We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed but great service and very good beef”
Review of Meatology Budapest

Meatology Budapest
Ranked #12 of 3,736 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Description: MEATOLOGY has come to life behind the Basilica as a result of this world experience and the Pataky brothers’ effort to bring real homey tastes of their childhood back. And finally here comes our philosophy: SLOW FOOD, FAST. That’s it. Come in, taste it, it’s fast and awesome. Bloody awesome. Péter Pataky - Chéf | Tibor Pataky - Manager
Restaurant details
Description: MEATOLOGY has come to life behind the Basilica as a result of this world experience and the Pataky brothers’ effort to bring real homey tastes of their childhood back. And finally here comes our philosophy: SLOW FOOD, FAST. That’s it. Come in, taste it, it’s fast and awesome. Bloody awesome. Péter Pataky - Chéf | Tibor Pataky - Manager
Reviewed October 16, 2018

Don't let the name Meatology confuse you or put you off. They do meat well but have other options on the menu. Adam waited on us at our outside table last week. We were eating early but that wasn't a problem. One of us had a sirloin (bone in) which was excellent and presented well. The other had a thai influenced pork sandwich with a lovely side of slaw. Service was very good and friendly. We recommend Meatology.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 1Helpfulperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2018

I had booked this restaurant from home prior to our trip, based on reviews seen on Trip Advisor. The spot is small and they had to turn away lots of folks walking up to the restaurant without a reservation. We sat at outdoor seating and the ambience was quite nice, though very busy. The service was fine and the food was excellent. I would recommend reserving well in advance and enjoying the restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 567dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

Well located. Drawn to this due to reviews but wasn’t that impressed by the food. Overall not bad for a simple eat but there are many other way better options in the city.
Service wise really good as staffs are smiley and friendly.
Restaurant is a little tight space and come with only high chairs so may not be that comfortable to sit long. Drinks not too many exciting choices as they are mostly in ready bottles instead of instant made stuff.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sn9wolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Please go and eat the food here, it was so lovely i was drooling. The service was great, the beer recommendation perfect and the food , the food was soooo good. Yes the restaurant in on the main road but set back enough for it not to be an issue.The location is on the main bus route and just down the road from a major transport junction so therefore easy to get to wherever you are staying. The couple on the next table were highly recommending their food and told us they were in Budapest celebrating a wedding anniversary we said we were there celebrating my husband's birthday. The waiting staff bought us a complimentary chocolate mousse -fantastic- and two glasses of Cava to celebrate. It was a lovely evening.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cathematics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Burger was amazing, duck with cottage lasagne a revelation and good wine. Friendly staff, well worth a visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sitandstay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meatology Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Meatology Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing