it was like being part of an old eastern european film, which I in a way found very attractive.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hufsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2008

Excellent location on the Lodz main street with restaurants etc. But it has passed its grandeur. Grandparent's old world style. Pedestrian level of maintenance. Desk staff not particularly friendly. Guests in the hotel are practicing classical music in their rooms (my neighbour: violin) and it took me half an hour of nagging the front desk to have them ask him/her to stop so I could go to sleep bc I was jetlagged and walls are thin. At first the receptionist tried to argue that the guest could practice the violin til 10pm in the room! In my view, hotel rooms are not rehearsal spaces. Hotel needs updating. Will do the trick if you need a place to stay though -- and if you prefer old world charm.

  • Liked — Free wireless Internet in rooms
  • Disliked — Unfriendly desk staff
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank like_good_hotels_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lodz hotels

Sandnes
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

Stayed here four nights in october 2008. We got a room on the third floor, overlooking a side street. At first we were a bit disappointed, but settled down thinking about the history of the hotel. It is more than 100 years old and many of the details are kept. Old fashioned key system. Air con only in a few rooms. Bathroom was large and nice. Beds were comfy and the room large. The windows were new and insulated against most of the street sounds. A few howling locals could be heard outside at night though. Could be a problem when the weather is warm and the windows preferred open. There are rooms facing the the inside/backside of the hotel. Did not try the breakfast. There are many restaurants nearby that serves breakfast for a few zloty. Did eat a three course meal at the hotels restaurant. Very good quality and excellent service. The prices were surprisingly low.

Pros
The best location in town. Right on the main street
Good restaurant with low prices
The feeling of history

Cons
The noise at night that comes from the central location
Rooms with no air con
Unmodern for some?

  • Liked — Central location. History of the hotel.
  • Disliked — Lack of air con
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Moen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

Do not stay here in the summer. The main reason for staying in a hotel is to sleep well. This cannot be done in the summer months. There is no AC, not even a fan and there are no mosquito screens on the windows.

The rooms facing the famous Piotrkowska Street also face the sun all day so even with the curtains closed during the day the rooms get hot, very very hot. The windows are 3 mts high which the sun blasts through all day and the walls act like storage radiators.

Leave the windows open you may say, well I did for the first night, it was still too hot all night and I must have lost 10 lbs in sweat!

The following morning I was covered in moasquito bites and had to buy a tin of insect killer and spray most of it into the room while we were out the whole of the day sightseeing. This ensured that on my return the little horrrors were dead.

The second night was mosquito free but the air was old and I lost even more sweat to the sheets....... Be warned!!!

It seems that the oldest hotel in Lodz wants also to remain that, with the same facilities it had when it opened in the 19th Cent. other than the elivators!

Orbis was born during the Iron Curtain era and system, Poland has embraced the 21st Cent. but Orbis seem to still retain the way things were back in the 1960's 70's and early 80's.

It must be the same people in charge as was then and they aint going to change with the times. Well one thing has changed, the
cashiers kiosk has now gone and payment is over the counter!

Peter Kwapisz
England

  • Liked — The locoation
  • Disliked — Lack of fresh air
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Kwapisz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lodz hotels
1.3 km away
andel’s by Vienna House Lodz
1.1 km away
Ibis Lodz Centrum
Ibis Lodz Centrum
#6 of 38 in Lodz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lodz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn LODZ
Holiday Inn LODZ
#9 of 38 in Lodz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.1 km away
Novotel Lodz Centrum
1.4 km away
Hotel Reymont
Hotel Reymont
#16 of 38 in Lodz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand

Property: Hotel Grand
Address: ul. Piotrkowska 72, Lodz 90-102, Poland (Formerly Orbis Grand Hotel Lodz)
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Lodz Province > Lodz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Lodz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orbis Grand Lodz
Lodz Orbis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing