We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
30
13
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
13
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 47 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

First of all the Nicolaus is truly beautiful- the old building has been renovated with the biggest attention to detail and with the highest standard. The interiors are mix of an old and a modern details with wooden floors, brick walls and huge windows.
The hotel is situated in the city centre, minutes away from the main market and the surrounding area seems to be quiet and safe.
After reading the reviews about the toilets with no door/ glass door, I wanted to make sure that our stay won’t get spoilt. I simply asked for the room with more private bathroom and it wasn’t a problem at all. Althought we stayed in one of the basic rooms, it was very comfortable and the rainfall shower was just perfect.
As mentioned in other reviews, there is a lack of towel/ bathrobe racks and no glasses for a mini- bar drinks. Not a big deal for us, but could be improved.
The biggest downfall was the breakfast- simply looked like leftovers from a day before:
-a very little of a scrambled eggs
-fried mashrooms
-overcooked bacon
-sausages
-THREE slices of some sort of ham
-very dried cheese
-a little bit of smoked salmon and a tiny bit of another smoked fish (no information of what it was exactly)
-poor quality yogurths
-cottage cheese
-bread, cake and mini croissants
-tasteless coffee

That was all at 9:15 (the breakfast is served until 10 am).
Overall, I would probably stay in Nicolaus again but try breakfast somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is amazing. It has an outstanding interior, good service, tasty breakfast and the location is just perfect. We were lucky to get a parking spot right outside the hotel. I would warmly recommend.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Weronika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018

We stayed here with a group and it was awesome. We had a mini apartment for our family of four and it was a great room.

We also ate lunch with our group in the restaurant and the food was awesome. However, they didn’t have air conditioning and it was pretty hot.

Loved the hotel bar, but unfortunately they didn’t have any polish beer which surprised me at first.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank ChrisB13880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

A lovely blend of wood, iron, brick, and fresh white walls combine to create a contemporary rustic chic boutique hotel. Friendly and helpful reception personnel. The stylish Lobby Bar serves delicious cocktails in a comfortable lounge area. Lovely room with modern amenities and a mini bar with local treats. Low comfortable beds with ample pillows made for a good night’s sleep. Powerful air conditioning helped overcome the hot and humid nights and blocked out any social noise. Perfect location within the walled town, across from Copernicus museum, and within easy walking distance to the center of town or down to the river walk. We were lucky to get a parking space out front when we arrived at 3:00pm. Excellent breakfast with good variety. We booked two rooms for single occupancy. One thing to note, some rooms do not have a privacy door to the bathroom, so check before you book if that could be an issue.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank AudreyK307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2018

Stayed for a night and what a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. Hotel seems quite new within an older building, rooms were very contemporary and clean. Food was really nice and staff very helpful. They would give you a pass for street parking too. Torun itself is a very lovely city, we were informed it was a Unesco World Heritage Site due it's sheer beauty.......it doesn't disappoint.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank graemeb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews