We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
218
160
39
19
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
160
39
19
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool the river electric car old town pedestrian zone glass wall welcome drink great location right bedroom and bathroom pedestrianised area we loved our stay two nights hotel is centrally located wonderful hotel rooms are small bars and restaurants your luggage
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 438 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Great little hotel, right in the middle of the city, please bear in mind, it is a 5 min walk from nearest drop off point, as in a pedestrian only area.
Breakfast has all you need for a good start to the day. We had an evening meal here too, which was top quality.
Ist night we had a small complaint, but was astounded by their reaction the next day.could not apologise enough, and went above and beyond to make the rest of our stay very enjoyable. Would definitely stay again

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank timbo2Northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2018

Dear guest,
First, allow us to thank you for staying with us during your stay in Ljubljana. Indeed, the hotel is located in the very heart and soul of the old part of Ljubljana, in fact, it is the only such hotel in the area. If guests request it, we usually order small electric cars to possibly help with bringing guests to our hotel in case there is a lot of luggage or anything of the sort.
We are glad that our restaurant staff could provide you with a great start to the day!
We have passed on your comments to both the restaurant and hotel staff, and they are very happy to hear such praise. They were glad to have been able to make your stay here a wonderful and memorable one.

We hope to possibly see you again, and wish you safe travels in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

I found Vander Urbani to be an interesting place to stay. The rooms were definitely quirky and something different to what I had stayed in before. I'm not sure the whole style of it worked on me, I liked the look of it but I didn't love it.

The breakfast was a good variety, however i tried to egg dishes in the omelette and the scrambled eggs and I found them far too salty with big flakes of sea salt in them. The cheese and meat selection was very good though.

If I came back to Ljubljana I'm not sure if I would stay there again, whilst the location was great i think I would try somewhere different

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank acbrown4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2018

Dear guest,

First, allow us to thank you for staying in our hotel during your stay in Ljubljana. The hotel is a member of the design hotels chain and as such, the rooms are definitely not the usual generic rooms like in many other hotels. We are happy we could provide you with a somewhat different experience. Your omelette comment has been forwarded to the kitchen staff. Should you return to Ljubljana, we hope you will give the hotel another consideration, or at least visit for a meal, so we may improve that part of your experience here.
Thank you again for staying with us, and we wish you safe travels in the future as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Nice ambient, good location, friendly staff but food was awful. No taste at all. Never going back. I heard that has good reputation but I was very, very disappointed. Really sad, I have never eat food that bad.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2018

Dear guest,
We are sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with the food offered to you. Your review has been forwarded to the kitchen staff.
We hope you give the restaurant another chance if you come to Ljubljana again, as we can guarantee you will not be disappointed again.
We wish you safe travels!«

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Pros:
Excellent location
Helpful staff
Good breakfast
Innovative rooms
Best bathroom ever (if you hate it, get over yourself)
Small rooftop pool area is nice sit at and relax; you won’t be doing laps.

Cons:
Please replace the well loved carpets int the guest rooms

Pro tips:
-hotel contracts with a private driver who will take you anywhere. It’s was a lifesaver.
-Hotel is in a pedestrian only area. Know this and use google earth street view to understand it’s location and know where your cab is going to release you. It’s a 5 minute walk to the hotel in any direction.
-Study the rooms prior to booking and understand that they have several floor plans, some of which are very small.
-know the building is over 300 years old and has been retrofitted for modern amenities- Yes! that means the bathroom.
- Your card key activates the lights. Leave it in the wall slot or else!

This is a wonderful and unique property. Arrive with an open mind and leave with an open heart.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2018

Dear guest,
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Your compliments have been forwarded to the staff. We are also very glad you enjoyed the rooms and their design. The rooftop terrace definitely serves as a nice relaxing spot to enjoy the view and a cold drink during a sunny day, as well as a nice romantic setting in the evenings, with the clear view of the lit up castle above it.
Your tips are right on point, and hopefully many potential guests see them and follow them!
We hope the open mind you arrived with was filled with memorable moments from your stay when you left!
We hope to possibly see you again and wish you safe travels in the future as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

We stayed 3 nights at the Vander. It is located in a great location. However it was in a no car zone so had a 5 minute walk on the cobblestone streets to get to the location. The room was modern but a bit strange with the glass walls between the bedroom and bathroom. Also tub/shower was very high and hard to get in and out of. No vanity area. Our room had an odd smell and we noticed that they had put 2 air fresheners in our room. The air fresheners did not smell very good. We kept unplugging them and they would keep plugging them back in, so most likely trying to cover up an odor. There was also a chair covered in "aluminum wrap" it was quite odd. However, the location was absolutely perfect right in the city center. They also have a rooftop pool and lounge area. We enjoyed drinks on the rooftop before heading out to dinner. A great view of the city.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cincin3488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2018

Dear guest,
First of all, thank you for allowing us to host you during your stay in Ljubljana.
As you said, the hotel is located in the very center and soul of the old part of Ljubljana. Since it is located in a pedestrian only zone, we realize that sometimes our guests have a lot of luggage, and we offer the possibility of ordering electric cars to take you to the hotel and help you with your luggage. This service is available every day between 8 in the morning and 8 in the evening. As for the room sizes and layout, the building has been around since the 18th century, and while we were allowed to modify it into a hotel, the room templates had to remain the same.
We apologize for the air freshner situation, the housekeeping probably simply wished to keep the room freshened up and kept replugging the freshners.
And we are glad to hear you enjoyed our rooftop terrace. We hope you managed to get a good look during the evening and nighttime as the view truly is something spectacular to behold.
We wish you safe travels in the future as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews