We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice stay in Budapest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lion's Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lion's Garden Hotel
Ranked #74 of 341 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

I was staying in this hotel during a business trip to Budapest last month and I had a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated next to Budapest city park so it is basically a 10 min walk to the Hero Square, the Museum of fine arts or a stroll in the park itself. The surrounding area is quiet as it is a bit laid back from the center although still very close. The service was ok, meals in the restaurant good, conf. room where we had our meetings was bright and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank batakoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    291
    94
    12
    14
See reviews for
124
229
26
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location of this hotel is a bit out of town but is good value and very comfortable, within walking distance of City Park one way or the main station the other way where you can get the tube or tram into town no problem. The food is fine, a good breakfast is included and if you want an evening meal its very reasonably priced and nicely served. Yes, the spa facilities didn't look up to much but to be fair we didn't have time to use them, we were too busy exploring the wonderful city of Budapest. Wish we had more time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueallenKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Bridges
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights in March 2012 and had a really good stay. The staff were friendly, the room was excellent and the restaurant served great food. I thoroughly recommend Lion's Garden

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrumBob88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

quite well situated hotel, easy to hop on hop off buses round corner at Heroes square.
Room was comfortable , however a bath would have been preferred after long days sightseeing.
When booking this hotel it was listed as full spa facilities etc , on arrival were told its an extra €5 per person to use the spa which is not stated on any of their advertising.
After a fraught exchange with reception they agreed it was misleading and the fee was waived, however on using the spa, the infra red sauna was out of service, the other sauna was switched off, the pool was far too cold to use at easter and the jacuzzi supoosedly was 34 degrees, it was freezing cold.
The elevators advertised cocktail happy hour between 6pm-8pm daily, we decided to take this up one evening but the bar staff denied any knowledge of offer until dragged to lift to show them the public signs.
day bar staff were serving half cups coffee, giving wrong change etc and very very rude, avoided this area after first day.

Room Tip: good location if you just want a place to sleep, but the spa is misleading and no where near luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expatabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arudinszky, Front Office Manager at Lion's Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Madam.

We are very happy that you were satisfied with our rooms, cleanliness and with sleep quality. We are also greatful for your feedback about coffee. We have changed the company who provide us the coffee machine. We checked the the temperature of the water and we were realized that the thermostat was broken so we fixed it. We hope despite all of this you had a wonderful time in Budapest and next time you will give us another chance.

Mr. András Hódi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Hotel is in quiet area close to City Park and Hero Square, well connected to City Centre by bus and metro. Hotel is new, well managed with garage and free internet in rooms. Rooms are spacious well equiped. Room service and cleaning is good, sometimes have problem with communication.
Breaqfast served is modest and always something missing, and if one will ask for staff will not be so happy, coffe is one of the worst served in hotels I ever tasted, so forget about.

Room Tip: Bring your coffe and ask for tee and coffe set to help your self with
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikimiki70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Although the hotel was clean and comfortable I certainly wouldn't rate it at 4 star (I have stayed in better 3 star hotels). The staff never smile, the toilet seat in our room was broken, there shower gel was empty, when showering the water went all over the floor as the screen did not fit properly. A strange set up in the fact that the reception, bar and restaurant are all in one space so there is no privacy when eating. Breakfast menu poor. The hotel is not in the city centre and is a good half hour walk. There is a 5 euro a day charge per person for use of the spa facilities, the sauna was cold and we had to turn it on ourselves. Budapest is a lovely city but I'm sure there are better hotels to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley-Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Lovely hotel, very ellegant and clean, nice staff, good food, small but not crowded spa. Bus station in front of the hotel, metro station and Heroes-Millenium Square 10 min. away. One of the best 4 stars hotels I have stayed in. For sure I will return on my next trip to Budapest.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arici78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel President Budapest
Hotel President Budapest
#99 of 341 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regnum Residence
#63 of 341 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#19 of 341 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Garden Hotel

Property: Lion's Garden Hotel
Address: Chazar Andras utca 4, Budapest 1146, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 341 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion's Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion's Garden Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel in Budapest, with stylish and friendly atmosphere, professional staff, near to all the 'must-see' sights in Budapest, like City Park, Heroes Square, Museum of Fine Arts, Hall of Art, Millenium Memorial, Zoo and the Széchenyi Thermal bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Lion's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing