We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for retro game lovers!”
Review of Game Over Budapest - CLOSED

Game Over Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Game Over is Hungary’s first and only video game museum. We have every single game and console that you can imagine, from Playstation 1 to Pong.You can play our games and of course you can buy games and souvenirs in our shop. Welcome to the past! Soft drinks and snacks are available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed September 10, 2017

Filled with many old consoles for retro game lovers to enjoy / get nostalgic about.
+ The owner is very nice.

Although it would have been nice to have some cooling inside.

Thank Jacks0nSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nes"
in 3 reviews
"gamers"
in 7 reviews
"controller"
in 2 reviews
"childhood"
in 4 reviews
"video"
in 2 reviews
"play"
in 8 reviews
"fun"
in 4 reviews
"museum"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

Interesting place with huge collection of gaming consiles. Everything from pong till PS2.
Few suggestions: you should add the second gamepad on battle city 1990 and start to sell drinks. It is hot down there during summer.

Thank Vadim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jozsef V, Owner at Game Over Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Thank you:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

We stumbled upon this place by accident, and stayed for hours! This unassuming basement houses a vast collection of game consoles from the 70s, 80s and 90s - if you were a child during any of those decades or just have an interest in the early days of computer gaming, you will have a blast here. We had so much fun revisiting our childhood games, as well as trying all the sweet hardware we all wished we could afford back then.

1  Thank Futt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jozsef V, Owner at Game Over Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Thank you:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

the place is an underground room that has a collection of old consoles. not really worth travelling there to visit it

1  Thank NeoklisStylianides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jozsef V, Owner at Game Over Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you! Yes this is an old collection thats why we are RETRO videogame museum:)
I think Everybody loves this underground room Who loves retro videogames :) and loves play with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

A must for anyone who grew up with computer games in the late 70's and onward. They have a huge selection of computers and early consoles AND YOU CAN USE THEM!! I missed the ZX Spectrum, Amstrad, Atari ST and Amigas, but they have an insane amount of obscure consoles. I'm 42 and absolutely loved it. My kids (10, 7 and 6 years old) spent 2 hours in there.
The museum is a bit small, so tryk to go there outside praksis hours.

Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jozsef V, Owner at Game Over Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Thank you!! :)
I hope see you again:)
Jozsef Varju

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Game Over Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing