We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit noisy but great location”
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #33 of 124 Hotels in Warsaw
Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A bit noisy but great location”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have been upgraded to Junior Suite by the very friendly and professional staff so instead of standard small hotel room I have received a huge room with a view of Palac Kultury and probably the noisiest intersection in Poland. Unfortunately the view from most of the rooms is obstructed by giant billboard hanging from the hotel's facade, covering most of the hotel windows. I found out that it is a very common view in Warsaw - you can see these giant billboards all around in the centre.

Location is perfect for these who come with a train to Warszawa Centralna - it is just several hundreds meters away but also there is a direct bus nr 175 from Okecie Airport (mere 30 minutes ride for PLN 3.60 ticket which can be bought from the ticketing machine or from the driver) to the hotel (the stop is called Centralna). The hotel is located side by side with more posh hotel Polonia. There is a money exchange office (called Kantor in Polish) just besides the hotel entrance and there are quite a few around.

Breakfast are excellent there is a lot of high quality food to choose from. There are lots of small eateries with traditional Polish zapiekankas, pierogi, grochówka, bigos so there is no need to visit all these Mc's or Fried whatevers. It is some 3 kms nice walk through Krakowskie przedmiescie to the old town passing by Warsaw University, Presidential Palace, Chopin's place, Bristol and Europejski hotels etc. Or you can walk the other way to beautiful Lazienki park whatever you prefer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Premysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    546
    237
    53
    21
See reviews for
154
378
132
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Located in the heart of Warsaw, near the Palace of Culture, the big mall TERRASSA, the central metro station and tram of Warsaw, Careffour supermarket, many restaurants and boutiques. THe hotel is 3* but is more like 4*. Rooms are very good as well as the buffet breakfast. Try the PERUGI (dumpings) the traditional Polish meal as well as their tasty beers and sweets.

Room Tip: If you will be lucky, you will get an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Very easy to find from Central Train Station and the staff spoke good English and were very helpful. The rooms were good sized and clean. Wi-fi is available for a fee but it is very reasonable. Pretty central location for walking to many of the major sites - but you need to be into walking about 2 miles one way. Trams and buses are just outside the hotel if walking isnt feasible. Lots of good restaurants close by as well as all the retail you could want. The Gentlemen's Club next to the hotel appears to close at 4 am as that's when the fights start but if you are not on that side of the hotel, you wouldn't notice. The breakfast buffet is amazing with virtually everything a person would want. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABQJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon - England
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed 1 night at this hotel. It was right in the heart of the city. Simply get the bus numbered 175 from the airport and get off Centrum. It takes 30 minutes. The hotel is just across the road. I chose this hotel for it proximity to the new National Football Stadium where I watched Poland v Portugal. It is straight road right to the ground and will take about 30 minutes. You can catch the tram too which is easy to find from just outside the hotel. The hotel was good, clean with a fantastic choice for breakfast. The room was modern but the bath was small to take a shower. The bar in the hotel was good too. I enjoyed my stay. If you are here for Euro 2012 then the hotel is in an ideal position.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Pro: location in the middle of shopping center
Breakfast
cons: small rooms

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Spent a few days here and the location could not be more central, but that also means it is very noisy. The service was fine, but the breakfast was outstanding. Rooms are no frills, but have all you need and were always clean. A good value and very convenient, but low on charm.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Having stayed at the sister hotel Polonia Palace round the corner I decided to give this place a go mainly because I got such a fantastic rate with breakfast. I'd passed the hotel many times and hadn't really rated it as it doesn't look too impressive from the outside. I was also put off by the fact it's on a very busy junction right in the middle of town. however, it's one minute from the underground and ten minutes from Central station and about a 20 minute pleasant walk from the old town. on arrival I was very impressed by how friendly the staff were. That sort of set the tone for me. Sometimes finding friendly hotel staff in Poland can be difficult! Quite often they tend to look miserable but I understand its a cultural thing and they just want to come across as looking professional. So this hotel was an exception to that. I wasn't expecting too much because the rate was so good but I was so pleasantly surprised. public areas are clean and nice. the room wasn't to my taste but it was very clean and to a good standard. At the very least 3+ stars. I remember the hotel gave me a voucher which entitled me to a free drink in the casino which I didn't use. I was worried the noise from the traffic outside might have been a bit much but intact it wasn't too bad. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were friendly and polite. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone on a budge who are looking for value with a great location. You're literally opposite the Palace of Culture and so close to the old town without paying old town prices. I'm marking this place based on location, staff, breakfast and overall value for money. I was very happy with my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tajine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
Śródmieście Południowe
Novotel Warszawa Centrum
Śródmieście Południowe
MDM Hotel
MDM Hotel
#20 of 124 in Warsaw
691 reviews
Śródmieście Południowe
Mercure Warsaw Grand
Mercure Warsaw Grand
#14 of 124 in Warsaw
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polonia Palace Hotel
#5 of 124 in Warsaw
2,625 reviews
Śródmieście Południowe
Hampton by Hilton Warsaw City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Property: Metropol Hotel
Address: ul. Marszalkowska 99a, Warsaw 00-693, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Warsaw
#30 Business Hotel in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropol offers comfortable hotel accommodation in central Warsaw. The comfort of the rooms is complemented by various facilities including free Wi-Fi Internet. If you are looking for a hotel with modern and convenient rooms with a great location, then the Metropol Hotel in Warsaw, Poland is the answer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Warsaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing